The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

only_lonely

My new lens got serious reflection when taking photo. Is that the lens quality not good? Any advice for non reflection lens?

2pm2am

i was informed that the zeiss lens will have the logo, even if it got cut off, they will engrave it.
they have heard complains from customers that some unethical shops say is zeiss but actually give other brands...so i guess this is their way to let customers like us to be able to verify the lens that we paid for

however, i think these mfr still have not really spread this word around enough, to protect the customers

one of the most ridiculous thing i heard recently is some unethical shop actually told my customer that his zeiss lens with zeiss logo is fake. is business really that bad that have to use this kind of underhand tactics ???

there was once someone actually doubted that i gave him a pair of Hoya lenses (because there was no card). so i asked hoya to write a letter to prove the authenticity of the lenses. if you think the shop choot stunt, can always verify directly with the lab.

2pm2am

Hi guys,

i want to order from zenni Optical.

below is my eye result

Sphere

OD= -4.25

OS= -4.25

Cylinder

OD= +0.5

OS= +1.0

Axis

OD= 165

OS= 175

PD

Right:35.5

Left:35.0

First question.

Which lens is better? 1.61 High-Index or 1.53 Trivex

2nd question

Who about Auto-tinting lens ( or Transitions®)?

1.57 Photochromic + Single Vision -Purple

how is the auto tinting (does it change when there UV ray only)?

and if i get purple does it mean when there uv ray, i will see purple?

3rd question

How is len coating? does it last? or will the coat come off after 1 to 2 year?

cause i always clean using toilet paper, t shirt, etc...

looking at the Oleophobic coating

thanks a lot

How come you didn't as Zenni optical for advice ??? :s13:

2pm2am

i noticed that the two zeiss marking on my new progressive lens are not parallel. the markings on the left lens is parallel, but the right lens is not. is this a misalignment problem or it ok and just branding stuff. this is my first progressive lens, so i don't know what is normal. i have that floating sense when looking down (reading) and moving my head left to right. but when looking straight or up, don't have this issue.

where did you get the lenses from ? ask them, you paid them for it didn't you ?

2pm2am

In Australia entire range of crizal uv treatments won certification from cancer council Australia.

On the other hand, prevencia lenses has proven in vitro effectiveness.

Sent from Samsung GT-N7105 using GAGT

Essilor is a very big company and have lots of money . And they pump in tonnes of money in marketing to make consumers believe whatever they say is true.

Prevencia is a product of Essilor. Have Hoya and Zeiss proven (with hard data) that their blue blocking lenses are effective as well ? If no, then Essilor is just BS lah.

jervin88

Essilor is a very big company and have lots of money . And they pump in tonnes of money in marketing to make consumers believe whatever they say is true.

Prevencia is a product of Essilor. Have Hoya and Zeiss proven (with hard data) that their blue blocking lenses are effective as well ? If no, then Essilor is just BS lah.

blue lenses not yet proven to be effective against diseases. whats out is just the effect on the eye and the changes it causes. everyone is waiting for more results.
take it easy and wait. nobody is saying that it is good or whatsoever.
what is available now is only the in-vitro effectiveness.
before we push it aside claiming it to be total nonsense, lets stay open minded that this product at the current point doesnt do us harm, it MAY do good. (who knows) lets wait and see
money to market is one thing, ability to prove the product to be awarded is another thing (to be accepted)

sjskb26

Dear forum members,

Am interested in making Crizal lenses for my new specs. Anyone familiar with prices in SG as compared to JB? Thinking if it is worth it to make them in JB city square.

My index is not too high. About 300 each side, maybe consider 1.6 lenses.

Of course the main concern is how much cheaper (if any) it is to make in JB, how long the wait time is, whether multiple trips are needed to cross the causeway, etc.

Thank you all for your input! :s13:

d3n

Dear forum members,

Am interested in making Crizal lenses for my new specs. Anyone familiar with prices in SG as compared to JB? Thinking if it is worth it to make them in JB city square.

Of course the main concern is how much cheaper (if any) it is to make in JB, how long the wait time is, whether multiple trips are needed to cross the causeway, etc.

go search my post in this thread. i just make a crizal prevenica recently in JB

oldbreadstinks

hi guys, considering to change my glasses after 3-4 years of usage for the current pair.

my degree is about 800-900 for left and right with astig (probably 100 or less).

i'm currently using 1 with transition lens. spend quite equal amount of time indoor using PC and outdoor since i'm doing sales.

can anybody recommend a trusty optical shop that won't chop me. i mean if my requirements for lenses are high, i won't mind paying abit more but just dun like the fact that the neighbourhood shop i previously go to sort of chopped me.
Ask to see an official price list. And ask for a discount From there. Can't guarantee it's going to be the cheapest but at least no carrot chopping
Then judge from the service provided if he is going to give you after sales service when things go wrong

There are a lot of shops willing to match prices in Malaysia or go lower but if it causes you grief what's the point? Might as well go jb? Since service level would be the same
Just hit and run

sjskb26

go search my post in this thread. i just make a crizal prevenica recently in JB

Thanks.. I already did. hoping to hear various opinions before making a decision.

Recommended retail price for Crizal UV (non-prevencia) is about $180... anyone familiar with prices in malaysia (JB)?

On a side note, is the wait time in JB shorter than in SG? are there any opticians that do the lenses in house?

once again, thanks for the help!

jervin88

Dear forum members,

bro if you travel alot over to jb maybe still alright. if not maybe u consider do in sg. price wont differ too much one. somemore sg more convenient hahaha

stuzzy

anyone know where got wide range of bywp specs?

some places just have less than 5 pairs and 1 shop told me the local distro has gone bust? nto sure true anot.

thanx

tpmmark

Hi does Anyone knows if can get the culter and gross prescription eyewear locally?*

TUV2008

Just bought a Observer brand spec from a shop in Katong , quite impress with it's design and reasonable price.

Anyone bought before also?

Joelleyuan

My new lens got serious reflection when taking photo. Is that the lens quality not good? Any advice for non reflection lens?
hmm.. i thot nowadays non-reflection is very basic stuff for lens.
my new pair not expensive at all, but no reflection when taking photo leh.

maybe other experts can share more?

Shakeitmama

Recently went to my everbest optics inside Choa chu kang ITE to make a spectacles.
Pretty cheap and uncle was very patient to help me even though i told him i'm on a budget. They have different range of frames and most importantly their cost are quite competitive IMHO.:)

Anyway its open to public

Thx for the recommendation.Its really cheaper compared to outside shops.I have checked a few shops outside and this optical shop in CCK ITE is much cheaper.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.