The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

jervin88

Recommend u to try more reputable shops. I got some friends doing as opticians I can always give u some lobang if u need. Haha

Sent from GAGT Android App

jervin88

Tampines optical is one of them. Check out the main at tampines. Cant rmb the block.

kaikoura

Tampines optical is one of them. Check out the main at tampines. Cant rmb the block.

Tampines Optical also owns Knick & Knack Optical at Westgate (Jurong East) and Seletar Mall (Sengkang/Fernvale).

Don't know why they chose to open under a different name though. :s12:

kaikoura

It only means the shop did not inspect and reject the lenses to the lab.usually quality shops will never allow that to happen. Please stand firm to ur point and reject the lenses and ask for redo of scratched. This problems come from problematic shop which are few. Most shops are still alright. They gotta keep their reputation up and good.

If got scratchea, you have the right to reject bro. I believe in 0 visible scratches before u accept the spectacles. U definitely went to the wrong shop. Its unacceptable to dispense visibly scratched lenses. Pls change shop. Its not abt lab qc or not. Its definitely the shop who actually dared to dispense you the scratched lens.

Scratches should be quite an uncommon occurrence. What's there in the measuring / edging / checking / packing process that can scratch the lenses?

If there is, say, a grain of sand on the lensmeter, then every lens that goes through will be scratched and it would be detected by the staff and solved pretty quickly.

P.S. I've seen edgers running trivex with debris flying all over and the lenses come out fine.

kaikoura

so in general the whole optical trade does really lacks adequate QC and professional ethnics.

Ethics is a big subject. To even begin debating on it...:s22:

I think more are increasingly more focused on profits than before and thus more or less sacrifice on the quality portion.

Capitalism.

And this exists even in societies that have the tall-poppy syndrome and practice more egalitarianism than Singapore.

$ becomes the priority, like other trades but ple in the optical industry forgot that they are actually in heathcare industry rather than fashion industry.

The Singapore Law Review » Blog Archive » When Doctors Overcharge, What Price Do They Pay?
However, when it comes to complex surgical procedures which did not arise in the present case, it may not be as straightforward. It is hard to put a price on something intangible yet valuable like an experienced doctor’s skill. Certain factors such as his qualifications and years of practice can only serve as criteria.

Further, it seems imperfect to compare one experienced doctor to another. Do we take reference from the best in the field and adjust downwards? Who then determines what the best doctor in the field can charge?

A Hard Look at LASIK Surgery | The Dr. Oz Show
LASIK surgery is an unnecessary procedure on a very necessary part of your body. Almost no one needs LASIK, though many want it.

people in optical industry must have conscience and passion in their trade in order for the industry in sg to improve. Wat say u?

Well, once again, capitalism. :s13:

For the industry to improve? What is considered an improvement? How do we measure it?

P.S. Not 'attacking' you; just saying. Unfortunately many things in life just balance themselves out. Not everything can be easily controlled.

kaikoura

P.S. Not 'attacking' you; just saying. Unfortunately many things in life just balance themselves out. Not everything can be easily controlled.

Just to elaborate,

If too many people think the optical industry is unprofessional and spectacles done in Singapore lacks QC, then eventually there will be a demand for professional service and good QC, which a business will be quick to meet that demand.

Or people will start going overseas to do their spectacles.

Or people will just wear contact lenses.

But if there are more and more optical shops opening, and their professional standards and QC is as such, then it is what the market demands, that is why the business is there to fill the void.

E.g. if people just care about price, and not about service, then shops can hire rude staff (which could be cheaper because said staff cannot find work in other industries that do not accept rude services).

E.g. if people care about service more than price, then shops will hire well-mannered staff, and if one day there is a demand, maybe the shop will feed you bird's nest while you choose your frame, and give you massage service while doing your eye check.

The industry will balance itself out. ;)

oldbreadstinks

Tampines Optical also owns Knick & Knack Optical at Westgate (Jurong East) and Seletar Mall (Sengkang/Fernvale).

Don't know why they chose to open under a different name though. :s12:

first time i ever saw a tampines optical outlet, was in jurong:s22:

jervin88

the knick knack one new i guess haha. anw the main one is in tampines, my friend is over there, seannie bro can check it out haha.

Fique92

Looking for a shop that I can buy lens cause I have a new frame already . price $20-50 any reccomendations ?

jervin88

Ithink all shops have a lrns that suit ur budget. Just that it will not be the best one.

orson_y

where did the z logo go?

i had this zeiss lens with photo fusion for over a year now and so far it's ok. when it was new, i can see the z logo on the upper edge of the lens, but i can't find it anymore. is this normal or did i get a fake?

dante-z

I am newbie to this.

I want to buy frame online but uncertain about the size and measurment, where do i get these ?
How do i measure my face ?

jervin88

Orson bro, anything unsure just chdck back with ur shop. I dun find it possible for someone to do that fake engraving. Probably the logo just become faint anddifficult to see liao.

starbuckss

ic! Berlin frame and Nikon 1.74 lens aga aga how much?
800-900?
900-1k?
1k above?
Anyone can advise?
Thanks.

starbuckss

most ic berlin frames without discount seem to be 400+
I see a lot around 470 onwards to 500++

nikon 1.74 also above 400,

5-600? can't recall

why do you say so?:s22:

U mean Ic Berlin after discount 470+ 500+?
I saw the display price at 600+.

Why Nikon 1.74 cause many didn't mention about Nikon here but on zessis and crista instead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.