The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

Hahah I wanted to ask that too. Since you have so many pairs of spectacles, do you change them all at the same time? I believe should change at same time right? Else prescription will be different

Yalor thats why i planning for every 5yrs then change lens (tolerate after the 3rd-5th year and one shot go for +0.5 increment when i buy mystyle). Use good quality frame that can last as long. Cannot vain liao. Vain comes with a high cost. Lol. :( dont know luff or cry liao now...

peaceheart

Those are bought over a span of many years de. Last time 30s buy like no tomorrow. :( Vision still good so all same prescriptions. Now realize going to hit 45 yr old so worried about costs if i need to replace all leh. Maybe i have to be selective liao, choose 2-3 good frames to make mystyle profile progressive. Then the rest freeze first. Jogging and sports i think still can use old pairs single vision since jogging no need read words mah. Lol. Signage still can see. Wont buay lin chu. Hahaha
Hahha cut down on your watch collection too lah

Seannie

There is another chart that depicts the % of add power for different age groups.

According to the chart, those in 35-40 age group have 75.3% less than +0.5 and 22.1% needing +0.5-+1.00.

Those in 41-45 age group have 6% less than +0.5, 56.7% from +0.5 to +1.00 and 35.8% needing +1.00 to +1.50.

For age group 46-50, 68.1% will need +1.00 to +1.50 with 27.8% needing +1.50 to +2.00.

Loveleaftreewind

I will split my answers into points for each paragraph.

1)Computer lenses usually allows for intermediate and near vision simultaneously, Distance/far vision will not be clear. It is counted as a Deskbound lens. Digital lenses are good for early presbyopes or individual who does alot of near work e.g. students/desk workers. They allow for distance, slight intermediate and near viewing at the same time but the intermediate zone is quite narrow. Thus If your Presbyopia or lao hua reach above a certain threshold, it doesnt work for you anymore as you are considered underpowered.

2)When you have presbyopia/laohua and you don't correct it, the solution for you to feel better when reading is either by removing your glasses to read OR to bring your reading material further from you. But if removing your glasses makes it worst then you might be far-sighted and requires progressives/digital/reading glasses for sure.

3)It usually sets in at about 37 years old onwards.
37-40 years old=+0.75--+1.00
41-47=+1.00--+1.75
47-50onwards=+1.75---+2.50
This is just a general indication and the reading power varies on individual eye muscles and their habitual working distance. Like you are presbyopic for both eyes, unlikely one. If its the case, likely your glasses degree is off after a period of time.

4)Sync 3 pro is a digital lens, thus you can refer to point 1.
Thank you for sharing your knowledge and the detailed explanation.

Computer lens allow for intermediate and near vision and Digital lens allow for distance, slight intermediate and near viewing.

But what is the difference between intermediate vision and slight intermediate vision?

starrynitzz

May I have the RRP for Dynamic Premium 1.53 (Trivex) please? Just feeling strange that why did they tell me they are giving me Hoya Sync 3 then. And they also told me that they could only do my addition up to +1.25 as that's the max for Hoya Sync 3.

Thanks again.

Sync 3 pro is digital, dynamic premium is progressive. 1.53 is trivex material which means it is tougher just like polycarbonate BUT the optical clarity is much better than polycarbonate.

GANGSTERKIA

It’s kinda like a gimmick in that sense. It works and blocks similar amount to the yellowish hue lenses. One reflects one absorbs blue light.

got different technologies

i have seen certain blue light lenses looks clear, and when you shine blue torch light on it, it legitimately blocks them

peaceheart

It’s kinda like a gimmick in that sense. It works and blocks similar amount to the yellowish hue lenses. One reflects one absorbs blue light.
And is it only crizal has that purple reflection? If I'm not wrong, most brands with blue light filter won't have that blue/purple reflection now. All look normal (green)

therat

What’s the price range of the Hoya Lifestyle V+?

GANGSTERKIA post at pg 563

GANGSTERKIA wrote:
Hey,
1.67 mystyle profile 1330
Lifestyle v+ 1220
Balansis 1120
All these are rrp and of course will have discount.

Seannie

GANGSTERKIA wrote:
Hey,
Lifestyle v+ 1220
Balansis 1120

Yalor after begging gansterkia boss many days for the price then he gib. :( i think can get 5% off RRP.

mackrazy

GANGSTERKIA wrote:
Hey,
Lifestyle v+ 1220
Balansis 1120

thanks very much this is very helpful. any chance you know prices of essilor?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.