The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

oldbreadstinks

anyone know where got wide range of bywp specs?

some places just have less than 5 pairs and 1 shop told me the local distro has gone bust? nto sure true anot.

thanx

not a super popular brand , hopefully someone here bought before and can tell you

try calling paris miki and see which branch carries?

oldbreadstinks

Thanks.. I already did. hoping to hear various opinions before making a decision.

Recommended retail price for Crizal UV (non-prevencia) is about $180... anyone familiar with prices in malaysia (JB)?

On a side note, is the wait time in JB shorter than in SG? are there any opticians that do the lenses in house?

once again, thanks for the help!

generally lower

prevencia unlikely to be stocked in shop
unlikely to get it fast

a lot do in house because malaysia is big (no one is going to wait for the despatch to come if they open shop in an ulu area)

for crizal , it's a slightly more complicated issue because in singapore most business owners unless they have huge volumes of lenses to cut, chances are they're using old equipment to edge the lenses and with all the "five enemies of clear vision" coatings offered by all the labs with really smooth surfaces cutting the lenses without new equipment means the lens will move about due the the poorer grip during cutting process

meaning your focal point and axis would be out
I assume it's somewhat similar in malaysia unless the businesses there really believe in upgrading their equipment at the first chance

:s22:

crizal UV i assume you're talking about 1.6 since you mentioned $180

likely to get at $130+/- to $150 from small shops here . so you have to look at around $100 from malaysia I guess?:s22:

oldbreadstinks

hmm.. i thot nowadays non-reflection is very basic stuff for lens.
my new pair not expensive at all, but no reflection when taking photo leh.

maybe other experts can share more?

expensive and reflections are two different issues
my $25 lenses i sell also no reflection
but sometimes the sexpensive supar goot lenses you bought for $200+ 1.5 index
main purpose is not for that and the stupiak coating is supar reflective :s22:

sjskb26

generally lower

a lot do in house because malaysia is big (no one is going to wait for the despatch to come if they open shop in an ulu area)

for crizal , it's a slightly more complicated issue because in singapore most business owners unless they have huge volumes of lenses to cut, chances are they're using old equipment to edge the lenses and with all the "five enemies of clear vision" coatings offered by all the labs with really smooth surfaces cutting the lenses without new equipment means the lens will move about due the the poorer grip during cutting process

meaning your focal point and axis would be out
I assume it's somewhat similar in malaysia unless the businesses there really believe in upgrading their equipment at the first chance

:s22:

crizal UV i assume you're talking about 1.6 since you mentioned $180

likely to get at $130+/- to $150 from small shops here . so you have to look at around $100 from malaysia I guess?:s22:

oldbreadstinks, thanks a lot for your input on the technical side of things. I found a small shop in chong pang that quoted me Crizal UV 1.56 for $110. My degree for both sides roughly 300, and the optician said that it is not necessary to go for the thinner 1.6 lens.Think i will go with that. Doubt can find a much cheaper deal in JB.

So, is Crizal really a price-controlled item in SG? seems like all opticians have the official retail price list, but are free to adjust discounts. e.g.: crizal 1.56 retail price is $150.

oldbreadstinks

oldbreadstinks, thanks a lot for your input on the technical side of things. I found a small shop in chong pang that quoted me Crizal UV 1.56 for $110. My degree for both sides roughly 300, and the optician said that it is not necessary to go for the thinner 1.6 lens.Think i will go with that. Doubt can find a much cheaper deal in JB.

So, is Crizal really a price-controlled item in SG? seems like all opticians have the official retail price list, but are free to adjust discounts. e.g.: crizal 1.56 retail price is $150.

no lah not controlled price
you think lab hold a gun to the head meh
undertable deals sure have one

:s22: my relative want to make how? :s22:

usually people's friends or relatives come in i sure hoot below simi sai malaysian price, otherwise sure lose face right? :s12:

oldbreadstinks

what about 1.67 with progressive lens?

got brand or no brand? brandless can go for $300 or less $200+ possible liao

but mai hiam lah, don't wear liao complain distortions gaogao

my customer last time wear essilor, he want to press down my price, i told him
brandless there should be cheap one, he went for 1.6 $200

came back and told me his world shrunk :s13::s13: i warned him liao

after that he came back and auto went for zeiss progressive. no need to warn or anything but he wasted one pair lor :s13:

jervin88

sjskb26 bro sg wan crizal below 100 also have la LOL.
just need to find only.
i believe prices is one thing, but service is also very important. i would recommend you go somewhere where good service is provided, and you feel happy/comfortable.

TUV2008

got brand or no brand? brandless can go for $300 or less $200+ possible liao

but mai hiam lah, don't wear liao complain distortions gaogao

my customer last time wear essilor, he want to press down my price, i told him
brandless there should be cheap one, he went for 1.6 $200

came back and told me his world shrunk :s13::s13: i warned him liao

after that he came back and auto went for zeiss progressive. no need to warn or anything but he wasted one pair lor :s13:

Thank you... I just paid S$650 for a 1.67 progressive... Very heart pain... Why progressive must be so expensive ?????

oldbreadstinks

Thank you... I just paid S$650 for a 1.67 progressive... Very heart pain... Why progressive must be so expensive ?????

quality

i cannot explain it through words i can talk about free form back surface , digital mapping , base in prisms
but you'll think it's all hogwash until you experienced a good lens then downgrade to a lousy one

the instant you put on something that costs half of what you paid will you realised why people are willing to pay so high for progressives :s22:

jervin88

enjoy your progressive bro! partly exp cos thin thin ma haha. now thin look nice feel good can liao!!

TUV2008

quality

i cannot explain it through words i can talk about free form back surface , digital mapping , base in prisms
but you'll think it's all hogwash until you experienced a good lens then downgrade to a lousy one

the instant you put on something that costs half of what you paid will you realised why people are willing to pay so high for progressives :s22:

Ok, Thanks for the sharing.... I have not tried anything cheapo one, so far all my three pair of progressive already cost me a boom.

emo3lmo

My crizal transition lens cost me $400.. add frame total $560 :eek:
I have astig and myopia.. super expensive lo

oldbreadstinks

Ok, Thanks for the sharing.... I have not tried anything cheapo one, so far all my three pair of progressive already cost me a boom.

it's like sunglasses, you won't miss anything until you've tried it
once you're tried , very hard to down grade when you know the difference

foolwrong

2 days ago..I got my eye result as shown below:

SPH:
Right -250
Left -225

Cyl:
Right -025
Left -175

Now i have question.. those figure above needs to divide my 100 ? I search online and i see sample prescription -2.5 or -1.75..etc

Anyway, I went for Zeiss lens with coating for SGD390...izzit tio chop alot ?

jervin88

2 days ago..I got my eye result as shown below:

SPH:
Right -250
Left -225

Cyl:
Right -025
Left -175

Now i have question.. those figure above needs to divide my 100 ? I search online and i see sample prescription -2.5 or -1.75..etc

Anyway, I went for Zeiss lens with coating for SGD390...izzit tio chop alot ?

basically your degree is -2.50/-0.25 x (axis)
you tot is divide 100 because of the decimal points haha, but dont worry when they write -250 it also means -2.50, probably just that they didnt include the ...

axis is determined by your eye tester then the numbers used to cut ur lens to your prescription. hahaha. zeiss need see what index you use lo. coating if u use the duravision i think more exp becus normal stock lens dont have that coating. as long you follow the zeiss pricelist u wont go wrong one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.