The Perfume Thread

triface

I am quite a noob. Not too sure how to describe the different dna. But explorer is like brighter smelling than sauvage.

Other popular dna includes bleu de chanel. From chanel, i also like egoiste platinum. I also like the armani aqua de gio profomo (black bottle). For something different, i also like the hermes terre de hermes fraiche or something like that. The one with the white collar, not the brown collar.

Happy trying/shopping.

Thanks! Been on the lookout for a fragrance for the past few weeks. I ask about popularity so I can perhaps move more towards the less popular ones. I know I shouldn't care what people think, but I'm a little wary of annoying people because "it's that fragrance again..." =:p

I love the ADG Profumo too! The incense note is really nice and I'm thinking of picking up a bottle myself.

I believe you are referring to notes or accords in the scent, right? :)

For example, ambroxan features heavily in Dior’s Sauvage.

Google “ambroxan” and you’ll find it in Prada’s Luna Rossa & Luna Rossa Carbon, and in Versace’s Eros.
Hm I hear DNA being used a lot so I always assumed it's more on the overall scent profile of the fragrance.

I did consider looking up by notes too! But as you mentioned, ambroxan is in Dior Sauvage, which is a super popular fragrance, and Luna Rossa Carbon, which I don't think is as popular and which I think smells quite differently. I ended up giving up on going by the notes and using my nose, but there's way too many fragrances out there :s13:

stetan

If u are interested in Aventus but dont want to pay the exorbitent price, try Armaf Club de nuit intense. Close match

Now I'm interested in checking Explorer out! Heard so much about Aventus but never got a chance to see what it's about.

At risk of sounding like a hipster, other than Dior Sauvage, are there any other DNAs that are very popular in Singapore?

Geeezz

me hv no idea which scent ish popular in sg wor cuz i dun really noe a lot guys in sg who frequently uses cologne. if huan sth unique me usually look at those lesser known brands or private blends like tom ford

micgoh

Now I'm interested in checking Explorer out! Heard so much about Aventus but never got a chance to see what it's about.

At risk of sounding like a hipster, other than Dior Sauvage, are there any other DNAs that are very popular in Singapore?

I bought the explorer EDP. Shiok. Spray 3 time only and it last all day

triface

me hv no idea which scent ish popular in sg wor cuz i dun really noe a lot guys in sg who frequently uses cologne. if huan sth unique me usually look at those lesser known brands or private blends like tom ford

That's what I thought too. I literally don't know anyone who uses fragrances so I kinda figured a lot of what I hear about certain DNAs being overused like Bleu de Chanel, Sauvage, Acqua Di Gio and even Aventus don't really apply to us. Maybe it's more a problem if working in CBD? =:p

I bought the explorer EDP. Shiok. Spray 3 time only and it last all day

Wow, nice. Love a good performing fragrance. I really liked Artisan Pure but the performance was kinda meh, so I'm looking into other citrus fragrances instead.

grizzly76

Some of my favorites which are long lasting:
- AdP Colonia Intensa
- CdG Man2
- Diptyque Tam Dao EDP
- Lalique Encre Noire
- L’artisan Timbuktu

Geeezz

Anybody tried YSL Y EDP? Any comment? Thanks.

to me ish like savage type of fragrance. if huan look at ysl u may consider
La Nuit De L'homme

That's what I thought too. I literally don't know anyone who uses fragrances so I kinda figured a lot of what I hear about certain DNAs being overused like Bleu de Chanel, Sauvage, Acqua Di Gio and even Aventus don't really apply to us. Maybe it's more a problem if working in CBD? =:p

Wow, nice. Love a good performing fragrance. I really liked Artisan Pure but the performance was kinda meh, so I'm looking into other citrus fragrances instead.

me ish work ard cdb area but i think in sg ppl typically dun really use fragrance or really into such things. i think using sth diff like maybe prada l'homme will make u "stand out"? in short try to avoid adg and savage type of fragrance lor. i use oud wood before review quite mixed, some like some don't:(

triface

Anybody tried YSL Y EDP? Any comment? Thanks.

Bought a decant and personally don't like it. You can catch some hints of fresh notes but there's a layer of sweetness on top which dominates the scent IMO and makes it a little cloying for me. I generally don't like anything that's sweet in my fragrance, so that could be a reason.

Having said that, it's a difficult fragrance to dislike, and it performs above average for me. I did one spray on the back of my neck and it lasted about 4 to 5 hours. Even after a shower, I caught a whiff of it as I was sitting down at home.

kenndizon

Decided to pull the trigger for YSL Y EDP.

Initially wanted to buy the 100ML ones for $199 at ION. Since I got few hundred of CapitaLand mall vouchers to spend. After the staff there upsold me a gift bundle at $116 which consist of 60ML, shower gel and after shaved balm. Which I think should be a good spent? Hmm..

Greekprick

Hi everyone, any Sg website or store you can find Armaf Signature and Vitesse Carbon at a good price. Btw, how do you guys find Armaf Voyage Intense? Thanks.

triface

Decided to pull the trigger for YSL Y EDP.

Initially wanted to buy the 100ML ones at $199 at ION. Since I got few hundred of CapitaLand mall vouchers to spend. After the staff there upsold me a gift bundle at $116 which consist of 60ML, shower gel and after shaved balm. Which I think should be a good spent? Hmm..

Carousell got one guy selling a 90% bottle for $60, but all things considered if you use the shower gel and the aftershave I think for $116 it's not bad too :)

How do you find it? IMHO more a night time scent and than a day time scent because of the prominent apple note. In my experience it never really goes away so it always smells sweet.

kenndizon

Carousell got one guy selling a 90% bottle for $60, but all things considered if you use the shower gel and the aftershave I think for $116 it's not bad too :)

How do you find it? IMHO more a night time scent and than a day time scent because of the prominent apple note. In my experience it never really goes away so it always smells sweet.

Yeah. The $116 was quite difficult to resist.. That sales man also said that it is while stock last, not sure how true is that. So if u’re interested, gotta fast hand fast leg.

With that being said, I kinda of agree with u that it’s more towards night time scent. But today I actually asked a few of my female colleagues of their opinions, they said I smelled great! Haha so that’s matters.

90% bottle of 60ML or 100ML for $60?

Extremme

That should be the one. I tried to find a tester of it in store but couldn't find it. Think it's too new :s13:

Anyway, anyone know of any stores that have Mugler Cologne available for testing?
I went to those stores selling perfume to enquire. Its OoS and will only be restocked in 2 weeks

triface

Yeah. The $116 was quite difficult to resist.. That sales man also said that it is while stock last, not sure how true is that. So if u’re interested, gotta fast hand fast leg.

With that being said, I kinda of agree with u that it’s more towards night time scent. But today I actually asked a few of my female colleagues of their opinions, they said I smelled great! Haha so that’s matters.

90% bottle of 60ML or 100ML for $60?

Original price according to him was $180+, so it should be a 100ml bottle.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.