Its kinda hard to ask an optician to show me lensmeter. Paiseh becos its like doubting him then in the first place why patronise u knoe wat i mean? But i suspect most have errors like at least 2-5 off. So i guess i just have to live with the margins of error and see blurer lor. If i request them to replace lens for me they will also lose profits and do unwillingly right? Forget it lar. Really disappointed in optical industry already. Give up. Like u said maybe ang moh places are better like australia provide better and more honest services i guess.
Can request to see
lah, if you ask nicely. From time to time we do have curious customers so I would think a decent shop will be glad to show you more stuff and explain a little (as long as you don't demand a comprehensive tour of the premises when they are busy

).
Don't recall saying ang moh places are better, but anyway I think it's just the difference in culture.
In
ang moh land, patients come in by appointments so more time can be spent on each person, and patients also tend to be more friendly and open in sharing their visual needs and how the previous pair of spectacles weren't too good, if they have any diseases or taking medications that their doctor told them could affect their vision, etc.
All these adds up to the entire eye care experience, and many times makes it easier to dispense spectacles and suggest the right products.
For instance if the staff knows you're particularly sensitive to power and axis variations, they can actually try to make it as accurate as possible (especially if you are duplicating the power from a previous pair of spectacles), and they can recommend a more sturdy frame that will sit more firmly on the face, with a rim shape that would not allow the lens to rotate, and so on.
Like Japan, the optical retail culture in Singapore is more of a staff VS customer / customer-is-always-bigger attitude, which focuses more on the products than the experience, which is why Owndays is such a big hit here (as J!NS eyewear is over in Japan). In
ang moh land you go back to the same practice year after year, and patients come back to say their last goodbyes (when they sadly contract a terminal illness...). Two different worlds.
In Singapore, some customers don't like the extra talk, and prefer to keep to themselves unless asked. And some even get pissed off when the refractionist asks for more details.
I have heard of cases where patients go to multiple shops to get prescriptions and then demand for explanations when there are differences. It's like asking why one piece of bread is more brown than the other piece.
In
ang moh land people are more trusting. And happier too. Even with their irritatingly reflective uncoated lenses.