The Spectacles Thread.

cardin

Can I ask about Sunglasses here? i am planning to invest in one, with degrees like 75/125 for long term use under sports activity, anyone recommendation?
still in the researching phase, budget to be around 300-400, hope it can last 3-4 years.

Panerex

sft coating is very easily recognisable from its special color tone that differentiates itself from other coatings (if you see carefully enough).

So, in fact, you dont even need to have the card to prove the authenticity. It already shows itself, which is a better proof than a card which can be faked. But the coating appearance of sft caanot be faked.
Thanks

So how would the sft coating feels like ?

Auspicium Melioris Aevi

Hi to all the regulars in this thread.
Been reading up on this thread since 1-2 days back and would like to seek some input and also advice from you.

4. I am most like having 300-400 degrees on each eye with astig as well on both. I believe, 1.6 hi index lens would be good enough for me? On the order of brands (please correct my assumption) it should be

1. Zeiss
2. Nikon
3. Hoya
4. Essilor

In ranking of price, from most expensive to cheapest and can I say the same as well for quality? Please correct my assumptions of they are misguided.

Thanks a lot for reading my lengthy post. Appreciate your kind advise.

1.6 should be good enuf cos the pr escalates for 1.67 ..

You are right abt the pr scale but pr do not equate quality.

Look at the lens comparison chart: Hoya has VG lens & if you compare similar lens quality with price, then I feel Hoya gives better value,
eg the starting price for Nikon & Zeiss is higher compared to Hoya.

xiaokaka

Hi to all the regulars in this thread.
Been reading up on this thread since 1-2 days back and would like to seek some input and also advice from you.

A little background about me.
Used to wear Oakley Square Wire 2.0, thought it was one of the best specs I bought. Was really happy with the purchase and enjoyed the warranty and services covered by Larrikin. Changed the frames a couple of times after warranty, from 80 till it was increased to 120.

Then moved to a brandless (I think) wooden looking one with normal lenses. Wore it for about 3-4 yrs till present day. Recently, I told myself I'll 'destroy' my eyes if I continue wearing this specs as the lenses are heavily scratched.

I only have a pair of specs and use it for any and every activity that I do.

Ok so now for the advice seeking part,
Should I get 2 pairs of specs?
1 for work and 1 for others? I remember doing this before and it was very unsuccessful, I gave up and used the new one.

2. Should I go back to Oakleys? The last I know, they have changed management. Luxotica is now managing them. No more changing of nose rubber and sleeves after 3rd yr of purchase. Also the prices are quite steep.

3. I am looking for light frames. I've seen brands like Tag, Swissflex, byWP, IC. Berlin, Oakley and Urband being thrown ard. Any other brands that are worth taking a look?

4. I am most like having 300-400 degrees on each eye with astig as well on both. I believe, 1.6 hi index lens would be good enough for me? On the order of brands (please correct my assumption) it should be

1. Zeiss
2. Nikon
3. Hoya
4. Essilor

In ranking of price, from most expensive to cheapest and can I say the same as well for quality? Please correct my assumptions of they are misguided.

5. I also a few names and shops being brought up on a regular basis such as Kwong Shin, Seng Li, Aldric (who has a shop in Thomson plaza). Are these guys the revered few who provide good service?

6. Lastly, it's all about the budget. My oakleys were bought from capitol optical @ Far east plaza about 7-8 yrs back, heck maybe even longer... And they cost me( my wife actually lol) about 380. And when I wanted to go back and buy them again before I got my current one. The cost is really difficult to swallow, which is why I am stuck with my current one.

I know to get a good pair of specs would not be going for a branded one specifically but having one that fits you. Prices may range from cheap to very expensive so it really depends on me. For mentally preparing myself sake, if I am to get a good quality 1.6 hi index lens with a fair enough quality frame, am I looking at about $500-$600 worth of spending?

Thanks a lot for reading my lengthy post. Appreciate your kind advise.

1) Get 2 pairs if ur prescription is so high that if ever 1 pair broke, u will not be *blind*. (there are alot more reasons why people would get more than 1 pair of glasses but in ur case, i believe this would be a better scenerio for u to think about)

2) Looking are recent Oakley's quality.. i suggest u give up on that brand. It's pretty hard to tell u which brand to go to as there are alot of brands in the market. U could start off going to some big shops, have a look around.

3) Look at:
> Cosmetics
> Quality (how good it welded, how much effort is spent on that design & unique-ness)
> Where it's being made and not where the Brand is from ( similar to Quality aspect)
> Comfort ( i think u gonna wear like more than 12hrs a day right?)
> Price that u willing to pay ( some people only wanna pay $400. Some dont mind $1500. very subjective )

Once u selected remaining few models, u can do an online research or even post some pics.. I agree this way takes alot of time but, u are the one buying something to put on ur face, u also can choose to do everything in 15 mins and forget about it.

4) Zeiss - Lotutec, Nikon - SeeCoat, Hoya - SFT are fine.. 1.6 or 1.67 is the ideal index for ur prescription. (Personally i would get 1st Nikon, 2nd Hoya but thats just me. Most people might not feel the clarity difference, light transmissions all that stuff. but Nikon SeeCoat are retailling as a Premium lens where as Hoya SFT is standing a tat bit behind in market value)

5) Personally i will go Orchard or Town area shops as they will normally have more collection and "newer" designs.. There are people who choose to make their glasses in shops who have that designs and also people who make glasses in shops with good services and get them to order that particular designs.

6) $600 for frame with 1.6 lens can get u quite a good range of glasses already. I would aim for overall comfort for frames within the budget. Nobody likes a uncomfortable frame irritates them the whole day and spoiling moods.

xiaokaka

yeh..was shocked they reduce the price like almost half... but also becus the shop owner is i know 1 ..lol

No wonder la.. u know the owner den the price possible..

If u duno the owner, i think 99% ppl out here will think u got conned..

Seannie

nikon seecoat is not clearer than hoya sft.

I have both. I can testify to that.

Hoya sft will forever be my present & future choice unless a better alternative comes into the market.

And double aspheric is alot better than single aspheric. Once i got used to the double aspheric clarity, there is no way i can U-turn back to single aspheric becos it will feel v "blur" otherwise. Just like once you upgrade to a condo i think v hard for you to adjust back to a hdb. Is this unhealthy??

I do not know whether this is true for all power prexcriptions. Anyone can enlighten?

Seannie

yeh..was shocked they reduce the price like almost half... but also becus the shop owner is i know 1 ..lol

wow, 50% is a very good deal. If i were you, i will keep going back to this shop. The most i can ever get is only 30% discount for lens, even as a super VIP member.:(

DouBleB

Where is the shop? Can recommend? Im thinking of getting a new transition lens spec.

Which lens is good Hoya or Crizal or Carl Zsies?

jonleelk

Where is the shop? Can recommend? Im thinking of getting a new transition lens spec.

Which lens is good Hoya or Crizal or Carl Zsies?

I have Hoya and Carl Zeiss lens with transition coating. Find them "not dark enough". My regular shop has recommended trying Carl Zeiss new PhotoFusion lens, saying that his customers who had tried them commented that other than turning dark faster in the sun, it is also darker than normal transition coating.

Anyone tried PhotoFusion so far? Comments?

culain99

high index

I need to get a new set of glasses, have got power of 1100 and was thinking of getting high index 1.74. got a quote of 600 dollars for Nikon lens. Is this normal ?

Kenny fei

Can someone give me ccomment on the Staffan Preutz Eyewear as it look slim and in light weight in some web adv lor. Hmm....intend to get a pair but wondering is it expensive:s11::s11:. Mayb someone can recommend where to get a cheaper range one =:p=:p or you want to sell me yours :s13::s13:

jemtxy

the shop i got my specs is at woodlands woodgrove. its opposite st. anthony church. and yeh..the boss is good la..can bargain de..not very strict.

and i test liao..mine jus nice got the crizal marking upon foggy..haha but it goes off too fast thus i cant really get a pic to prove it... :)

Seannie

the shop i got my specs is at woodlands woodgrove. its opposite st. anthony church. and yeh..the boss is good la..can bargain de..not very strict.

and i test liao..mine jus nice got the crizal marking upon foggy..haha but it goes off too fast thus i cant really get a pic to prove it... :)

where is this woodlands woodgrove. Near to woodlands mrt?

Will the boss give 50% discount for hoya lens as well? Can check for us?

2pm2am

u are referring to kwong shin right? ya, generally i agree that sme shops especially the older generation ones & the non-chain stores can provide really better service and advice. But these are getting lesser and dying out. I feel that more & more spec shops are turning into big chain stores, and i think that this is not really a healthy sign. The staff turnover is big & some are just more concerned with the sales than the service.

how can non chain stores survive if people go to JB to find cheaper stuff and don't support local shops ?? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.