The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

as much as i want to believe you , you ARE the guy who managed to buy "osa" lenses , or someone managed to sell osa lenses to you
so ........ :s22::s22::s22:

until now i still wonder if you actually exists or you're another guy in the optical trade trolling here

U are too deep. Sometimes really dont know what u are mumbling about. How can i be in optical trade when there are so many things i dont know. :s22: U making me confused. How does OSA lenses have to do with incorrigible optical staff? I think my brain is level below u. Your words too complex for my understanding. You dont tok straight. U like to make turns and corners.

oldbreadstinks

Yur replies are too vague so when i shot you for elaborations you say i no common sense. I think i really cant communicate with you. Better stop le. Dont reply to any more of my posts u will only add on to my agitation. Just reply to other ple will do. BUT PLS BE MORE PRECISE in your replies to ple. I guess most dont understand wat u saying & have no clues to yur replies. Their questions get unanswered. You just keep running in circles make ple confused. Ask wat lens gd donwan say specifically. Ple ask wat jap brand gd u gave vague answer like u dunnoe no comments cos u not familiar. To you jap brands dont sell thats why.
wah that's your comprehension issue already :s13: why push to me
i have never changed the name of the brand i supported from the moment I was asked
but because I support doesn't mean it's the best , I've given reasons as to why I support , not just blindly say it's the best

but your reasoning is i must bad mouth other bands to prove I think what I support is good
as long as i don't bad mouth others you say not precise, not clear cut

I do not believe it is up to me to colour the eyes of those who want to buy anything
yes maybe you liked hoya previously , i didn't agree but I still will recommend it for those who need scratch resistance, notice I still said it's an option despite my recommended brand not being hoya? but you die die must say hoya is the best

you want an absolute answer, but i'm not a salesman pushing a product.

people ask what jap brand good ....... dunno also got crime? :s22:

but my comment quite clear on quality , as long as it's really made in japan , the qualities mentioned are better

IF it's made in Japan that is

as for which brand .... I think he should look for something to fit the shape of his head/face first before thinking of a specific brand , recommend dun , scaly narrow head , intro varj , scarly east asian features
...... you think i'm recommending running shoes ah? say adidas good and ask him go adidas boutique? :s13:

Who say soap will hurt lens? I telling u my face oozes oil every min. After eat char kway teow worse whole nose dripping with oil. Where got hard to reach areas? U think cleaning teeth meh? Don make me luff.
i've seen coatings come off from misuse of soap/detergent
eating greasy foods don't make your face ooze oil ( go check it up

if your face ooze oil after char kway teow you need to see a doctor something is wrong with your body already

ever noticed dirt gets stuck between the lenses and the frame?
nosepad holders? areas with screws?
screws aren't titanium

There is an old optician at tiong bahru there who told me vehemently that tissues will not scratch yur lens whereas cloth will. I learnt the theory from him. I agree with him becos he is one of the pioneers. Not sure if he retired alry or not or his children took over his shop.
there are two pioneers in that area :s13:
one of them recently told their customer, a lady around 50-60 years of age , " your nosepad screw drop liao , you need to change your frame because frame spoil liao "
she refused to tell me who because it's not good to bad mouth people.
hopefully that's not the pioneer's shop you mentioned
because one of them has kids who took over :s13:

and "I agree with him becos he is one of the pioneers."

got pg card more trustworthy?:s13:

nanyang boss also got pg card leh , same for capitol

there must be a conspiracy then :s13:all the optical shops giving out cloths instead of a pack of tissue . maybe to make the users change lenses more often
zeiss must be darn evil to give you a piece of microfiber cloth with every purchase :s13:

oldbreadstinks

ALREADY SAID edgers NOWADAYS CANNOT MAKE IT. most cant care. Sleeping on their job. No ethnic. No integrity liao. Redo 5 times customer confidence shattered. Just like mine. Confidence and heart all shattered by all the irresponsible optical people.

this one i have to admit , i suck at edging, :s13:
don't like to do it either . too much effort to do one and you don't get paid for it

but this has nothing to do with the customer, I just resend and warranty 5 times so customer wouldn't know :s13:

your issue is totally different , that's a personal issue nothing to do with me :D

oldbreadstinks

In ang moh land people are more trusting. And happier too. Even with their irritatingly reflective uncoated lenses. :s12:

if they're that trusting ...... we wouldn't have all those online sites springing up from them, to check on medication, prescription ....etc

I shipped multicoated glasses over to the US before , for a friend who's relatives never came to singapore before
and never worn multicoated lenses before either because cost differences is too big
it's not always about trust. apparently they're still on LD there in their area. not even VCD or DVD

like the recent hooha to the point the state decided to ban online testing . was it California?
if they had no issues with their opticians this online thing wouldn't have gained traction

oldbreadstinks

U are too deep. Sometimes really dont know what u are mumbling about. How can i be in optical trade when there are so many things i dont know. :s22: U making me confused. How does OSA lenses have to do with incorrigible optical staff? I think my brain is level below u. Your words too complex for my understanding. You dont tok straight. U like to make turns and corners.

i have never worked with anyone who sold "osa" lenses
i've however met walk in customers who attempted to ask about "osa" lenses
so it depends on which incorrigible optical staff is going about selling "osa lenses"
care to share?

logically the only reason you'll touch "osa lenses" isn't good :D
......generally not mentioned with dun/starck

how much did you pay for your "osa lens" ? :D

I'm an uneducated boor , a uncouth incorrigible optical staff
how can I compare to you? :D
I believe the words i've used so far are all simple

Seannie

if your face ooze oil after char kway teow you need to see a doctor something is wrong with your body already

screws aren't titanium

one of them recently told their customer, a lady around 50-60 years of age , " your nosepad screw drop liao , you need to change your frame because frame spoil liao "

there must be a conspiracy then :s13:all the optical shops giving out cloths instead of a pack of tissue . maybe to make the users change lenses more often
zeiss must be darn evil to give you a piece of microfiber cloth with every purchase :s13:

Ya after food consumption nose face definitely have alot more oils. I have to use gatsby facial tissues to wipe my nose ears to prevent specs from dropping down. But the alcohol content in the facial wipes is making my face v dry. Everyone sure secretes oil after food. And something must be wrong with my body and see doctor? I think u need to get yur biology facts right first.

And do u realise that STARCK plastic frames has no nosepads & no screws? Tats y i say starck is my only choice now. :s22:

yes, according to that pioneer, if i dont remember wrongly he might have hinted its a conspiracy. But anyway i have already gotten over the scratches physhological barrier. Becos honestly even if lenses get scratched your vision dont get as affected as much as deviations in axis/OC do. Lastime uncoated lens get scratched so easily and so nany scratches but life still good. In fact i rather coating is never invented so that there is no coating problems.

Seannie

OSA lenses half the price of branded lenses.

Still dont get what the old bread toking abt. Give up. Sleep better.

jervin88

ALREADY SAID edgers NOWADAYS CANNOT MAKE IT. most cant care. Sleeping on their job. No ethnic. No integrity liao. Redo 5 times customer confidence shattered. Just like mine. Confidence and heart all shattered by all the irresponsible optical people.

even during testing, the testing isnt already 100% accurate. the could have tested axis 100 instead of the exact 103 u need. in fact the range of the eyes astig has a range. the astig u need isnt just in one axis. one's eye can actually accept a range, even though 300 or not. you cannot blame the optician for not being a machine and 100% accurate. the reason you find overseas opticians more trustable is becos they are more recognised, they place more emphasis on eyehealth. its just a 'gimmick' in a good way. im not doubting their professionalism, but u gotta trust sg guys! have faith bro, there are mistakes that everyone inevitably makes such as axis off by a little. if you really feel uncomfortable with the newly dispensed spectacles, im sure they will make it right for you and change them for u! just ask!!

jervin88

wah that's your comprehension issue already :s13: why push to me
i have never changed the name of the brand i supported from the moment I was asked
but because I support doesn't mean it's the best , I've given reasons as to why I support , not just blindly say it's the best

but your reasoning is i must bad mouth other bands to prove I think what I support is good
as long as i don't bad mouth others you say not precise, not clear cut

I do not believe it is up to me to colour the eyes of those who want to buy anything
yes maybe you liked hoya previously , i didn't agree but I still will recommend it for those who need scratch resistance, notice I still said it's an option despite my recommended brand not being hoya? but you die die must say hoya is the best

you want an absolute answer, but i'm not a salesman pushing a product.

people ask what jap brand good ....... dunno also got crime? :s22:

but my comment quite clear on quality , as long as it's really made in japan , the qualities mentioned are better

IF it's made in Japan that is

as for which brand .... I think he should look for something to fit the shape of his head/face first before thinking of a specific brand , recommend dun , scaly narrow head , intro varj , scarly east asian features
...... you think i'm recommending running shoes ah? say adidas good and ask him go adidas boutique? :s13:

screws aren't titanium

misconception that old is always gold. not saying that they are wrong. but if you really want tissue, please at least use the good ones, not toilet paper ones. comparing tissue to microfibre cloth, tissue contains the pulp fibres which MIGHT dmg the lens. for microfibre the reason why he say will damage its because of accummulative usage over time which traps dirts and dusts. if we follow oldbreadstinks method by using a good cloth and not reusing too many times, i believe the problem will be solved. i never had a problem with my mircrofibre as well.
its true that pioneers have more experience, but there are also small little things we can learn from one another here! its time to open up to more ideas and not be stubborn about them.
change is constant! technology is getting better now!

oldbreadstinks

Ya after food consumption nose face definitely have alot more oils. I have to use gatsby facial tissues to wipe my nose ears to prevent specs from dropping down. But the alcohol content in the facial wipes is making my face v dry. Everyone sure secretes oil after food. And something must be wrong with my body and see doctor? I think u need to get yur biology facts right first.

And do u realise that STARCK plastic frames has no nosepads & no screws? Tats y i say starck is my only choice now. :s22:

yes, according to that pioneer, if i dont remember wrongly he might have hinted its a conspiracy. But anyway i have already gotten over the scratches physhological barrier. Becos honestly even if lenses get scratched your vision dont get as affected as much as deviations in axis/OC do. Lastime uncoated lens get scratched so easily and so nany scratches but life still good. In fact i rather coating is never invented so that there is no coating problems.
If it's food and oil. Try eating something cold and oily.
You'll noticed your face is "oozing " much less oil
That's my answer to your everybody sure ooze oil after eating
I'm used to eating indoors liao due to work and it noticeably cuts the oil secretions.

..... If alcohol swipes dry your face...... Then why still use them and produce more oil? :s22:

As for starck... Not a fan of gum
But I guess people who have issues with nosepads find it a godsend

Last time life good because the lenses offers poorer vision. Even after scratched it doesn't gets much worse
It's already worse than natural vision. Adds reflections to your vision. Even when dirty it adds to an already not perfect situation.

With the multicoat the lenses offers vision as if the lenses are not there. With a good frame you can actually forget you're wearing glasses (not for very high prescription)

If You hate coatings so much lol you can request for 1.67 uncoated. I don't know if there's 1.74 rx uncoated but there's definitely 1.67 uncoated (maybe from Osa :s13: most likely )
:s13: but with your penchant for coating clarity I cannot guarantee you can accept them

jervin88

uncoated lenses really makes it uncomfortable, lets not move into this topic HAHAHAH. there's a reason why multicoat is invented. sometimes when something isn't available, ppl complain and ask why. when its available, ppl complain its not good enough. technology improvement isn't fast enough to keep up with the pace of human desires

Seannie

misconception that old is always gold. not saying that they are wrong. but if you really want tissue, please at least use the good ones, not toilet paper ones. comparing tissue to microfibre cloth, tissue contains the pulp fibres which MIGHT dmg the lens. for microfibre the reason why he say will damage its because of accummulative usage over time which traps dirts and dusts. if we follow oldbreadstinks method by using a good cloth and not reusing too many times, i believe the problem will be solved. i never had a problem with my mircrofibre as well.
its true that pioneers have more experience, but there are also small little things we can learn from one another here! its time to open up to more ideas and not be stubborn about them.
change is constant! technology is getting better now!

U sure Old is Not Gold? Old comes with valuable experience that monies cant buy and cut short our painful journey.

Kleenex tissues eh sai boh? Best i can find liao. Ultrasoft special 100% virgin fibers. Ultimate in cottony softness and vrlvety smoothness.

Yea thats what pioneer said, keep reusing the cloth will trap dirt particles which you cant see. Then use how many times throw the microfiber cloth? So wasteful!!!!

kaikoura

if they're that trusting ...... we wouldn't have all those online sites springing up from them, to check on medication, prescription ....etc

I shipped multicoated glasses over to the US before , for a friend who's relatives never came to singapore before
and never worn multicoated lenses before either because cost differences is too big
it's not always about trust. apparently they're still on LD there in their area. not even VCD or DVD

like the recent hooha to the point the state decided to ban online testing . was it California?
if they had no issues with their opticians this online thing wouldn't have gained traction

Well, Singapore has MIMS. But if they are still in the LD era then maybe they wouldn't be checking out the online sites very much - when such a site pops up it could be just another person who wants to exercise his free right of speech. Like how there are quite a few anti-LASIK sites around.

If you can take your own sweet time to complete a task with eyes half closed, no need for the multicoating. If you have to stare at the computer and documents all day then of course. Typical office worker life in Singapore. And ironically, people want UV coating on lenses in Singapore yet don't put on sunscreen. :s22:

No Sim Lim Square in ang moh land, but not an issue getting the latest phone models, just more expensive. Or maybe we are talking about different countries to begin with.

When people go online to get their stuff, it can be for many reasons, not just the opticians having issues. If I can buy contact lenses online in Singapore, that means the shops in Singapore are having issues?

As work-life balance is a big issue in much of the ang moh land, some practices close at 4pm and do not open over the weekends. Thus, some consumers choose to order online for convenience.

kaikoura

Glasses in Vietnam are cheaper than they are in Singapore. :)

kaikoura

even during testing, the testing isnt already 100% accurate. the could have tested axis 100 instead of the exact 103 u need. in fact the range of the eyes astig has a range. the astig u need isnt just in one axis. one's eye can actually accept a range, even though 300 or not. you cannot blame the optician for not being a machine and 100% accurate. the reason you find overseas opticians more trustable is becos they are more recognised, they place more emphasis on eyehealth. its just a 'gimmick' in a good way. im not doubting their professionalism, but u gotta trust sg guys! have faith bro, there are mistakes that everyone inevitably makes such as axis off by a little. if you really feel uncomfortable with the newly dispensed spectacles, im sure they will make it right for you and change them for u! just ask!!

I agree with the last statement. If there's a pair of glasses that cannot be worn, just go back and tell them nicely instead of sitting there seething with anger. ;) No decent optician would intentionally do a pair of glasses that do not work. But refraction can be much of an art as it is a science. There are many variables to consider, some of which are obscured from the refractionist (e.g. patient has a history of prescriptions that he feels uncomfortable with but does not want to tell the refractionist for fear that the final power dispensed is adjusted so it is 'wrong').

With regards to the local scene, I feel there needs to be more accountability. When something goes wrong, sort it out accordingly and record it down so everyone in the practice can learn from it. Not every customer with a problem needs to "get used to the new power". Practitioners have to take pride in their work.

That being said, in general the situation does not appear to be "2 out of a 100 can be trusted" as a fellow forummer mentioned in an earlier post. In fact I think the industry has improved tremendously over the past several years. But we should always seek to improve, right? :)

oldbreadstinks

U sure Old is Not Gold? Old comes with valuable experience that monies cant buy and cut short our painful journey.
which is also why ’Generals always fight the last war”

Kleenex tissues eh sai boh? Best i can find liao. Ultrasoft special 100% virgin fibers. Ultimate in cottony softness and vrlvety smoothness.

Yea thats what pioneer said, keep reusing the cloth will trap dirt particles which you cant see. Then use how many times throw the microfiber cloth? So wasteful!!!!
it's a cloth , you can always recycle it as a rag , i use used microfiber as polishing cloths sometimes, especially for shoes
even lenses when customers are worried machine polished is too shiny
as mentioned , you save resources and money by not reusing
buying cloth and throwing away isn't that different from tissue

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.