The Spectacles Thread.

whatme

Yea somehow i think its very expensive hoot you got..I dont see a need for a expensive lens unless your degree is high and need high index and better coating.(not being sourgrape.) From what i think, it's very standard thing, Either a few feature only, the rest are just "extra saying"...

Ysatis

LOL.. this thread still being the "The Tag Heuer Spectacle Thread" always.. most of the forumer using this brand only?

Did you guys anyone own a airwear lens from Essilor? It's very good man. better than normal polycarbonate, i have tried using a chair to sit on the lens, it wont crack, just scratches.. =D somemore shockproof:s13:

actually i wanted to aim alain mikli but too expensive liao. so tag is my second choice lor. if got enough money i confirm hoot alain mikli. wait till i start working first ba. now my tag is paid by my mother :o

whatme

Hahaha.. Finally! next hoot is Alain Mikli for you? That's so good of your mother to pay for you.. my parent doesnt allow me to get high end frames.. my father is optician, so he said, bo hua actually.. so i only make those mid range of spec.. made a few.. still cant suit my face shape.. currently waiting for my new frame to come in.. its call Hammer, a brand from Hongkong.. if you know who is Huang Zhong Ze.. his the ambassador for that band...

What i found that.. during my worktime with my dad, alot of customer find anything above 200 for a frame is so expensive already.. you guys spend more than 500dollar for a frame.. hahahah~

Ysatis

Hahaha.. Finally! next hoot is Alain Mikli for you? That's so good of your mother to pay for you.. my parent doesnt allow me to get high end frames.. my father is optician, so he said, bo hua actually.. so i only make those mid range of spec.. made a few.. still cant suit my face shape.. currently waiting for my new frame to come in.. its call Hammer, a brand from Hongkong.. if you know who is Huang Zhong Ze.. his the ambassador for that band...

What i found that.. during my worktime with my dad, alot of customer find anything above 200 for a frame is so expensive already.. you guys spend more than 500dollar for a frame.. hahahah~

each frame that i bought last for 3-4 years so why dont get an expensive 1 ? rather than getting $200 and last for a year

fevernova

nice how much is the frame?

does ur frame 'glide off' ur face often due to the weight??

Frame is about $600+

Terribly overpriced.

Paris Miki is known for very exp lenses and steep pricing for their frames.

I don't know but we've been a long time customer (as in my family) and over the years have purchased more than 30 spectacles from them. Service is great and quality is awesome so is the after service.

For the lens, I needed something really tough and hardy and Orgatech by Seiko offers high temperature durability and a much higher level of scratch proofness....

Yea somehow i think its very expensive hoot you got..I dont see a need for a expensive lens unless your degree is high and need high index and better coating.(not being sourgrape.) From what i think, it's very standard thing, Either a few feature only, the rest are just "extra saying"...

My degree is around 300+ for both left and right so its moderate but I do need the better coating. The current coating on my Ridoh specs is wearing off really badly since I trashed them around quite abit....

fevernova

I think expensive frames, depending from maker to maker, sometimes can be a life saver.....My old pair of Ridoh (currently replaced by my Paul Smith geeky specs) is a full titanium one and it took a LINE DRIVE softball right in the face.

If not for the strong frame and lens, I'll probably have lost my right eye... Had a hairline fracture on my right eye socket as a result of the incident last year...

Of course, the lens popped out of the sockets but I fixed it back and the frame held on to its shape. So much for paying $600 on a titanium frame...:s22: Not a wee bit of bend or deformation...

whatme

Oh Then this it the right way you should buy the better range of spectaacle and lens! But why you dont want to try airwear lens by essilor? they are also the tough of among the range...

For me, i usually change my spectacle every year or half a year as i get sick of the design.. normally my spectacle not damage at all...

By the way... for people with multi coated lens or expensive lens you have there.. there's a tip there you should not do which is using soap to rinse your lens, it will made coating all fade and peels out.. as well as do not use tissue paper to wipe your lens, tissue paper is harsh for the lens :s13: , can cause scratches.. so dont go to your optical store and complain if you did that.. hahaha=:p.

fevernova

Oh Then this it the right way you should buy the better range of spectaacle and lens! But why you dont want to try airwear lens by essilor? they are also the tough of among the range...

For me, i usually change my spectacle every year or half a year as i get sick of the design.. normally my spectacle not damage at all...

By the way... for people with multi coated lens or expensive lens you have there.. there's a tip there you should not do which is using soap to rinse your lens, it will made coating all fade and peels out.. as well as do not use tissue paper to wipe your lens, tissue paper is harsh for the lens :s13: , can cause scratches.. so dont go to your optical store and complain if you did that.. hahaha=:p.

Haha, I usually go for designs I like instead. Don't bother about toughness. Just so happen that the Ridoh is really tough! :s13: Anyway, I've kinda relegated my order pair for sports and the newer pair for normal wear...

whatme

Post picture your spectacle collect leh..i want see~ haha! After my spectacles is ready, i will post mine too XD.. mine's lens either is havent arrive or arrived but have not process to cut.. :D

Same answer with you too. I look for design but not brand or toughness it is, as long the lens shapes and the spectacle size suits me, i will grab it:s13: , how long does your new spec arrive? 5 working days?

whatme

I can say that my parent's shop are located usually on the neighborhood site, so you will know that its already on a affordable price already..We dont mark up price sky high as shopping mall's shop :D

Branded frames like tag heuer or paul smith, my parent's shop doesnt carry..because our customer usually are from neighbourhood resident that look for affordable frame and sometimes customer looking for high end occasionally only. But SwissFlex and other brands (i forgot because i seldom work in the main outlet) do carry in main outlet... :s13: i tried the AirFlex (swissflex's imitation) at my uncle's optical shop today. About the same lightness and quality..but cheaper than the real one... =P

Juanie

wah ur father open optical shop means u can chiong all the frames in the shop at will..

song dah!!!

whatme

I dont dare chiong.. so far i made about 5 spectacle in my life only..kena my dad scold why i keep change frame. LOL i dont want to take those expensive brand also.. My parent have to absorb the loss of the frames le..

But so far.. i have tried up to transition lens only... the Hammer spectacle that i am waiting for is with Hizar lens.. It is more smooth and anti static.. so water droplet will drip over instead of staying on the lens till it dried up.. :D

whatme

Yup can ah.. infact. all of the optical shop mostly do that service too..:s13:

My spec arrived yesterday night... :s13: still need to do alot of adjustment as my forehead kinda big. lol~

Then today while in my dad shop i took photo of my spec..

SNC00100.jpg

SNC00096.jpg

macmania

hi guys, which optical shops carry a good selection of emporio armani and ray ban prescription glasses?

thanks...

Ysatis

Post picture your spectacle collect leh..i want see~ haha! After my spectacles is ready, i will post mine too XD.. mine's lens either is havent arrive or arrived but have not process to cut.. :D

Same answer with you too. I look for design but not brand or toughness it is, as long the lens shapes and the spectacle size suits me, i will grab it:s13: , how long does your new spec arrive? 5 working days?

tomorrow i will call see if it is ready. i also very eager to wear my new specs :D

noinimod

nice how much is the frame?

does ur frame 'glide off' ur face often due to the weight??
For most asians without much of a nose bridge, the frames in that geeky style will definitely have a tendency to slide off, heavy or not. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.