The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

Actually, 50 degree difference not much of an impact. Normal day-to-day activities you don't need to see objects that are so far, right?

I will suggest u wear it for a week to see for normal activities, are the vision ok. Our eyes and brain need time to forget the past. :D

No, ask them to redo. they should redo for you. if not dont ever go back to their shop. there are lots of choices out there.

Seannie

tried some 999.9 eye frames at taka boutique.

n my god jesus, they all fit so well n comfortable even without adjusting.

now i understand 'asian fit'

any bros here use them?

initially you feel the fit is good, but actually not so. especially the back end temples are too tight. And the fit not very secure. Too expensive for a pair of normal titanium frame. Nothing too impressive. Think again before you buy.

Seannie

Zeiss has lab reports and tests which proves its quality over others. Its not just say and expect people to believe. Not so easy. If you really take a cheap Japan lens and compare you will be surprised. Please do not claim something which its not true. It is very misleading.

Just to clarify any doubts, NO LENS HAS WARRANTY OVER SCRATCHES. Scratches can only be there due to any form of friction when you might not have noticed. you may have not used much. It could have came without you noticing, only until one day u see it.

I really dislike it when someone blames the lenses quality due to negligence. Just that you use it only in office, very seldom usage DOES NOT mean that it is in perfect condition or under perfect maintainence.

I personally use Singapore lenses and i am doing fine without scratches after months and even years. I am very careful with my specatacles till the point the only contact with my lenses are my cloths.
It all boils down to own negligence even for fine scratches.

Normally certain shops does replacements but its GOODWILL. Please understand.

TO REEMPHASIZE, NO WARRANTY FOR SCRATCHES. If you find any lens which is scratch proof please inform me immediately. I will buy them at any cost.

I hope this clarifies this issue on scratches for all the readers here.

Zeiss lenses confirm less scartch resistant. My own zeiss lens also the same, the coating got v bad after just less than a few months. And MIND YOU, im a very careful person with lenses. In contrast my hoya lenses never get any scratches even after 2-3 yrs of usage. But ofcos we dont want to criticise brands here, just raising awareness to people and let them decide what options they prefer. For me if ask me to choose i still stick to hoya for their reliability. Until today i did many pairs and none have given me alot of serious problems.

super365

I have used hoya lens for past 3 years. No scratches. I always use spectacle cloth to wipe the lens. Still nice now.

Coating near lens edge is slightly disappear already (not really noticable) which look like normal wear and tear. I guess 3 years already this is normal.

Seannie

I have used hoya lens for past 3 years. No scratches. I always use spectacle cloth to wipe the lens. Still nice now.

Coating near lens edge is slightly disappear already (not really noticable) which look like normal wear and tear. I guess 3 years already this is normal.

yes, about 2-3 years of usage got to change already. Lens also will turn yellowish and might affect optical properties. Best to change for optimal results. I used tissue on my lens until now also no problems.

jervin88

Zeiss lenses confirm less scartch resistant. My own zeiss lens also the same, the coating got v bad after just less than a few months. And MIND YOU, im a very careful person with lenses. In contrast my hoya lenses never get any scratches even after 2-3 yrs of usage. But ofcos we dont want to criticise brands here, just raising awareness to people and let them decide what options they prefer. For me if ask me to choose i still stick to hoya for their reliability. Until today i did many pairs and none have given me alot of serious problems.
Just leads to personal preference now. Some ppl say crizal king some ppl say hoya king. No definite answers. Im just clarifying a general matter

Sent from Samsung GT-N7105 using GAGT

my6600

just collected my spec. It is using 1.67 Crizal Forte UV Transition Signature VII.

My prescription is 425 for both eyes.

But kind of disappointed with the thickness of the lens. :(

my6600

1.74 is it overkilled for my prescription? As what i read online, the articles said for low prescription even 1.74 will not be further in reducing the thickness and it actually waste money.

Given my prescription and the index, is it normal to be thick still given it is transition lens? I am actually ok if it is like that if other brands such as Hoya also same situation too.

1) Is Crizal lens known to be thicker than other brand like Hoya?
2) Is transition lens known to be thicker than normal lens with no transition that results in the thicker lens?

Seannie

yalar dont waste monies. 1.67 is sufficient already. Thickness wont affect the weight much, most important is whether u feel comfy with the weight or not. If not just make adjustment to the frame to balance out the weight distribution.

BombVoyage

anyone know any optical shops that sell safety specs kind of specs with degree in the west?

find it troublesome to wear a overspec, want to get a safety specs with degree instead.

darkhonour

The lifespan of my spectacles have been 6 months each recently. Can anyone recommend any good frame that is durable?

Normally i buy frame separately and ask my optician to fit in the lenses. Am thinking of getting a Rayban spectacle frame but am not sure if it will break? (Then $200 go down the drain [frame+lenses])

ktyandkyc

may i know how could u feel if u tink the PD is wrongly made?

If its wrongly made, does it mean that the lens need to be made all over again?

geniuspear

came across a spec shop at bugis cube.. their ray ban and oakley price i tink cheapest in sg liao ... knn 40-50% cheaper than most shop i went

but the sales person say appointment only, means mus call before going down

manage to get his name card, share wid u all gd kantao go see see if gt chance

edwin - 81005455 the shop is call BC showroom

sparksue

Hello guys

Intend to get a spec, anyone here using Tag Heuer - Urban 7 Series?
http://www.tagheuer.com/int-en/eyewear/optic-glasses/urban-glasses
Anyone know what's the cost like for this spec?

Love the design..hope the price won't be too scary..:eek:

I saw on Lazada which sell in a good price but it's a export set..not sure whether is it authentic or even valid in Singapore?

Intend to get the frame and ask local spec shop to do the right lens for me..
Any suggestion will be helpful. :D

stanley_home

initially you feel the fit is good, but actually not so. especially the back end temples are too tight. And the fit not very secure. Too expensive for a pair of normal titanium frame. Nothing too impressive. Think again before you buy.

is it? but it seems fine for me. comfortable. thanks maybe got time i go tried again. :p

anyways i bought eyevan from KS instead. lol.

stanley_home

The lifespan of my spectacles have been 6 months each recently. Can anyone recommend any good frame that is durable?

Normally i buy frame separately and ask my optician to fit in the lenses. Am thinking of getting a Rayban spectacle frame but am not sure if it will break? (Then $200 go down the drain [frame+lenses])

did u drop or squash it accidently often?

i saw a spectacle shop at tampines selling korean frames can twist 1. with i think normal lens.. 90 bucks.

i think only IC berlin or Mykita can tahan smashing and fix back? maybe.... any bros can comment?

wiz

Finally took the plurge today due to unforeseen circumstances (current specs broke on the side, supposed to be titanium..) and got a ic berlin tony t with zeiss.

Ready in 7 to 10 days, will update and see how it fair, better be good for such a pricy pair..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.