The Online Citizen - SIT computer science graduate shares struggle to find a job despite 650 applications, Reddit weighs in

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

CheapColaCo

First mistake lah, chasing tech bubble by taking computer science. PAP always behind one step, always hyping courses just when their bubble starting to burst. Last time was bioscience, now computing is the new bubble they pushing.

Second mistake, degree from SIT lor. That one really bottom-tier for computer science graduates lah. Not enough prestige or recognition compared to other schools. You see, people know SIT more for practical stuff, but when it comes to CS, some say sibeh sian lah, not as good as the top unis.

Notbbfa

Good luck lorh

I know peers with kids in gen alpha, few observations:

1. Very well off, their family backing very strong. Kids can set up trust fund, can work chill job or don't work.
2. Not so well off, parents work and don't FIRE, just work till old, so that kids can have the financial backing.
3. Kids go do human-based sectors that AI wouldn't dominate.

From my perspective, I see more and more of my peers having to do masters in the midst of their career. Take 1-2 years out to do masters full time, which cost quite a lot of money. This is gen Z era.

Gen alpha - masters may not be enough. I don't even know lol.

I came from 1 and am working in human-based sector so never really had to worry lose job all that :geek:
What are the human-based sectors?

Mechafanboy

Predicted this 2 years ago when a lot of ppl here were laughing at AI being a joke.

AI is still a joke. Companies are offshoring, u can hire a professional in neighboring countries for 1/3 the cost, and that trend is accelerating. White collar jobs are especially at risk.

As a factor of fact, our gahmen did predict this happening during the COVID lockdown; if U can WFH, your job can be offshored.

Kuudere

AI is still a joke. Companies are offshoring, u can hire a professional in neighboring countries for 1/3 the cost, and that trend is accelerating. White collar jobs are especially at risk.

As a factor of fact, our gahmen did predict this happening during the COVID lockdown; if U can WFH, your job can be offshored.
My job = 5 days WIO

Shinning_Wolf

Lovely, sleep well post. Stupidity is keep voting for the same shiat and hoping for better outcome. Alredy so many kpkb since ge2011 abt the influx and still iron teeth go vote for open leg. Song lor, really asked for it. Just suck it up lol.

share image link for twitter

Shinning_Wolf

First mistake lah, chasing tech bubble by taking computer science. PAP always behind one step, always hyping courses just when their bubble starting to burst. Last time was bioscience, now computing is the new bubble they pushing.

Second mistake, degree from SIT lor. That one really bottom-tier for computer science graduates lah. Not enough prestige or recognition compared to other schools. You see, people know SIT more for practical stuff, but when it comes to CS, some say sibeh sian lah, not as good as the top unis.
In my opinion his 1st mistake is becoming a redditor.

qhong61

Cos he is from lousy uni

3G SAINT

Cos he is from lousy uni
Actually degree not easy study also...:)
Last time got frenz stupied SIM degree in finance still can get job until open flood gate too big and market crisis...even got NUS/NTU if you are not in 20% top grade result got problem get job;)

Dracky

Our government is still handing out work visas for FTs for IT jobs. This, plus tech slowdown in hiring, has made local CS graduates unsuccessful in their job hunts.

I thought SIT has a lots of industry collaboration. SIT graduates should leverage on the school's network.

ramlee

Don't put also they will know mah. The experience just add up can tell already.

How are you? Since like long time we in TELE chat grp.
Say you are a motherlander so you can be 30yo with 20 years of sexperience :(

keewee0415

Healthcare professionals, especially those dealing with elderlies. Education sector. Social, cultural and human services.

My job specifically requires me to conduct face-to-face interview with people.
Oh! You are a reporter or journalist?

You working for newspaper, radio or TV station?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.