The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

joshuatan1984

Mine has the laser engraving on the lenses though. I actually don't mind whether have card anot but just want to know if really only high end range got card and cleaning kit nia.

because when I went to make the frame, the optician still showed me another customer's specs which was bundled with zeiss warranty card but what left me perplexed was that the boss of the shop is a relative so don't want in the end tio pple say I kick up big fuss cz of a card etc :crazy:

I actually insisted to the boss abt the card after the couple of hundred pages I've voewed through here but he mumbled sth abt they already kept a record with the lab and should anything goes wrong with the lenses he will sent them straight back.

is the laser logo sufficient enough to prove the lenses are authentic?

edit: mine is single vision lens, not transitions btw.

Hi. I think the email refers to all zeiss lenses should come with guarantee card. About the laser engraving. I actually also doubted whether someone would actually go to the extend of faking the engraving lol. Cuz my case, I was presented with a pair of lenses with no engraving and no warranty card. And I insisted and refuse to pay up the balance. The sales was trying his best to convince me that's the real deal. As there was also another customer there d boss intervened and took it back and say they will complain to the lab and ask them to do the engraving n print out the guarantee card. I waited for another 1.5 week before they come back with everything that I requested(suspect the first pair wasn't zeiss lens and they reorder the real zeiss lens for me). I was still doubting that the current pair is real zeiss. Always have the thought that perhaps they can fake the engraving n guarantee card cuz almost got conned once.

Lol think I worried too much lol

Seannie

Haha so many jokers here. Worried then dont do branded lens lo since dont trust the shop ple. Just get local unbranded lenses will do liao. Nobody can see yur lens logo as well. Not as if unbranded lenses cant see or wat.

Seannie

wah all yr frame all damn expensive one...:s22::s22:

my tag heuer not those ultra expensive type, mid range nia. ard 500+ dollars. ya rubber temple. i tried their plastic range, heavier than the one i got.....so i nvr get.

Plastic is the craze now, everywhere u turn u see plastic frames, from youngsters to executives to uncles aunties. Sibeh woo character!

dominicwor2

Hi. I think the email refers to all zeiss lenses should come with guarantee card. About the laser engraving. I actually also doubted whether someone would actually go to the extend of faking the engraving lol. Cuz my case, I was presented with a pair of lenses with no engraving and no warranty card. And I insisted and refuse to pay up the balance. The sales was trying his best to convince me that's the real deal. As there was also another customer there d boss intervened and took it back and say they will complain to the lab and ask them to do the engraving n print out the guarantee card. I waited for another 1.5 week before they come back with everything that I requested(suspect the first pair wasn't zeiss lens and they reorder the real zeiss lens for me). I was still doubting that the current pair is real zeiss. Always have the thought that perhaps they can fake the engraving n guarantee card cuz almost got conned once.

Nothing wrong with insisting on getting to the bottom of what you paid for with hard earned money nor are we attempting to show off with whatever branded lenses made to other people.

We're not expert like someone else here; whom maybe has gone through same thinking path when he first started out buying such branded lenses.

Sometimes consumers' trust can be abused like in your case or mine perhaps sadly :(

GANGSTERKIA

from my knowledge, i think that the lenses should come with the engraving UNLESS maybe while the lens is being edged, they accidentally edge the engraving away. Sometimes it happens with crizal lenses such that even though its crizal but the logo is not there.

GANGSTERKIA

guys, normally how many discount can you get compare with list price when you bought lens from he shop? plan to get essilor progressive transition lens, saw the brochure from essilor with list price, some shop no discount at all, some shop offered 5%, 10%, even 25% discount, really confused...

it depends, some shops are like ''regular''''loyal'' sellers of essilor lenses/zeiss lenses thus i think they would be able to sell at a more discounted rate. There are some reasons behind being such a loyal seller thus that might be the case!

Seannie

Nothing wrong with insisting on getting to the bottom of what you paid for with hard earned money nor are we attempting to show off with whatever branded lenses made to other people.

We're not expert like someone else here; whom maybe has gone through same thinking path when he first started out buying such branded lenses.

Sometimes consumers' trust can be abused like in your case or mine perhaps sadly :(

Whats the point of insisting on getting to the bottom of what you paid for with yur hard earned money if u dont trust your shop? Got use meh? Cant understand. Really pitied the shop, nowadays customers so damn fussy sooo hard to please and satisfy. Choose an unbranded lens then no worries of getting conned loh. Anyway multi coats more or less the same across all brands. U think branded lens coating will last forever or very long no need change meh? If like that all the zeiss hoya essilor can close shop liao lor. U are paying premium for branding & marketing nia. And nobody knows u are using branded lenses. Maybe ownself also cant differentiate the diff types of brands. Lets say i put a few types of lens brands in front of u & let u try can u tell which is which boh? Hahahaha. So funny. Branded lens also will get scatches, also got bad apples, also will fail QC, also will have coatings failures. Not to mention worksmanship & prescription errors. Pay so much end up lenses made u giddy also no use. Or maybe one side lens bigger or smaller than the other. Or maybe focal point slightly off which yourself dont even realise. U see branded lenses are so expensive nowadays. So kek sim. Later eye power change even worse lenses also change. Frame change lenses also must change.

Seannie

Wakau eh biggest joke of the month. Engraving also can fake. Wahahaha. Too brand conscious la this society.

Carnage

I got the carl zeiss card as well. My lenses has the engraving as well.

Always insist on the card, the engraving isn't always there.

Carnage

Oh I also look at tag recently but I don't like anymore. I just hoot a new Alan mikli starck black plastic frame fit very good, $770. But ah boy tag exp Lei thought u won't spent so much. U took which tag model? Rubber temples or the new ones? Their plastic fitting not as good

Wakau eh biggest joke of the month. Engraving also can fake. Wahahaha. Too brand conscious la this society.

Speak for yourself.

Alain Mikli isn't branded eh?

So buy branded frames is ok, but not branded lenses?

Anyway people's money, why do you care or criticize?

dominicwor2

Is yours progressive or RX range?

Other than the card, did you get the cleaning kit too? :crazy:

Seannie

Speak for yourself.

Alain Mikli isn't branded eh?

So buy branded frames is ok, but not branded lenses?

Anyway people's money, why do you care or criticize?

another one of those proud banker guy. Die die must insist on zeiss card then happie. Other things can dont matter. Haha so ironic. Like i said, branded lenses worn on yur face nobody could tell & differentiate, much less your ownself.
Alan mikli different wor, designed by philip starck unique hinge design & quality, most important the pair i came across fits my head like a sock. And people can tell yur frame is good quality or normal by one look. Branded lenses dont give you any extra comfort & kick other than its branding.

I cant tolerate ple who are so ngau & full of themselves die die dont see engraving must complain kick up such a huge fuss & insist in replacing the whole lens just for a few hunddred dollars & the shop probably dont earn a cent from this kind of customer, consider themselves unlucky.

Scared fake then dont buy branded lor. Simple as that.

No fuss. No headaches. No sleepless nights. Or keep thinking whether shop give u real or con yur $.

Cant afford to be even conned then dont choose branded lenses lar. Then shop wont have any chance to shortchange u. I think people nowadays study too much already lar until everyting must go by the book & the cert. If dont see the authenticity card/cert & the logo engravement on the lenses then sibeh buay gam buan, alot doubts appear in their minds, start to hallucinate and think ple con their few hundred dollars hard-earned $$$$$$. Hahahahahar, what a joke this society turned out to be.

Seannie

Progressive RX ZEISS lenses damn expensive wor. Over $2k for the lenses. U are one rich guy bro. At most now i can only afford a few hundred dollars for umbranded lenses nia.

Tellme pay over $2k just for lenses no go for me. Maybe i havent made it to the riches list yet bah.

Oops sorrie probably those forummers in here toking abt zeiss lenses all lich lich already. Sorry!!!!

Seannie

Naive lar. If u really want to insist u should insist on engraving rather than the card la bro. Card can anytime take from supplier & have your details printed on them. Engraving how to fake?!?!?

Wahahahaha. Smart alec sia.

Seannie

Engraving how to fake?!?!?

Okokok maybe fake engraving can be done. But please lor which goondoo lens supplier manufacturer aka lens conmen will go to the extent of faking logo which needs high fake technology expenditure to process???

U think china factories can do that meh? Wahahaha.

Carnage

Chill bro =) we don't need people to know what lens we using =)
No problem.

Just pot calling kettle black. I can accept that. Since it's not the first time he's been doing it. Always telling people how to spend their money. ;)

To me, it's a matter of principal. The card proves the authenticity, the engraving isn't always there. My optician mentioned that, but it just so happens mine has it.

I'm enjoying my carl zeiss, vision is clearer for longer periods. Just that the anti glare coating doesn't seem to work for me, I still can't stand staring at the computer screen for more 2hours continuously.

Carnage

No cleaning kit, just card alone.

Non-progressive, I'm not sure which range is it. I did my lenses in JB. It's cheaper there than Singapore.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.