The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

IAmZTX

Iamztx bro,
Zeiss single visions clear lenses stock until go up to 1.67 index. If u wan 1.74 u need to rx.
Thats for clear lenses
But for singlevisions photfusions for example dun have 1.74 even if u wan to rx. It just doesnt come in that index 1.74.
Catalog should be right, just ask the guy helping you to explain more so u understand clearly. Easier to buy once u understand the products more. Its their job to explain haha. Make them do it! Hahahah
Sent from Samsung GT-N7105 using GAGT

ok noted. thanks for the explanation

dolphinss

Thanks guys.

So I went to check out Zeiss Office Lens, RRP $800+ for 1.67. Pretty steep. Way off my budget.
Distance is -550
Computer is -450
Reading is -350

My budget is $200-300 for the lens. So I'll probably try out some Aliexpress progressive lens options...< $150/= with frames. Didn't find any specific computer lens offering.

Any has any success with Aliexpress or other online eyeglass services?

jervin88

Thanks guys.

So I went to check out Zeiss Office Lens, RRP $800+ for 1.67. Pretty steep. Way off my budget.
Distance is -550
Computer is -450
Reading is -350

My budget is $200-300 for the lens. So I'll probably try out some Aliexpress progressive lens options...< $150/= with frames. Didn't find any specific computer lens offering.

Any has any success with Aliexpress or other online eyeglass services?

i think if you do another progressive, now cheaper ones i think you still will problems with reading and computer tgt.

highly recommend not to. since progressive design not suitable for your computer and reading. and also progressive its best to do it in shop in person with the right measurements.
you see price 150 confirm alr can tell its a lower end of progressive designs, will not help you in any way.

if not do a spare lens usin a cheaper lens maybe? 1.6 thicker or maybe computer lens by essilor. not sure if cheaper. if spare i think thickness wont matter much right, since you use for work only. for -4.50 1.6 i think can la haha. for computer and reading work anyway.
I believe 300 plua can still get computer lens one maybe a 1.5 or 1.6 index.
dont mind me too much, just dont want you to waste unnecessary money.

dolphinss

Thanks Jervin88,

I think will take the opportunity to test out what Aliexpress has to offer cause the savings in future could be significant.

Option 1 - Get Computer/Office Lens, price around S$500-800/= depending on index

Option 2 - Get Single Vision for Computer only. ~$100-200

Option 3 - Get Aliexpress Backside :)/Interior/Free Form progressive lens... ~$100/=

Of course JB is an option as well...

slowcoach

Oakley Glasses

Anyone see ads in Facebook for cheap Oakley? Like really cheap (USD30) and they advertise like 90% discount

Well in case anyone is wondering... I got curious and wanted to see what kind of glasses they were so ordered

First, I actually wouldnt have been surprised if they didnt arrive at all.
But they did so its not a scam....

However, they are not good quality and you get what you pay for...

If anyone wants 2 pairs, I have and will give away!! LOL

killerl

L/R : 500/550
Astig: <200 on both side
1.67 index

quoted $260 for crizal and $300 for hoya.

Which 1 better in term of value/dollar ah?

In the end make the lens at my neighborhood shop.

$210 for hoya stellify 1.67, $90 cheaper than the original shop that made my spec. :s22::s22:

No authenticity card though. Was told that Hoya doesn't gives out authenticity card for stellify lenses anymore.

jervin88

In the end make the lens at my neighborhood shop.

$210 for hoya stellify 1.67, $90 cheaper than the original shop that made my spec. :s22::s22:

No authenticity card though. Was told that Hoya doesn't gives out authenticity card for stellify lenses anymore.

haha cheers, finally got ur specs!

jervin88

Thanks Jervin88,

I think will take the opportunity to test out what Aliexpress has to offer cause the savings in future could be significant.

Option 1 - Get Computer/Office Lens, price around S$500-800/= depending on index

Option 2 - Get Single Vision for Computer only. ~$100-200

Option 3 - Get Aliexpress Backside :)/Interior/Free Form progressive lens... ~$100/=

Of course JB is an option as well...

eliminate option 3 hahahaha!!
take ur money go makan some good food with your family.

Kurant

Anyone uses standard high index 1.67 lens (-5.00) with Oakley rimless frames? Just wanna know if there's any distortion or discomfort due to the slight overall curvature of design.
Thanks

jervin88

Anyone uses standard high index 1.67 lens (-5.00) with Oakley rimless frames? Just wanna know if there's any distortion or discomfort due to the slight overall curvature of design.
Thanks

morning kurant bro,
frames with slight curve design definitely is different since the focus is different compared to conventional frames which are flat.
i think give yourself some time can get used to it one.
can always opt for a lens with base curve, more expensive though hahah.
hope this helps to answer your question.

EDMOND WONG

hi i am new here. Anyone knows where to find a spec frame with magnet paste-on sunglasses?

//gd4.alicdn.com/imgextra/i4/181048157/TB2AORFbVXXXXXbXpXXXXXXXXXX_!!181048157.jpg

also want to make a progressive lens with budget $300 a pair possible? my existing one is about $230 (lens alone) a few years back index 1.6 i think.

oldbreadstinks

U said that i am a difficult person isnt that the same as saying i ought to lower down standards to accept substandard specs? No? Not puting additional words in yur mouth, just rephrasing what you said, cos u are a person who does not say things in a concise precise manner. Remember i said u are vague in yur words??? U cant blame me when u say things that ple cant understand u correctly. U kept saying im a difficult customer, but where so?

nope, i clearly said if you're a difficult person you should state so and ask the shop to take up your business only if they wish to pay the attention and put in the effort instead of you pretending you don't mind act smart keep quiet then regret later

but you're paraphrasing it as i'm asking you to lower standards

i obviously said you need to ask if the shop understands your needs before plunging in , but you come up with rubbish like
" i will find those staff easier to bully and get my lens redone."

you refuse to accept the situation and increasingly throw ridiculous statements in make personal attacks.

and you wonder why i think you're a difficult person

Visible obvious scratches have been spotted and staff agreed she saw them and send back to lab. If those are not real flaws u think the staff will do that? HOW ON EARTH DO I KNOW WHY THERE ARE VISIBLE CLUSTERS IN THE FIRST PLACE??? You are the sexpert chiu should be telling me. I will very much know WHY????

U say all lenses u seen no problems. Methinks u are generalising. U telling me u haven see the flawed ones? I really doubt ur professionalism and credibility if u tell me the lenses u received are in good condition all the time.
then you insist i generalise with which you replied with generalizations your self .

I do not recall saying all lenses I seen without problems . you can scroll back i mentioned
the 1.6 i checked has no problems
and flaw are generally not noticable to the naked eye

but you paraphrase and generalise it as "all i've seen"

which this kind of behaviour, if you're not another practitioner trolling here ,

i can only come to the conclusion you were the cause of all your troubles since i find it hard to reconcile your description of yourself as an educated professional in your late middle ages with your childish illogical replies
twisting of words, name calling.

as an adult you actually resort to name calling and making fun of names?
:s22: are you sure you're 50 ?:s22:

then actually do a barefaced lie and denied it?:s13:

How did i call u names? Either yur vision is poor or your english language has a problem. An old bread that stinks isnt it same as a stinky old bread? If u dont want to be called so, please change to another name. Dont accuse me of namecalling when u put yur name as such. That is defamation.

oldbreadstinks is obviously verbs describing "old bread stinks"

you're again paraphrasing it as nouns , using it with obvious malicious intent, yet insist you're not doing so.

is that not the indications of a difficult person?

oldbreadstinks

By the way zeiss individualized 1.74 RX also have with latest duravision coating. But zeiss individualised SV sucks. They combine fatigue lens plus anti myopic features and its a spherical lens the centre is thicker than other brands and sides thinner. I think its no good cos the peripheral vision will auto blur and when yur eyes tired vision will blur. First and last time i will use zeiss individualised. Cant even see my name initials clearly. Only 4 alphabets max. Optician said ple complain initials too obvious so make it fainter. Wtf. Anyway i threw it one side after one week. Hope essilor will not disappoint me
i think if this is really how you see it, :s13::s13::s13: either the staff said all sorts of things to sell the lenses or said all sorts of things to get out of a sticky situation.
or there's a communication breakdown

or you have comprehension issues

based on our past conversations would you like to make a guess which one has my money on it? :s22::s13::s13:

oldbreadstinks

Seannie bro individual lens is not any anti fatigue or what f leh. Just purely single vision with features like less distortions. Ur optician nv explain to u properly issit. Or he upsell his products confusing consumers.
The 4 letters engraved is not supposed to be so obvious anyway. Its meant to be faint.
Your optician definetely did not explain things to you well. I think he just upsell and tell u features which isnt the lenses selling point. Individual lenses selling point is at the digital mapping, accuracy of the power at the lens surface even at the side of lens creating less distortions. It can never be a myopia control because the design is not meant to be one in the first place. For your case of high astig, it is actually a good choice of lens.
But u say u feel tired and blur, what I can say from this, maybe is the degree off and eyes after some time tired. Not because of the lens design.
As u said the blur only comee when tired. So that means is ur eye tired not lens design. If lens design is supposed to be myopia control, in the first place when u not tired the peripheral of the lens shd be blur already. I hope u understand the real problem which could be the degree measurements.
For your age you dont even need myopia control. Only myopia control in zeiss is myovision lenses.
So again I recommend you try another shop in future. A good one please. Get your degree right you should feel comfortable even if long hours of wearing spectacles, unless u really tired la then need rest.

he mentioned individual sv and myopia control , myopia control only goes up to 400cyl and it isn't mixed with individual design :s22::s22::s22:

oldbreadstinks

Dun take the degree I state as a correct measure. I use for explaining only haha.
But ya in a way for u lpwer will better for reading and abit higher for computer.
If u do get a glasses measured for computer distance, close up reading will be blur. So I suggest u get a computer lens design whoch is better. Clear for computwr and also reading close up. Single vision definitely cheaper but if u need to read close up and laptop together, it may not be advisable. Cheap but useless in a way.

Thanks jervin88.

So if I reduce my glasses to around -400 I should be able to get good vision for computer reading (~1.2 m). But I still might not be able to read my mobile at close range <0.3m which needs to be around -300?

And I can just get cheaper single vision lens instead instead of progressive?

if you intend to make computer lenses

tell the guy testing, the distance you need to read at and ask him to adjust from there

may not be as comfortable for reading. since you're already add+2.00
and your best pc add is around 0.75 lower

Hi Guys,

I had recently made a pair of progressive lens...but it didn't seem to be useful.
The prescription is around SPH -650 CYL -200 Reading +200

I find that the angle for near reading is too steep...~20 degree.
And I can't really read from my desktop or notebook.

So I end up switching back to my original glass which after the past week on progressive, now allows me to read from the computer monitor.(was blurry before) But still unable to read my phone. SPH -550 CYL-150

So is the solution getting a new pair of Officelens for <4m vision? Is this a shorter range progressive lens? What is the typical price range?

Also what is the difference between Zeiss Digital Lens and Office Lens?

Thanks.

assuming your glasses comes with nosepads, there isn't much to be done with your prescription for intermediate(desktop) but you can request for the optician to push the reading area outwards so the angle for looking down isn't so acute, or even push them slightly higher if you find it bearable :s22:
for some it resolves most reading issues

oldbreadstinks

:) Got you.

So Zeiss Officelens is a special type of progressive lens? With better reading zones?

Or the same effect can be achieved with non-branded progressive lens.

Office is adjusted according to computer and reading. Progressive designs if u wan it to work for computer also, if ur tested addition is low yhen easy. But the higher it gets, the success rate is lower.
For long hours, progressive is still not a very good idea. Even with the best progressive lens fr long hours computer i will not recommend as the zones still will lose to computer or office lens and definitely affect ur eye head posture causing discomfort after long hours.
So for now if we talk about ur progressive now. For far is clear and reading is good right? So if good it means its measure well. So if u imagine we adjust the height like mem2003bro mentioned abit higher to give u more space for computer. The far vision confirm will not be satisfactory since the measurement is shifted off the sweet spot.
No offence to mem2003!
As stated by mem2003 bro eye position has to be adjusted more to look down more. All this causes strain if u work for long hours ob ur reading materials.
Try for conputer lens or office lens. Since u long hours need to use. It allows a more natural head posture instead of straining ur neck or whatever in any ways. The zones is definetely wider than progressives more comfortable. 100% confirm. Strongly advise!

Also to clear up ur confusion about non branded progressive. Progressive is progressive. Office is office. Doesnt matter if branded or what. Progressive design is meant for general usage like far and reading and Intermediate like room.
office or computer lens is more for abit of room distance, then more for computer and reading. Zones are different. Hahahaha hope this helps

For Progressive lens, you have to understand
FAR/Intermediate/ Near Zones which corresponding to the degree on the lens frame vertical measurement (height) that is made.

Measured reading distance power corrected on how small size of the front size used base on actual normal distance that the user is reading at(??cm). The greater the vertical height chosen like >30mm will give you more glass in height, thus allow more viewing distance by tilting your eye ball down to a position that is cleared or tilting your head up to a position that is cleared.
Good progressive lens will have better control on the cutting on degree of gradient.

The better glass lens type will give wider angle of view.

FYI: My pair of glasses is able for me to view the computer monitor (27") at around 90cm and Phone/newspaper at around 25cm but at difference position or eye tilting more downwards as for the Phone.

general progressives are meant for moving around and reading, while there's an intermediate section, it's pretty narrow and restricts your eye neck movement,
great if you wish to look at the pc ,

bad if you think remaining in a particular position for both eyes and neck for the next hour is uncomfortable

office lenses removes the distance portion, so instead of looking slightly downwards for intermediate(desktop)
looking downwards and higher are all now for desktops distances
bottom is still for reading so if your work involves switching between desktops and reading/writing it's more comfortable as you can relax your body
leaning back, front sitting straight can all be used as postures to look at the pc
but nothing clear beyond 1metre

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.