The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

oldbreadstinks

That's what I'm trying to say. But assumption of helping with macular degeneration isn't really very ethical. More ethical way would be advicing on health changes like quitting smoking and alcohol. Diet changes etc. Blue tints have also been shown not to reduce the progression of amd. So I still don't really advice my patients to use them.

lol i don't really advice people generally unless they ask . if they ask about a particular product, i'll introduce from A-Z and let them make a choice .

i can guess your responsibilities in the shop with this statement liao
can even guess you're quite young

i mentioned to seannie before, in singapore , anyone who talks about "professionalism" usually means 2 things

1- laopeh rich/family well off

or

2- not much responsibilities for the shop you work in

very rare to fall outside these 2.

like the "emi" question. i'll just present 2 sides of the argument and let the customer decide .

most of the questions people ask, will not lead to affirmative action . they don't want your advice unless they're getting the answer they're looking for

can't count the number of times i've explained clearly only to get shoot
"just point and tell me which one better can liao , don't talk so much"
:s22:

most can't explain what's 100%uv or why it's written as uv400 on the lenses.... and you want to talk about blue light?:s13:

warhunter

lol i don't really advice people generally unless they ask . if they ask about a particular product, i'll introduce from A-Z and let them make a choice .

i can guess your responsibilities in the shop with this statement liao
can even guess you're quite young

i mentioned to seannie before, in singapore , anyone who talks about "professionalism" usually means 2 things

1- laopeh rich/family well off

or

2- not much responsibilities for the shop you work in

very rare to fall outside these 2.

like the "emi" question. i'll just present 2 sides of the argument and let the customer decide .

most of the questions people ask, will not lead to affirmative action . they don't want your advice unless they're getting the answer they're looking for

can't count the number of times i've explained clearly only to get shoot
"just point and tell me which one better can liao , don't talk so much"
:s22:

most can't explain what's 100%uv or why it's written as uv400 on the lenses.... and you want to talk about blue light?:s13:

The place I work in max 1 customer a day so Bo bian have to do all right way. And only working part time. Moving to aus when I graduate from my masters. No future/prospects to stay here

oldbreadstinks

Yea its not a new material. Its a new coat. Zeiss charge like 60$ rrp for us leh. U don't have? Like that I go ask agent why

Most likely their optics ba. I've tried Nikon lens (older gen coating) and zeiss (lotutec) . IMO a lot clearer than essilor and hoya lenses I've worn

of the 3 labs, it's undeniable hoya has great lenses but their direction is different, i will always recommend them for the correct customer, there isn't a one size fits all

new nikon lenses are great just that they're a premium brand and not meat for the majority of the customers

essilor's an ok brand, what's great is their lab has one of the best servicing , not that they don't screw up but they have a great supply chain
they have speciality lenses, i cannot handle the lack of a clean coat
but i've sold optic fog to consumers before , because it's needed for work , not as a gimmick where your lenses don't fog when you step out of a bus/mrt

it's really mismatch of lenses and wearer

when customers want a butter knife, the optician sold them a chopper

backsurface uv coat is logically sound . you don't really know if it works and prevents cataract until years down the road , same for blue control
but blue control is really more about giving people assurances when they continue slaving over their cell phones

you've gone through uni , and should know what placebos are
even if it doesn't have the effect the wearer thinks the lenses have, it might give similar results .

as for transitions , it's proven to generally work the best compared to other unknown brands, photofusion matches up of course but when you're sold an unnamed brand for the same price wouldn't you want a transitions instead?
we have photochromic lense in an envelope that says "grey"
but i used to sell it as "brown"
if you have old folks working with you they'll know what this is

warhunter

of the 3 labs, it's undeniable hoya has great lenses but their direction is different, i will always recommend them for the correct customer, there isn't a one size fits all

new nikon lenses are great just that they're a premium brand and not meat for the majority of the customers

essilor's an ok brand, what's great is their lab has one of the best servicing , not that they don't screw up but they have a great supply chain
they have speciality lenses, i cannot handle the lack of a clean coat
but i've sold optic fog to consumers before , because it's needed for work , not as a gimmick where your lenses don't fog when you step out of a bus/mrt

it's really mismatch of lenses and wearer

when customers want a butter knife, the optician sold them a chopper

backsurface uv coat is logically sound . you don't really know if it works and prevents cataract until years down the road , same for blue control
but blue control is really more about giving people assurances when they continue slaving over their cell phones

you've gone through uni , and should know what placebos are
even if it doesn't have the effect the wearer thinks the lenses have, it might give similar results .

as for transitions , it's proven to generally work the best compared to other unknown brands, photofusion matches up of course but when you're sold an unnamed brand for the same price wouldn't you want a transitions instead?
we have photochromic lense in an envelope that says "grey"
but i used to sell it as "brown"
if you have old folks working with you they'll know what this is

My place gave up using essilor. Spoiled a few of our frames. Still oweing us a bit in credit.

We mainly use zeiss lenses. Really depends on area u r at. If people come in not much cash. If got cheaper alternative with same function of cos we give them the cheaper alternative.

Just like panadol you can get cheper alternatives but end up works the same.

Just saying the functions are the same. If you have been to Australia, you will know. Their range of essilor lenses not as many as singapore. And you really believe they are different? IMO, its just the same lenses but different marketing. They even have optical shop rebranding essilor lenses to their house brand.

oldbreadstinks

The place I work in max 1 customer a day so Bo bian have to do all right way. And only working part time. Moving to aus when I graduate from my masters. No future/prospects to stay here

self sexposed lol:s13::s22:

small trade

you should tone down on certain aspects

i see at least 3-4 visible regulars here who are insiders i don't know
my friends read this thread often too
you wouldn't know whether you'll end up in australia .
giving info for comparision is ok , outright condemning people you might be working with face to face would be embarassing one day

no future/prospects really depends on your outlook
what you want in life, what you want to do to achieve it

the prospects are always good here but what you want and the prospects may not meet

I know one optom ... opened a chain, drive BMW , go around **** **** **** his juniors all over the island, anytime he opens the door to his car a different girl would be dying to hop in , he thinks his prospects is darn good
and he' still young
(his clasmates I know personally mostly are not working in retail, mostly in directly related fields )
one of his juniors talk about prospects, life, meaning, worklife balance
her problem is it's a wrong trade for her , she can't speak out and loudly can't speak properly, but choose to work in retail :s22:
total mismatch

so what do you want in life?

warhunter

self sexposed lol:s13::s22:

small trade

you should tone down on certain aspects

i see at least 3-4 visible regulars here who are insiders i don't know
my friends read this thread often too
you wouldn't know whether you'll end up in australia .
giving info for comparision is ok , outright condemning people you might be working with face to face would be embarassing one day

no future/prospects really depends on your outlook
what you want in life, what you want to do to achieve it

the prospects are always good here but what you want and the prospects may not meet

I know one optom ... opened a chain, drive BMW , go around **** **** **** his juniors all over the island, anytime he opens the door to his car a different girl would be dying to hop in , he thinks his prospects is darn good
and he' still young
(his clasmates I know personally mostly are not working in retail, mostly in directly related fields )
one of his juniors talk about prospects, life, meaning, worklife balance
her problem is it's a wrong trade for her , she can't speak out and loudly can't speak properly, but choose to work in retail :s22:
total mismatch

so what do you want in life?

Everyone got what they want in life. One mans meat is another mans poison. I'm stating facts and not condemning anyone. Its up to the readers to believe what they want to believe. People should have a chance in knowing the truths or even half truths.

Prospects do not have to be weighed in monetary terms. Job satisfaction, job scope, work culture, can all be part of prospects.

oldbreadstinks

My place gave up using essilor. Spoiled a few of our frames. Still oweing us a bit in credit.

We mainly use zeiss lenses. Really depends on area u r at. If people come in not much cash. If got cheaper alternative with same function of cos we give them the cheaper alternative.

Just like panadol you can get cheper alternatives but end up works the same.

Just saying the functions are the same. If you have been to Australia, you will know. Their range of essilor lenses not as many as singapore. And you really believe they are different? IMO, its just the same lenses but different marketing. They even have optical shop rebranding essilor lenses to their house brand.

different lah, probably not big user in the first place
if big user , when opening a new shop there's collaboration
all these things concerns the business aspects .

i mostly use zeiss lah . at least things go wrong no funny excuse

the dynamics are different in australia
the amount of opticians/optometrists to customers is not as competitive
they will turn away customers without an appointment even if there's no business that day
as opposed to local businesses insisting on the first person entering must pay something

i can only suggest you take up a working holiday for a couple of years in australia
i couldn't stand the place after 3 weeks during NS , much less the rest of my life ( my thinking is more traditional )
you are raising a lot of points from the position of a staff on right/wrong issues despite having to do the "correct thing" because of reality here

and i have no idea what the situation is like there for singaporeans to go over . it's best to experienced life for a while there to make a decision before totally uprooting
reality there may be somewhat similar in big cities

warhunter

Hah not sure about u condemning essilor. Everyone has their days I guess. No company is 100%. Not sure what oldbreadstinks has to think about this?

Sent from Samsung GT-N7105 using GAGT

I don't think sharing past encounters count as condemning. Just like what u said. Nothing is 100%. If you have your own good/bad encounters you can also share them. Thats exactly what a forum is for. Open discussions.

warhunter

different lah, probably not big user in the first place
if big user , when opening a new shop there's collaboration
all these things concerns the business aspects .

i mostly use zeiss lah . at least things go wrong no funny excuse

the dynamics are different in australia
the amount of opticians/optometrists to customers is not as competitive
they will turn away customers without an appointment even if there's no business that day
as opposed to local businesses insisting on the first person entering must pay something

i can only suggest you take up a working holiday for a couple of years in australia
i couldn't stand the place after 3 weeks during NS , much less the rest of my life ( my thinking is more traditional )
you are raising a lot of points from the position of a staff on right/wrong issues despite having to do the "correct thing" because of reality here

and i have no idea what the situation is like there for singaporeans to go over . it's best to experienced life for a while there to make a decision before totally uprooting
reality there may be somewhat similar in big cities

Probably I'm unlike u. Again. One mans meat is another mans poison. I've been living there for quite a fair amount of time. Its where I would rather be. Even when salary wise is almost on par.

oldbreadstinks

Probably I'm unlike u. Again. One mans meat is another mans poison. I've been living there for quite a fair amount of time. Its where I would rather be. Even when salary wise is almost on par.

i freak out the first time somone said "hi good morning how are you!"

decided i can never stay there , culturally not very compatible

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.