The Spectacles Thread.

ralliart12

What's the recommended approach to clean lenses? Was advised to avoid cleaning it unless absolutely necessary; & even then, to clean with very mild hand soap to minimise impact on the coating. But suppose it kena gravy/soup/sauce stains accidentally while eating outside, what's the immediate approach to handling the situation?

What about frames? Do we avoid washing them as well?

bzkx23

Recently went for an eye checkup and diagnosed with minor myopia.
Suggested to make a pair of specs.

Just asking,
Would it be cheaper to get a pair of specs made here in Singapore or in Malaysia?
Is it really worth it to go to Malaysia to make one?
And is there any recommendations for opticians in Singapore as well?

Thanks in advance!

Kenneth C

Recently went for an eye checkup and diagnosed with minor myopia.
Suggested to make a pair of specs.

Just asking,
Would it be cheaper to get a pair of specs made here in Singapore or in Malaysia?
Is it really worth it to go to Malaysia to make one?
And is there any recommendations for opticians in Singapore as well?

Thanks in advance!

When you need after-sale service, Singapore is a better choice.

Kenneth C

What's the recommended approach to clean lenses? Was advised to avoid cleaning it unless absolutely necessary; & even then, to clean with very mild hand soap to minimise impact on the coating. But suppose it kena gravy/soup/sauce stains accidentally while eating outside, what's the immediate approach to handling the situation?

What about frames? Do we avoid washing them as well?

Rinse it with tap water. I will use hand soap (mixed with water) if necessary.
I wash my lens and frame everyday.

Seannie

Rinse it with tap water. I will use hand soap (mixed with water) if necessary.
I wash my lens and frame everyday.

Knn i realised that my dun frame plastic temple rear tip got scratched or smeting. Jin moody. Duno how it came about or when it occur. Tot was dirty tried to clean it but wont go off. So guess musbe scratches liao :( there goes my fav spec....

noinimod

Spent the weekend going to many shops. Wow, prices are all over the place. Easily +/- 100-150 bucks for same model. For etc, i saw this starck frame going for 988. At another place it was 750. At another place, it's 840. No.. didn't get from any of those shops. I loved the starck frame but it's too expensive for acetate and that level of construction.

It really pays to do your research. Anyone using 999.9 frames here? I wasn't impressed with the pictures online, but i found that they look very nice when you put them on. Seems to flatter asian faces better than the ray-ban/ang moh brands with similar thick chunky vintage frame styles.

The Mykita Mint range looks quite good. Interestingly, i looked at the frames first and thought they looked quite 'asian inspired', only to find out later that they are indeed designed for asians. I didn't see them in any of the (many) shops i went to. In the shops that i went to, i saw more ic berlin than mykita. Surprising to me because many years ago, it was the other way around. Anyone seen that collection in SG before? Did some digging online, seems like very few mykita SG dealers.

Also, anyone know of other brands with similar ic berlin/mykita/bywp/urband aesthetics? I am quite intrigued with Varg eyewear. Seems like a new brand, but their frames appear to be high quality. Titanium frames unlike ic berlin and mykita, and made in japan.

jonleelk

Take a look at Markus T.

Also, anyone know of other brands with similar ic berlin/mykita/bywp/urband aesthetics? I am quite intrigued with Varg eyewear. Seems like a new brand, but their frames appear to be high quality. Titanium frames unlike ic berlin and mykita, and made in japan.

papaya00

Anyone can recommend a shop to buy glasses? Budget around 500 intend to get good lenses. Frame not good brand but nice can already.

Thank you in advance.

Oohladonutz

Queensway Shopping Centre level 1, shop name 'Western Vision'.

I'm a regular customer for many year. Always get my specs, frames and lenses below retail price. The last time I made a pair of transition lens at $180.

noinimod

Anyone can recommend a shop to buy glasses? Budget around 500 intend to get good lenses. Frame not good brand but nice can already.

Thank you in advance.
Try to go queensway and walk around. Tons of optical shops there and variety. Usually nice frames are expensive. I seriously wish there were cheap and nice looking frames and set out to find a non-branded pair that is nice.. but really hard to find. I think 500 can get you something decent though.

Whatever it is, don't be afraid to walk away to find a better deal if you're not 100% satisfied with the price, service and frames selection.

edit: saw the post above mine. I actually bought my contacts and frames from there a long time ago. I like their service. Unpretentious and price seems reasonable. But they have, IMO, a limited selection of frames. They are geared towards the budget side, which is great if you find something you like.

Oohladonutz

Try to go queensway and walk around. Tons of optical shops there and variety. Usually nice frames are expensive. I seriously wish there were cheap and nice looking frames and set out to find a non-branded pair that is nice.. but really hard to find. I think 500 can get you something decent though.

Whatever it is, don't be afraid to walk away to find a better deal if you're not 100% satisfied with the price, service and frames selection.

edit: saw the post above mine. I actually bought my contacts and frames from there a long time ago. I like their service. Unpretentious and price seems reasonable. But they have, IMO, a limited selection of frames. They are geared towards the budget side, which is great if you find something you like.

I juz went there last week to buy colour lenses. They have the latest in trend Japanese wooden frames which is very popular in their store. Can go there and take a look and ask them to recommend. The lady boss has good taste and quote reasonable prices.

Separately, frame surely can get a good price but for your lenses, it depends on whether you have astigmatism and how bad is your shortsightedness.

I ever bought authentic Miu Miu frame from an online store and made transition lenses at Western Vision, all in all only spent $350 for the frame and lenses.

Nakedtoes

Just order this Trussardi Titanium eyeglass.. include shipping not more then $100:D:D

trussardi-tr-12714-brown+me++productPageXtraLarge.jpg

papaya00

Thank u oohla and noinimod. So is it recommended for me to purchase frame online then go to shop for lenses? If so which online store?

Kenneth C

Thank u oohla and noinimod. So is it recommended for me to purchase frame online then go to shop for lenses? If so which online store?

Problem with online purchase is that you do not know the fit of the frames. Some frames look nice but the fitting is not right.

Kenneth C

Knn i realised that my dun frame plastic temple rear tip got scratched or smeting. Jin moody. Duno how it came about or when it occur. Tot was dirty tried to clean it but wont go off. So guess musbe scratches liao :( there goes my fav spec....

I love my dun frame. After some adjustment, it fits well and light. Great Jap product.

Nakedtoes

i already bought close to 5 pairs of frame with lenses online and 1 more on the way... no problem with fitting....;).. first of all they will state all the length of all the parts of the frame.. 2nd u can upload yr face pics and roughly see the frame suit yr face or not... 3rd... u can actually adjust the frame yrself when it reach u to contour yr head... After learning few tricks i no more visiting local optical shops... local shop optician most dun know how to adjust the frame to make it comfortable... i can myself do it much better... I also done for my loves one... they no more specs sliding down issue. no more pain here or there behind ear

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.