The Spectacles Thread.

diatomics

I saw a nice pair of specs that suit me in bugis that cost 90 bucks. It's brandless and made in china so I never bought it. Anybody knows anywhere to buy these glasses that dun cost that much?

d3n

i just made a swiss flex with lens (my eye sight 800+, astig 225 for both eyes) for $520 a few weeks back at Optics Today at queensway. Ex or not?

i ask what lens they using... they tell me is a 1.67 ILT brand... :o

EmPtYsOuLz

I went to quite a few optical shops to try frames and get quotes for lenses, and was quite surprised to find the price of Essilor lenses varying by so much shop to shop. At all the shops, I asked for Essilor/Hoya (only a few carry Hoya lenses) 1.67 lenses with multi-coating, and these are the outright quotes I got without bargaining.

Queensway shop A: Essilor $120, Hoya $160, and salesperson recommended Hoya over Essilor, saying it's clearer.
Queensway shop B: Essilor $280
Queensway shop C: Hoya $150
Queensway shop D: Essilor $180

Katong shop: Essilor $140, Hoya around the same; didn't give me the exact price because the salesperson said Essilor is better as it has better coating.

Suntec megashop A: Essilor $280 before 20% discount
Suntec shop B: Essilor ~$230 (can't recall whether it's $228 or $238), Hoya $300+, and said there's not much difference between Essilor and Hoya.

Marina Square shop: Essilor $328 before 10% discount (!!!)

Would appreciate if anyone can advise on the following:

1) Are there different qualities of coating on the Essilor lenses which account for the price discrepancy?! Or some other lens feature which jacks up the price?! I expect the megashops/chain stores to be more expensive, but a difference of up to $175, if for the exact same lens, is crazy.

2) How's the quality of Essilor lenses compared to Hoya? I'm wondering if the Queensway shop A is pushing for Hoya only because it's more expensive.

3) Anyone tried Optical 88's in-house lens (I think it's called Deluxe) before? How's the quality? They are having a promotion whereby there's 38% off the first pair of frames and 48% off the next, pay full price for the first lens and get the lens for the second pair free, but the lens is their in-house lens brand. I'm considering this promo because I like a frame for which they're the sole distributor here, but I'm wary about the quality of their in-house lens.

wow hobbies thanks for the information
i only have 1 question....the pricing u stated is for myopia only right?
anyone has any idea how adding astig would affect the choice of lens/price? i only know its going to be more exp

and also the prices seem to differ quite a lot...could it be the shops with cheaper lens
mark up the prices of frames?

Carnage

I would take Hoya over Essilor anyday. Hoya costs lesser and provides the same thing as Essilor.

Only reason why they recomment Essilor is because they get a bigger commission.

Spartanz.

hey ppl if my budget is 500-600

can i get a decent oakley frame with normal lense of ~ 500-600 degree?

osirisis

would be good if there a standard pricing for all these myopia lens.. later kana chop carrot still thought a bargain.

buggerbuggerbrinjal

Oh crap, I just ordered a pair of specs with transition lenses...think I kena chopped...from HDB shop some more...

Zeiss transition lens (1.6), quoted $650!!! After discount about $555.

And I think the Essilor transition lens (1.67 RX) was quoted at something like $690! After discount would be $600. Supposedly latest version of the lens.

My power is high, highest ~675 and ~325 astig.

I bought the Zeiss lens because it's supposedly clearer...$815 total damage (including Armani frame, $260). Did I get ripped off? Should have checked this forum first :(

EmPtYsOuLz

just went to the optical shop i used to go
bought 6+1 pairs of biomedic for 105 (1 side astig+myopia 1 side myopia only)

tried the tag heuer 310x and 710x
got quoted 580 for 310x and 660 for 710x

i asked for the lens brand but they didn't tell me...
can top up $50 for a scratch resistant lens
pricing not bad right....quite tempted but i'm broke for this month

but dunnoe if worth it anot
paying so much for a flameless frame

h0bbes

wow hobbies thanks for the information
i only have 1 question....the pricing u stated is for myopia only right?
anyone has any idea how adding astig would affect the choice of lens/price? i only know its going to be more exp

Yup, only for myopia. I have mild astig so I didn't ask about the lens price for high astig.

warhunter

Oh crap, I just ordered a pair of specs with transition lenses...think I kena chopped...from HDB shop some more...

And I think the Essilor transition lens (1.67 RX) was quoted at something like $690! After discount would be $600. Supposedly latest version of the lens.

I bought the Zeiss lens because it's supposedly clearer...$815 total damage (including Armani frame, $260). Did I get ripped off? Should have checked this forum first :(

lol get zeiss for wad? got authenticity card? normal human eyes wont see the "supposedly clearer vision" la LOL. waste money

xialankia

my lens was crizal like buay pai quite clear also... sounds quite tok to me thou astig and higher degree should be more exp
I kena tok before also by some shop at bedok the levis spec 300+ with normal lens, the lens now scratch like fuk after 6months

osirisis

my lens was crizal like buay pai quite clear also... sounds quite tok to me thou astig and higher degree should be more exp
I kena tok before also by some shop at bedok the levis spec 300+ with normal lens, the lens now scratch like fuk after 6months

spectacles shop are such profitable biz, i counted my HDB homeland area with 10 over shops within a space of each other :s22:

EmPtYsOuLz

Yup, only for myopia. I have mild astig so I didn't ask about the lens price for high astig.

hmm i asked for the price $100 is inclusive of astig..that's y i'm wondering why so cheap
think i'll hold off this mega hoot for the time being

buggerbuggerbrinjal

lol get zeiss for wad? got authenticity card? normal human eyes wont see the "supposedly clearer vision" la LOL. waste money
I believed the lady lor...if can be clearer, then I dun mind paying the extra 90 bucks assuming it's spread over 4 years of use. But if they had listed lower prices for the Essilor lens then I would have chosen that instead.

Still feel cheated. Think I'll go back to ask why the prices are so high. But I dunno how much other shops will charge for Essilor 1.6/1.67 lenses for high degree. Anyone know?

I saw crizal lenses on the list also, looked quite expensive but I dun remember the exact prices. Sigh.

warhunter

I believed the lady lor...if can be clearer, then I dun mind paying the extra 90 bucks assuming it's spread over 4 years of use. But if they had listed lower prices for the Essilor lens then I would have chosen that instead.

Still feel cheated. Think I'll go back to ask why the prices are so high. But I dunno how much other shops will charge for Essilor 1.6/1.67 lenses for high degree. Anyone know?

I saw crizal lenses on the list also, looked quite expensive but I dun remember the exact prices. Sigh.

u got authenticity card not? Zeiss have de leh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.