The Perfume Thread

Lurker_13

You gotta sit thru a session with them.

First tell them what kinda scent you like. Fruity, Woody, etc etc.. Then they may ask is it for work, evening, after sports etc etc.

They will sit you through a few they choose to these stuff. Tell you stories about the parfume. Spray on you to test. They let you sit as long as you like.

Some tea or drinks to clear your 'palate'. Then they will smell the stuff on you. But well, they will recommend but not choose for you. For my case in London, they make sound judgement. They are the pros anyway. Go with an open heart, i havent tried the ones in Ion or MBS. They are always pack, so make an appointment b4 you go.

Then lastly, if you like it. Buy it. I recommend you even if you dont buy it. Get 2-3 samples to test on you. That is what i did whenever i choose a new scent from them. If it is good. I will get it the next time. They will understand. But if you really like it. Just get it.

Hmmm... this is very interesting... May I know where in Ion or MBS, may go pay them a visit. :D

MeRfMeRf

anyone here owns the Givenchy Gentleman Only? appreciate any kind comments.

stormcontrol

You gotta sit thru a session with them.

First tell them what kinda scent you like. Fruity, Woody, etc etc.. Then they may ask is it for work, evening, after sports etc etc.

They will sit you through a few they choose to these stuff. Tell you stories about the parfume. Spray on you to test. They let you sit as long as you like.

Some tea or drinks to clear your 'palate'. Then they will smell the stuff on you. But well, they will recommend but not choose for you. For my case in London, they make sound judgement. They are the pros anyway. Go with an open heart, i havent tried the ones in Ion or MBS. They are always pack, so make an appointment b4 you go.

Then lastly, if you like it. Buy it. I recommend you even if you dont buy it. Get 2-3 samples to test on you. That is what i did whenever i choose a new scent from them. If it is good. I will get it the next time. They will understand. But if you really like it. Just get it.
Oh, that's a profiling? I didn't know that. I thought that's what Penhaligon's does as standard. At least the last few times I visited their store in London. In the end, I didn't buy what they recommened but what my nose liked. Heh

Sent from stormy seas using GAGT

iV3RsOn

hmm maybe longevity wise? me beri long nvr buy fragrance liao, so ish quite out of touch.
To me ar, quite ok. 6 hours no problem. My standard for longevity a bit low cos I dun wan people think that I bath with it.

c6fd6d22-1741-4ae8-9813-a3ad01a633b91399097682.jpg

Sent from my heart~~~ using GAGT

PurpleChuck

*Photos of actual item for sale (what you see is what you get)

BRwj25

OYTYNo

0lYH2P

For sale is Gucci Pour Homme II, a now discontinued fragrance (no longer in production). This fragrance is tea based, perfect for the hot weather in Singapore.

I'm selling this 50ml bottle including a brushed silver travel atomizer. Look at the photos I took, there's about 90% left in the bottle + 5ml already filled in the 10ml atomizer.

To verify authenticity, I'll provide batch code number on the spot to check on http://checkcosmetic.net.

Local price right now is about $109 for 100ml. Going for $58 for a 50ml bottle w/ travel atomizer. Text 9109 5257 to deal, got discount if convenient place. Thanks!

Beta_Tester

Oh, that's a profiling? I didn't know that. I thought that's what Penhaligon's does as standard. At least the last few times I visited their store in London. In the end, I didn't buy what they recommened but what my nose liked. Heh

Sent from stormy seas using GAGT
There are hits n misses for sure,in the End trust your own nose. I was recommended like 4-5. But I took one. The first time I didn't choose Any. the profiling was free and I spent 2hrs odd.

Lurker_13

Just give them A Call for appointment. Walk ins I don't think they do.

Was at ION last Saturday so just paid them a visit. The experience was ok the lady (think her name is Jennifer) who attended to me was not pushy at all and she recommended me some fragrance based on my scent preference from their range of perfumes. Talked alittle about the history of the perfume I like and also sprayed some on my skin. Not too bad but then quite pricey... a 50ml cost about $200-ish and 100ml cost about $300-ish. =:p

Beta_Tester

Yes. The thing is they let you think and consider plus if there's stock, they give you a sample or two from the parfume you tried and like.

Im quite embarrassed to say I bought just one from Penhaligon's SG. The rest I got it from UK. hahaha.. Pricing issue la. :o

Did you go for the sit down profiling? What did you pick?

Lurker_13

There's nothing embarrassing about not getting in SG, I mean the price in SG is really :s22:

Nope I didn't go for the sit down profiling, the lady told me that the sit down sessions are for those who really want something that is customized to their liking and can't really decide what they want...:s13:

Lurker_13

Ya... I am quite interested to try it someday when I seriously want to try their fragrance.:D

MeRfMeRf

How come the same perfume cost so much cheaper in shop A than shop B?

Grade AAA? Can anybody teach moi how to differentiate authentic perfume from imitations?

Paisei for noob questions :o

Sent from Nokia 8250 using GAGT

well there could be several reasons why pricing differs alot between shops, iirc some are "parallel imported" and not from the local distributor, for example Issey Miyake Pour Homme is locally distributed by Luxasia (got sticker pasted on box) and the usual RRP is in excess of $100+ for the 125ml size, some shops at FEP, Lucky Plaza, Chinatown etc sells the same at between 60-80$ but no sticker but still the real deal.

anyway irregardless, just make sure to buy from legit shops can liao, dun get pressured into hardselling tactics cause thats what these shops do to psycho you to buy more. in terms of those AAA grade / bootleg vs real thing, perfume longevity is not good as its usually diluted, if you wana be certain then buy from perfume counters but will def be sexpensive.

rollanddie

well there could be several reasons why pricing differs alot between shops, iirc some are "parallel imported" and not from the local distributor, for example Issey Miyake Pour Homme is locally distributed by Luxasia (got sticker pasted on box) and the usual RRP is in excess of $100+ for the 125ml size, some shops at FEP, Lucky Plaza, Chinatown etc sells the same at between 60-80$ but no sticker but still the real deal.

anyway irregardless, just make sure to buy from legit shops can liao, dun get pressured into hardselling tactics cause thats what these shops do to psycho you to buy more. in terms of those AAA grade / bootleg vs real thing, perfume longevity is not good as its usually diluted, if you wana be certain then buy from perfume counters but will def be sexpensive.
Shops inside shopping malls also got AAA grade, right?

Sometimes see cheap perfumes itchy hand feel like hooting sia!

Sent from Nokia 8250 using GAGT

Rong626

Anyone uses Ralph Lauren Blue? How long does it last on you? Either I'm applying it wrongly or I bought an expensive fake

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.