The Online Citizen - SIT computer science graduate shares struggle to find a job despite 650 applications, Reddit weighs in

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

semiret

If I remembered correctly 1-2yrs ago G still encouraged those kids to study CS? They keeps selling that's the best sector for students to pursuit their study will have a bright future. So fast those follow their advices kena backfired.

vbhelper

AI is really hai ren
If replace human then how do human survives if no income?

0218crawford

nore toads but supply of flies same means some toads will go hungry. Jin simpur why toads no understand. As long as can catch flies, is a good toad. Here insai the small well, they don distinguish whether u are a green, black or rainbow toad. Old toads had it easier, back then fewer toads and more flies. 😂

yuzu28

Nus grad also.difficult to find a job and he thinks he sit one can get job easily? Either switch path, do any job that u can get even lower salary or learn a skill.

CanIsayNo

what jobs he applied programming? it really depends on what the market is looking for.. what's available and not just because you got degree in com science, you must get a com science job. sad but this is truth.

if he willing to do L1 IT support, sure can find

every young com science person i know seems to want to do something related to AI, but how many of such jobs are there? honestly, i dont know the answer :(

3G SAINT

yeah nowadays just send applications no sight no sound. 30 years experience also no pa-ghey. Cannot even get an interview. Earn more freelancing than full time job, really is sai policy.
You are in 50s,dnt put your age in the resume;)

yesman2978

SG’s problem is there is no place for the young ones with no backing or portfolio to show how good they are. Of course it can be argued that the really good ones will independently build their portfolio and find a way.

The market for indie games is burning hot btw. You just need to find the right niche. This guy solo built a game about mining coal and sold tens of thousands of copies.
Internships lor

Or as you pointed out, people can also solo build their own games to stand out

But how many people are really in these 'exceptional talent' categories?

For the average and mediocre CS grads, what value do they bring, compared to outsourcing to more experienced FTs overseas who draw a fraction of their pay?

green72

yah lor, $2-3k celery how to chase girls buy car buy house? :(
U got it all wrong. No newbie is paid a high salary at the get go. There is this thing called salary annual increment and job promotion at the workplace.

That's how you get the girls, buy the cars and houses.

In our very fast paced digital age, the younger crowds are used to everything almost instantaneous. But there is one attribute the new gen lacks - Patience.

Having a degree with good scores only let you one foot in to a successful life and career.

You're NOT the "Done deal" yet with that degree.

DragonFire

Internships lor

For the average and mediocre CS grads, what value do they bring, compared to outsourcing to more experienced FTs overseas who draw a fraction of their pay?
The average are always going to be living average lives, sad to say. Their peers overseas are cheaper, and sad to say the FTs they are competing with are not average.

There is hope yet though, since whilst individuals may be average, the teams they make may well be far from it.

Or they might leverage guidance from exceptional leadership. Ultimately it becomes a game of chance, and perhaps local authorities can look at programs to even the odds a bit more.

green72

Those who die-die apply same job 1000x kena reject, ask yourself, after years unemployed due to this, any HR will start to doubt you, "How come so long still no job or zero job experience? Does this person have an issue until now no work?"

It will a double-edge sword if wait too long for that job you studied for.

ramlee

Those who die-die apply same job 1000x kena reject, ask yourself, after years unemployed due to this, any HR will start to doubt you, "How come so long still no job or zero job experience? Does this person have an issue until now no work?"

It will a double-edge sword if wait too long for that job you studied for.
we are demonstrating our perseverance :(

ramlee

Internships lor

we can add to the quota for the company to hire more foreigners :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.