The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Need to replace my rimless lenses...

Hi all

Got Hoya lenses with a pair of Ray Ban plastic glasses I bought based on feedback on this thread few years ago. So far so good, have been a bit careless with them sometimes but no scratches and optical quality quite good.

Wanted a lighter frame last year so got rimless Silhouette ones. Auntie at the shop said for rimless need polycarbonate so she recommended Crizal Airwear. Fast forward one year, the bloody lens scratched like hell. And this pair I babied quite a lot. Optical quality also quite bad.

Which lense do you recommend to replace? Read about Hoya Phoenix which is supposed to be a trivex lens (better than poly?) but when I asked an optical shop near my office if they carry this lens they have no idea.

mirage6789

I had a pair of trivex lense on a half rim frame. Someone sat on it accidentally once and there was not a single scratch on it. Sadly trivex seen not very popular here and many shops I went didn't even heard of it...

geniuspear

Guys go contact edwin @81005455

Super gd deal, promised to help him market if i enjoyed his service. His shop at bugis bc showroom

Ah darn. Am not a big fan of going to JB. No worries will investigate and see if any local shops stock trivex lenses, and report back.

bladez87

Which optical shops in jb are recommended? Planning to make a pair of specs. Not sure what to look for with regards to lens and frames. I am short sighted 400-500. Thanks

Seannie

Which optical shops in jb are recommended? Planning to make a pair of specs. Not sure what to look for with regards to lens and frames. I am short sighted 400-500. Thanks

Not recommended. If need adjustments u need to travel back and fro. Not worth it.

acidcrash

I went to a shop and ask how much to make permanent tint lenses and told her my lense power 700 degrees. She told me the tint can only be at 40% as my power is high.. I was quoted $350 just for the lenses.

Is it only 40%? Looking for a bit higher say 70%.I only ask 1 shop though

marsbarsz

Hi guys, noob here asking for advice:

• Any optical store to recommend?
  • Which brand carries the best designs for half frames glasses and are also durable? (Currently I only know tagheur and oakley)
  • Is there such a thing as anti-radiation lens for people like me who uses the computer alot?

Thanks!!

DARTHNERD

Hi all

I am thinking to JB to make new glasses using rayban frame and UV coated lenses. Is it alot cheaper like 30%?

Can anyone share their experiences? I dun think I need any adjustments after the first time when I got my glasses.

edit: I heard queensway also cheap but go to which store?

Thanks.

Seannie

Hi guys, noob here asking for advice:

• Any optical store to recommend?
  • Which brand carries the best designs for half frames glasses and are also durable? (Currently I only know tagheur and oakley)
  • Is there such a thing as anti-radiation lens for people like me who uses the computer alot?

Thanks!!

i think oakley + essilor crizal prevencia should be good enough. U need to top up for prevencia (cut off the blue rays) but objects will look more yellowish if u are ok with discoloration. Try universal optical at novena if u choose oakley and share your feedback.

DaRkXiDe

Hi all

Got Hoya lenses with a pair of Ray Ban plastic glasses I bought based on feedback on this thread few years ago. So far so good, have been a bit careless with them sometimes but no scratches and optical quality quite good.

Wanted a lighter frame last year so got rimless Silhouette ones. Auntie at the shop said for rimless need polycarbonate so she recommended Crizal Airwear. Fast forward one year, the bloody lens scratched like hell. And this pair I babied quite a lot. Optical quality also quite bad.

Which lense do you recommend to replace? Read about Hoya Phoenix which is supposed to be a trivex lens (better than poly?) but when I asked an optical shop near my office if they carry this lens they have no idea.
Just so you know, Hoya in SG is not that popular. That is why some shops would not have heard about their different types of lenses.

My advice is go to another shop who knows Hoya lenses.

marsbarsz

i think oakley + essilor crizal prevencia should be good enough. U need to top up for prevencia (cut off the blue rays) but objects will look more yellowish if u are ok with discoloration. Try universal optical at novena if u choose oakley and share your feedback.

Oh thank you!

So Oakley is the brand to go for durability with nice half-frames designs?

Do I need to be concerned about the index prescriptions (1.67,1.74,etc)? My left eye is, 200-300 and the right is 900.
Anything else I need to be concerned about?

DaRkXiDe

Oh thank you!

Do I need to be concerned about the index prescriptions (1.67,1.74,etc)? My left eye is, 200-300 and the right is 900.

Would not recommend half frame if your degree is so high. The lens from the side would look really thick. If you still insist tho, 1.74 for right, 1.6 for left is recommended.

marsbarsz

Would not recommend half frame if your degree is so high. The lens from the side would look really thick. If you still insist tho, 1.74 for right, 1.6 for left is recommended.

Thanks! Will reconsider purchasing half frames then!

How about the brands? Any recommendations of brands other than oakley? Or is oakley one of the better brands?

Seannie

Oh thank you!

Thanks for your pm. If your power is high better not take halfrim. If insist must have semi rimmed then try to choose a smaller frame one that is narrower in width and height as well so that your right lens dont protrude too obvious. Its not just abt aesthetics reasons. I think u will feel better with a thinner lens as well. If lens too thick the edges might brush against yur eyebrows or cheeks giving you discomfort. So just take 1.67 index good enough. 1.74 wont make much difference as you choosing a smaller frame. This is from my extensive experience. I made alot of mistakes wasted alot of monies in specs. Just hope i can save u some headaches and heartaches here.

Oakley so far ok lor. I had one myself the chamfer asian fit but only wear at home or during weekends. Very comfy light but not sure abt durability but shd be ok price wise my oakley frame only $230 v cheap. Go work i wear metal frame.

Depends what is your budget and your priorities then can recommend. If you have budget then go for japanese brands more durable. For lens take hoya if you scared of scratches the coating is better. But anyhow plastic lens still turn yelo after 2 years so still need to change. So depends on your expectations.

Seannie

My advice is, to take frame with size 53 or below if you can. Dont take too big or wide frame u will regret it. My power almost 800 and frame size of 57 giving me problems. Size 55 ok for me but still visibly thick from the side as my recent frames are all brow bar style which exposes the lens thickness. For your rough gauge, my lens almost 5mm thick at the side even though im using 1.67 double aspherical. But my most recent size 53mm frame is very ideal cant really notuce the thickness. So can imagine your 900degrees can get how thick liao. Seiko A zone lens v good for high power degrees but very expensive dont think u will want.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.