The Spectacles Thread.

Seannie

Do you know of other brands of lens that are also bi-asph?

Are all free form lens considered bi-asph too?

nikon & seiko.

i think only hoya calls their lens as free form technology. Nikon dont call it that way. I think maybe its just different kinds of bi-aspherical designs.

Seannie

the reason why Rx lenses cost much more is because it's custom made.

You go G2000 buy pants and you tailor make one pair, which one cost more ?

if you want to talk about chopping.... many people like to go xinwang cafe eat instant noodle that cost 10x more..... when they can eat at home. :s8:

Yes sir, ofcos i know that RX costs more becos its custom-made. But my point is, why price it so much more expensive when you could have just priced RX lens like maybe 30%-60% more than stock lens?

RX lens in the market actually costs like double the price of stock lens. Y is this so? Do you need special machines or techniques or materials to make RX lenses? No, i do not think so.

The reason is that simply becos its custom made, so they charge it much much more. And not so much becos of the costs involved in production.

Going G2000 to buy a pair of pants is more expensive than going to a tailor. Do you know why?

Firstly G2000 pants are made in China, mass produced in factories. All the sizes are made to the same measurements. And due to mass production, the pants are not to the same exact measurements as the labelling claims them to be. So do you think the price is worth it?

Secondly, tailored pants are not that expensive if you consider the worksmanship that goes behind each seam & thread. The tailor has to draw your measurements on the clothing with chalk markings and then sew accordingly to your preferred measurements. You can even ask for extra items or substitutions for buttons etc. All to your whims & fancies. Based on this personalised service, yes, the cost is justified.

But what about RX lenses? They still cut & edge using the same machine. No extras. But you got to pay much more just becos our power is much higher than the normal ple & this is not even our fault becos some of us are just borned with high power. (inherited thru our genes from ancestors)

Seannie

The only benefit of a shop is so you can try many pairs before deciding ? so who is going to test your eyes ?

If you think optical shops make a lot of money then what about doctors? A gynae charge $200/day for "standby" fee when you give birth in a private hospital. So if you stay 3 days she charge you $600.... just for standing by doing nothing..... easy money.

how about real estate agent. if they rent out your commercial unit for you, the fee they charge is 1st month rent. imagine if you can rent out your commercial unit for $20k. they will get 20k for just doing paper work ! how many spectacles do optical shops have to sell to earn 20K ???

Optical industry is all about passion and heart to service patients with eye problems & deficiencies, not about earning alot of $. If you wanna earn alot of $ then you can jolly well wind up the business and join the real estate agents.

Seannie

the reason why Rx lenses cost much more is because it's custom made.

You go G2000 buy pants and you tailor make one pair, which one cost more ?

if you want to talk about chopping.... many people like to go xinwang cafe eat instant noodle that cost 10x more..... when they can eat at home. :s8:

when we go to restaurants & cafes, we are not paying so much for the food than for the atmosphere & ambience.

Food prices are controlled items. The government will not allow people to anyhow raise the food prices, whether in supermarkets or coffeeshops. But i dont suppose there is any consumer protection for specs.

osirisx

anyone here got any recommendation for spec shops for those on a budget?
thinking of changing change my specs...

2pm2am

Optical industry is all about passion and heart to service patients with eye problems & deficiencies, not about earning alot of $. If you wanna earn alot of $ then you can jolly well wind up the business and join the real estate agents.

So what about Doctors and dentists and other professions that is suppose to be about passion and heart to service patients ????

why do they have to charge patients so much money for consultations and surgery ??? why are so many doctors living in bungalows and driving big cars ???? :s11:

popdod

They can also live in HDB flats, why need to stay in expensive condos or bungalows ? :)

Coz property investment in sinkapore can reap a decent profit
but glasses dont.

mai siao siao...HDB in toa payoh sold for 900k....close to a mil.

:D :s13: :D

2pm2am

when we go to restaurants & cafes, we are not paying so much for the food than for the atmosphere & ambience.

Food prices are controlled items. The government will not allow people to anyhow raise the food prices, whether in supermarkets or coffeeshops. But i dont suppose there is any consumer protection for specs.

are you sure food are controlled items ??? satay used to be 40c at hawker centres. then 50c, then now 60c. surprisingly all the stalls at the same hawker centre raise price at the same time. i thought this is against the law because they are price fixing ???? However, you will never find optical shops raise price at the same time. they only try to undercut each other . :s13:

2pm2am

Yes sir, ofcos i know that RX costs more becos its custom-made. But my point is, why price it so much more expensive when you could have just priced RX lens like maybe 30%-60% more than stock lens?

RX lens in the market actually costs like double the price of stock lens. Y is this so? Do you need special machines or techniques or materials to make RX lenses? No, i do not think so.

The reason is that simply becos its custom made, so they charge it much much more. And not so much becos of the costs involved in production.

Going G2000 to buy a pair of pants is more expensive than going to a tailor. Do you know why?

Firstly G2000 pants are made in China, mass produced in factories. All the sizes are made to the same measurements. And due to mass production, the pants are not to the same exact measurements as the labelling claims them to be. So do you think the price is worth it?

Secondly, tailored pants are not that expensive if you consider the worksmanship that goes behind each seam & thread. The tailor has to draw your measurements on the clothing with chalk markings and then sew accordingly to your preferred measurements. You can even ask for extra items or substitutions for buttons etc. All to your whims & fancies. Based on this personalised service, yes, the cost is justified.

But what about RX lenses? They still cut & edge using the same machine. No extras. But you got to pay much more just becos our power is much higher than the normal ple & this is not even our fault becos some of us are just borned with high power. (inherited thru our genes from ancestors)

I know you have been wearing spectacles for many many years, but that doesn't mean you know about the optical industry. RX machines can cost up to a million. good edging machines can cost as much as a mid range car in singapore. Eye testing machines in optical shops can cost a few hundred thousand dollars, unless they are cheapo ones from china.

Do you know that lasik is actually a very simple procedure with high tech equipment but why are doctors charging such a high price for the operation ???

you buy chicken wings at supermarket to cook yourself is so much cheaper than you buy at hawker centre. why ?? why hawker charge so much for a chicken wing that cost so little at supermarket? :s11:

xiaokaka

I know you have been wearing spectacles for many many years, but that doesn't mean you know about the optical industry. RX machines can cost up to a million. good edging machines can cost as much as a mid range car in singapore. Eye testing machines in optical shops can cost a few hundred thousand dollars, unless they are cheapo ones from china.

Do you know that lasik is actually a very simple procedure with high tech equipment but why are doctors charging such a high price for the operation ???

you buy chicken wings at supermarket to cook yourself is so much cheaper than you buy at hawker centre. why ?? why hawker charge so much for a chicken wing that cost so little at supermarket? :s11:

then u try ordering Wings from resturants... Cuz a professional Chef prepared it, cost may go up 6 times.

xiaokaka

Everything price increase most likely due to cost of energy(power and oil).
Leads to all other things in life coming with a higher cost in living.

People selling glasses to people selling shoes and clothes, they are still people, all affected by increase of prices everywhere. How u tell them not to feed their ever growing kids? How u wanna work in a Company which doesn't increase your salary after 7-8 years of service?

All these money come from where? All the customers lor. Business leh.. who don't wanna earn? if don't earn, don't open business lor. No need think of Shop rental, Staff's salary, Stock cost, damaged stocks, warrenty problems, edging problems.. U think this only occurs to optical trade only?

This is the way the market/society is heading to. Like it or not, it won't stray from direction for a while.

Seannie

are you sure food are controlled items ??? satay used to be 40c at hawker centres. then 50c, then now 60c. surprisingly all the stalls at the same hawker centre raise price at the same time. i thought this is against the law because they are price fixing ???? However, you will never find optical shops raise price at the same time. they only try to undercut each other . :s13:

thats what the government says woh.. that no price fixing is allowed and prices of food items are controlled. :s11:

for food its cheaper & mre affordable necessity so i dont mind paying mre for the freshness, quality of food. Like good coffee, im willing to pay $5 for a cup of good-quality.

for specs, i will try to find the cheapest optical shop i can & i will frequent the shop that willing to give me the best cut. one pair of spec maybe you cant see that much difference, but if you often buy specs (like once a year or every few months & combine that with RX lens) then the accumulated differences will be significant. Anyway, most optical shops carry more or less the same brands (frames or lenses). So i will go to the shop that can provide me with the best quality at the best prices. This is only reasonable.

Seannie

then u try ordering Wings from resturants... Cuz a professional Chef prepared it, cost may go up 6 times.

chix wings prepared by professional chefs are not necessarily tasty. i just had chix drumlets at orchard hotel yesterday & they are too salty. This doesnt justify the costs that we are paying.

That is why as consumers we must look for the best & yet cheapest. Otherwise, we are not going to survive as consumers. In terms of specs, we got to look for the best quality but at the same time also the cheapest that we can get. Or else, we will lead a pathetic despondent life & have to wear broken specs on our faces when we could not even afford to buy a new pair in our old age, when we have no job no $. Who is going to pity us then?

Seannie

lasik operations are much cheaper than wearing specs. Lasik costs only a few thousand dollars, but can last you for at least 20 yrs or till you get laohua or cataract if you take care of your eyes. But with the same amount of $ spent on lasik, your specs cant last for so long. If you think that we need to change specs every year in order to let suppliers & retailers survive, then over the span of 20 yrs we need to spend minimum of $10,000, that is assuming that a pair of specs costs $500. But this price is impossible to keep constant because of continual inflation increase. Spec will cost only more & not less. so how can you say that lasik is expensive? And the price is taken at the moment of your operation. You will not ned to pay for more even if inflation increases in 10yrs time. I think that specs over the long term is the expensive option, but the safest option as well. By the way, doctors are suckers for your $. Not many have medical ethnics. They are busy making $ rather than helping you at all.

I do not work in the optical industry, but i know that they charge too much in the market selling spectacles. And you must know that lenses age v fast and certain components of frames also get used & worn out fast. Lens usually turn yellowish in a couple of months' time & look v obviously ugly. Im sure you agree with me.

Machines do cost a lot, but you must also know that they have already passed on the cost to us the consumers. And they make so many pairs of specs with that same machine, they will cover up their costs in a matter of time (same as any other business) and after the break-even time, they will be earning much more as they do not need to cover the cost of their machines anymore. The reason why opticians gave this kind of reason is that they do not want us to think that they are overcharging us.

Do the optical shops give us more discounts after they have made enough to cover the cost of their machines? If you say good RX edging machines can cost so much, then why is the quality of the finished product not as good? I suspect that most shops do not buy good machines. Even lets say some big optical shops use good machines, but over time the "good" machines will also be worn out & doesnt work as well. But they still continue to use them to edge our lens. Arent that unfair to consumers?

How many will actually have the conscience to think in the shoes of the consumers?

ylime87

hi!

i made my spectacles for 305 dollars. rayban frame 185 dollars and lens with 1.67 index for 120... is it reasonable?

btw .. anyone bought frames from smartbuyglasses.com before? prices look good!

xiaokaka

lasik operations are much cheaper than wearing specs. Lasik costs only a few thousand dollars, but can last you for at least 20 yrs or till you get laohua or cataract if you take care of your eyes. But with the same amount of $ spent on lasik, your specs cant last for so long. If you think that we need to change specs every year in order to let suppliers & retailers survive, then over the span of 20 yrs we need to spend minimum of $10,000, that is assuming that a pair of specs costs $500. But this price is impossible to keep constant because of continual inflation increase. Spec will cost only more & not less. so how can you say that lasik is expensive? And the price is taken at the moment of your operation. You will not ned to pay for more even if inflation increases in 10yrs time. I think that specs over the long term is the expensive option, but the safest option as well. By the way, doctors are suckers for your $. Not many have medical ethnics. They are busy making $ rather than helping you at all.

I do not work in the optical industry, but i know that they charge too much in the market selling spectacles. And you must know that lenses age v fast and certain components of frames also get used & worn out fast. Lens usually turn yellowish in a couple of months' time & look v obviously ugly. Im sure you agree with me.

Machines do cost a lot, but you must also know that they have already passed on the cost to us the consumers. And they make so many pairs of specs with that same machine, they will cover up their costs in a matter of time (same as any other business) and after the break-even time, they will be earning much more as they do not need to cover the cost of their machines anymore. The reason why opticians gave this kind of reason is that they do not want us to think that they are overcharging us.

Do the optical shops give us more discounts after they have made enough to cover the cost of their machines? If you say good RX edging machines can cost so much, then why is the quality of the finished product not as good? I suspect that most shops do not buy good machines. Even lets say some big optical shops use good machines, but over time the "good" machines will also be worn out & doesnt work as well. But they still continue to use them to edge our lens. Arent that unfair to consumers?

How many will actually have the conscience to think in the shoes of the consumers?

Mind to include post-lasik complications?

I myself have seen too much of such cases that i gave up on lasik (latest 2011 technology imported from japan).

xiaokaka

hi!

i made my spectacles for 305 dollars. rayban frame 185 dollars and lens with 1.67 index for 120... is it reasonable?

btw .. anyone bought frames from smartbuyglasses.com before? prices look good!

Frame is quite a good deal.. Lens is really really cheap.

to the extend that i might wonder if it's really 1.67.

PS: maybe u know the shop quite long, maybe lenses from places like china/korea ect. which makes entry level lenses at very low prices. If not, 1.67 @ $120 is almost impossible.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.