The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

kaikoura

I was just curious, do the majority of consumers (in Singapore) who buy spectacles base their decision on price+promotion, or on the service, or on some other factors like having the right variety or designs or niche?

Or is it quite a well spread-out market with a good number of people in each segment?

oldbreadstinks

I was just curious, do the majority of consumers (in Singapore) who buy spectacles base their decision on price+promotion, or on the service, or on some other factors like having the right variety or designs or niche?

Or is it quite a well spread-out market with a good number of people in each segment?

Usual reasons... It's near my house :s22:

oldbreadstinks

So location is the primary reason? :s22:

the bulk of any industry is always the middle class and the poor , not the rich
middle class/poor if can get nearby, why would they want to spend time/money traveling ? unless the shops near you is damn horrible lor

got problem need servicing or just testing for record keeping, cannot be travel half way across the island mah unless standard differences so big:s22:

oldbreadstinks

price+promotion nowadays no matter where you go the banners/posters always the same one there's a market price to follow
slash price hurt yourself only with the crazy rental

sinkie generally , towards services ish mai hiam buay pai attitude

serivce only matters when crap happens , no smile also ok one :(

jervin88

I will return to a shop because of its good service. First thing first is still location, next is finding tbe right shop for u! Haha. After u find the right one u will be going back regularly

Sent from GAGT Android App

jonleelk

Have been using the same shop for more than 10 yrs. Main reason is good service. The good discount they gives is a bonus (from my estimation, about 30% off RRP). Whole family I think bought more than 20 pairs from them over the years.

Recently made 4 pairs (2 each for myself and wifey) at a new shop as the regular shop did not carry the brands I was looking for. Even better service from the new shop, thus didn't mind even though I think I paid RRP for the stuff from them.

So all in all, good service still no. 1 for me.

Kenneth C

I go back to the same shop in the past 26 years (since 1988). Now, I am a super regular to them. Receives awesome service and great discounts.

Seannie

Worst case scenario.... Write in to Zeiss :s13::s22:

So far zeiss no prob with axis very clear in fact but got 2 minor scratches upon collection only realised like few days, so i didnt bother returning to demand replacement. Too tired with such problems to really wanna care much more. Just gonna live with imperfections. Somemore the shop more or less knows got problems cos i saw her keep wiping the lenses. But anyway the optician is really nice so just forget abt it. Nextime if ever buy specs again dont scrutinize anymore cos just a simple glance will spot problems. Probably just close my eyes when i wipe my specs. No see no heartbreak. See no evil. :'(

Problrms are with recent OSA lenses really cmi leow. Someting wrong. So i suspect maybe my lenses are edged in the lab and not in shop. In any case zeiss or branded len should be safer than unbranded ones, especially on the accuracy part. Dont u all agree? Save u alot of hassles and heartbreaks though u pay more but brand comes with reputation so i think is better.

jervin88

hahah, you're alr set on your mindset that they will definitely be scratches or whatever problems. no one can save u

Seannie

I have always assumed the machine goes hand in hand with iscription

You can still do the lenses without. But it is like downgrading from individual to asiana.. But still paying individual prices
It's supposed to be customised. Without your data they can still do the lenses but they'll use their own data. Based on their own records and give you an average best I guess?

Think of it as going to a tailor. Instead of measuring and doing your clothes the tailor follows what he did before for another customer who is very similar. It might fit well. .. Not saying it won't but you take a leap of faith.
If all your customers are from the same area you wouldn't face any issues because everyone comes with roughly the same height and shape

But if you're the anomaly you won't find it as comfortable

Thats why dont go for individualised lenses lest get shortchanged by the shop. I think most use their own machines, guessing only. They just take a few measurements then do it with their own machines maybe.

Seannie

hahah, you're alr set on your mindset that they will definitely be scratches or whatever problems. no one can save u

Yes optical industry cant be saved liao. Just gonna accept it and move on with life. Cant ever expect 100%. If got 80% standard and axis off by just 1-2 considered damn good or really lucky liao.

Seannie

I go back to the same shop in the past 26 years (since 1988). Now, I am a super regular to them. Receives awesome service and great discounts.

Kwong Shin got Starck? Help me check wats the variety nextime u go can?

Seannie

Have been using the same shop for more than 10 yrs. Main reason is good service. The good discount they gives is a bonus (from my estimation, about 30% off RRP). Whole family I think bought more than 20 pairs from them over the years.

Recently made 4 pairs (2 each for myself and wifey) at a new shop as the regular shop did not carry the brands I was looking for. Even better service from the new shop, thus didn't mind even though I think I paid RRP for the stuff from them.

So all in all, good service still no. 1 for me.

Which new shop? Can share??

jervin88

Thats why dont go for individualised lenses lest get shortchanged by the shop. I think most use their own machines, guessing only. They just take a few measurements then do it with their own machines maybe.

only iscription needs iprofiler. individual lenses do not need them. they only need certain details to make. pls ask ur sales to clarify and explain to you the difference before you make. no reason why zeiss will come out with something useless. you got balls you call in zeiss to explain to you. pls do not confuse other ppl. anw osa lens if u wan them cut just request them order lens in then u wait outside when u come back to wait them cut. shop cut lab cut is same, both humans cutting with machines. LOL. you gotta chill bro, cant be saved thats your opinion haha. so many other ppl are happy with their non scratched lens. pls do not generalise the whole optical trade due to your problems faced, if you have a certain shop to provide feedback pls feel free to feedback on that particular shop

oldbreadstinks

:s22::s22::s13::s13:

don't quote me and say the wrong things

individual lenses is taking the measurements for pento .ht.pd,bvd , and bow angle
, then ordered with those measurements
nothing to do with simi machines
it's iscription that needs the machine:s13::s12:

oldbreadstinks

So far zeiss no prob with axis very clear in fact but got 2 minor scratches upon collection only realised like few days, so i didnt bother returning to demand replacement. Too tired with such problems to really wanna care much more. Just gonna live with imperfections. Somemore the shop more or less knows got problems cos i saw her keep wiping the lenses. But anyway the optician is really nice so just forget abt it. Nextime if ever buy specs again dont scrutinize anymore cos just a simple glance will spot problems. Probably just close my eyes when i wipe my specs. No see no heartbreak. See no evil. :'(

Problrms are with recent OSA lenses really cmi leow. Someting wrong. So i suspect maybe my lenses are edged in the lab and not in shop. In any case zeiss or branded len should be safer than unbranded ones, especially on the accuracy part. Dont u all agree? Save u alot of hassles and heartbreaks though u pay more but brand comes with reputation so i think is better.

........:s22:

this is just like sugar cane drink , it's just crushing through the machine and giving you the juice, yet I have favourite stalls from service/taste preferences , why sugar cane tastes different from stall to stall .... despite same preparation method has to do with how the stall treats their sugar cane

Seannie

so many other ppl are happy with their non scratched lens. pls do not generalise the whole optical trade due to your problems faced, if you have a certain shop to provide feedback pls feel free to feedback on that particular shop

non-scratched lenses ofcos people will be happy. its the scratched and problematic ones which are getting more & more frequent with the lenses nowadays. so more people will be getting pissed sooner later. many people are happy with their lenses becos they dont bother to see whether they are scratched or not or other vision problems. so i said best i should not care & see anymore. otherwise how to explain why my zeiss lenses got scratched? most likely scratched before collection point, which i dont know whether the lab ple or the shop ple scratched it. but becos that particular shop i went to doesnt cut in their lab, its gotta be zeiss lab liao. :s22: so in general the whole optical trade does really lacks adequate QC and professional ethnics. I think more are increasingly more focused on profits than before and thus more or less sacrifice on the quality portion. $ becomes the priority, like other trades but ple in the optical industry forgot that they are actually in heathcare industry rather than fashion industry. Spectacle wearers are also patients. If they can cover or let their mistakes pass by and customers dont complain they will close one eye. If customers complain then they act upon it. "Act blur" you know what i mean. At end of the day, people in optical industry must have conscience and passion in their trade in order for the industry in sg to improve. Wat say u?

jervin88

If got scratchea, you have the right to reject bro. I believe in 0 visible scratches before u accept the spectacles. U definitely went to the wrong shop. Its unacceptable to dispense visibly scratched lenses. Pls change shop. Its not abt lab qc or not. Its definitely the shop who actually dared to dispense you the scratched lens.

jervin88

It only means the shop did not inspect and reject the lenses to the lab.usually quality shops will never allow that to happen. Please stand firm to ur point and reject the lenses and ask for redo of scratched. This problems come from problematic shop which are few. Most shops are still alright. They gotta keep their reputation up and good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.