The Spectacles Thread.

oldbreadstinks

I am thinking of trying glass lenses for its reputed superior quality
does Zeiss or Crizal make mineral glass lenses? any recomendations?

Both do.

When compared, glass lenses have better "optical quality " compared to plastic. Takes a lot to scratch too.
Going by abbe value, for those who want clarity, you can't go wrong with glass

Except for 3 things you have to take note off
Glass is much heavier, just hold a glass and a plastic cup in your hands and have a feel

Glass breaks when dropped, so if you drop your glasses often, those who are thinking of taking glass to prevent scratches tend not to be able to enjoy the benefits

Your choice of frames is limited by the lenses material
Generally no half frames or rimless

Which is why most "hardcore " users tend to be high powered people
Already not much choices. Not much choices with frames as well
Lenses are going to be thick and heavy even with plastic 1.74 .
Glass at least reduces the thickness with 1.8 or 1.9

Some low powered users who prefer glass find that vision is "brighter " with glass. (I don't think the difference is that big with modern lenses )

oldbreadstinks

okie, will got there ssrr. Have been making my glasses at pearl eversince dunno how many donkey years ago, are they still recommended?

not boi boi but uncle liao=:p=:p. My last pair was a no brand Ti with a nice Hoya progressive, the lens was fantastic with 2y+ no scratch or coating flake off watsoever. But the frame kinda went koyak after 1y+..... So now thinking of investing into something better. Seems i didnt quite like the progressive and decide to go for a single this time.

So i guess most prob i'll go for a CZ with $450 budget and about 350-400 for a frame. Or perhaps i should readjust my budget? I seldom change glasses and the current pairi have last me almost 3 years.=:p=:p

Seems swissflex is out of flavor?

Okie okie. Think I will take the time to ssrr at the major hotspots for glasses. Karchng itchy wanna try zeiss. lolx. Always felt zeiss is superior to hoya(photography wise). For the pair I using, initially wanted zeiss but over blew budget so changed to hoya. Was skeptical at first but it turned out to be a brilliant purchase

Okie since karchng itchy, try zeiss already can let me know whats yur review? Thks.

Zeiss lenses, if getting, will need to request for duravision coating.

Lens is clearer with them. (to the naked eye) smoother and tougher.
Not saying the usual coating isn't good :s13: but for Hoya fans only duravision can match up.
Clarity wise I do not think Hoya is as good as Zeiss but without duravision coating it appears Zeiss scratches more easily compared to Hoya

oldbreadstinks

i sell u my swissflex frame? frankly speaking swissflex too light for its own gd, keep sliding down head, hav to use earpads if really want swissflex

Swissflex needs to be bigger than your head to fit.
If you're wearing a half / full frame they don't go beyond size 54 for lenses?
I extended mine to 58 . ( rimless)
Nosepads need to be changed as well. A major issue for people selling Swissflex
Most retailers only carry size 4 (it looks most normal to a wearer )
When most Asian wearer required something much bigger, mine are twice the size of size #04

And another issue is one common adjustment method is they'll heat up and bend the legs over your ears giving you a nice hook to keep the glasses in place. Which allows the frame to slip off.

If the frame design/size fits, you need to bend the legs in, not down
Basically speaking the elastic strength of the temples(legs) need to counter the mass of the glasses when wrapped around your head.

You can visit any retailer and take a look at their Swissflex. None had their legs bended down :s13:. Light weight , it stays on til you make the glasses, change the shape of the frame annnnndddd it then slips

If your glasses are giving your problems, go back to the retailer and change to a different pair of nose pads( don'tlet them charge you. Exchange is free) and get them to adjust your glasses to look like the ones on the shelfs, tighten more if necessary. The tips can be bended in to touch each other and you won't feel it because it's soft plastic.

ahboy82

Swissflex needs to be bigger than your head to fit.
If you're wearing a half / full frame they don't go beyond size 54 for lenses?
I extended mine to 58 . ( rimless)
Nosepads need to be changed as well. A major issue for people selling Swissflex
Most retailers only carry size 4 (it looks most normal to a wearer )
When most Asian wearer required something much bigger, mine are twice the size of size #04

And another issue is one common adjustment method is they'll heat up and bend the legs over your ears giving you a nice hook to keep the glasses in place. Which allows the frame to slip off.

If the frame design/size fits, you need to bend the legs in, not down
Basically speaking the elastic strength of the temples(legs) need to counter the mass of the glasses when wrapped around your head.

You can visit any retailer and take a look at their Swissflex. None had their legs bended down :s13:. Light weight , it stays on til you make the glasses, change the shape of the frame annnnndddd it then slips

If your glasses are giving your problems, go back to the retailer and change to a different pair of nose pads( don'tlet them charge you. Exchange is free) and get them to adjust your glasses to look like the ones on the shelfs, tighten more if necessary. The tips can be bended in to touch each other and you won't feel it because it's soft plastic.

heated liao leh. i went back before le they heat the legs and bend them like u say loh. still sliding down. end up i put ear pads to avoid it from sliding down. but no longer comfy after prolonged wear as the ear pads press on my ears, and nose pads on my nose.

ParkJinYoung

just got a new pair of specs at OWNDAYS
great price, good service
$158 for new frame + lens, in 15mins

Seannie

heated liao leh. i went back before le they heat the legs and bend them like u say loh. still sliding down. end up i put ear pads to avoid it from sliding down. but no longer comfy after prolonged wear as the ear pads press on my ears, and nose pads on my nose.

Ahboy, just one sentence sums it all up la no need to be so longwinded as oldbread. Swissflex is just not the right fit for you. In fact i doubt its really good for most asians. Dont forget the brand is swissflex. Meaning its designed by swiss people, they don take into consideration asians. So my advice is to just donate yur pair to charity. And look for a better pair la. Dont brood over swissflex liao.

Seannie

Finally the oldbread posted smeting specific that makes sense. "Elastic strength of the temples must counter the weight of the glasses" else frame slips off. And tempke tip should not touch the delicate ear bone called the mastoid area else your ears pain and uncomfy. Correct way of adjustment is that the temple tip should bend in at the correct angle to just gently touch caress your skin only. Should not create any pressure. Pressure point shd only be felt at the part directly above your ear. NOT behind it. And remember the temples should never touch the sides of your head before reaching your ear. Nosepads must 100% lay flat against sides of yur nosebridge so that pressure is distributed evenly. Ahboy, just remember this 3point fit in yur future spec hunt snd u wont go wrong liao.

Seannie

Zeiss lenses, if getting, will need to request for duravision coating.

Lens is clearer with them. (to the naked eye) smoother and tougher.
Not saying the usual coating isn't good :s13: but for Hoya fans only duravision can match up.
Clarity wise I do not think Hoya is as good as Zeiss but without duravision coating it appears Zeiss scratches more easily compared to Hoya

For the kind of price u need to pay for zeiss lens, forget it la. Hoya still the best. Value for dollar. Clarity not tat far off la. But price is. Sum it all up in terms of all factors, value clarity coating, hoya the best choice. For the moment。enjoy hoya while you all still can.

Seannie

Both do.

When compared, glass lenses have better "optical quality " compared to plastic. Takes a lot to scratch too.
Going by abbe value, for those who want clarity, you can't go wrong with glass

Except for 3 things you have to take note off
Glass is much heavier, just hold a glass and a plastic cup in your hands and have a feel

Glass breaks when dropped, so if you drop your glasses often, those who are thinking of taking glass to prevent scratches tend not to be able to enjoy the benefits

Your choice of frames is limited by the lenses material
Generally no half frames or rimless

Which is why most "hardcore " users tend to be high powered people
Already not much choices. Not much choices with frames as well
Lenses are going to be thick and heavy even with plastic 1.74 .
Glass at least reduces the thickness with 1.8 or 1.9

Some low powered users who prefer glass find that vision is "brighter " with glass. (I don't think the difference is that big with modern lenses )

Oldbread, you can be a bery good lecturer presenting all facts but i find it too lengthy & confusing, not concise. Just tell the bloke that glass going to phase out liao and pls forget glass mineral watever u call tat. Comparing 1.74 dbl adpheric still very much lighter than glass. AND, you forget one v impt point to nail it. That is, in order to cut dwn both weight & thickness, the main factor is the size / shape of the frame u choose. Smallest & roundest as possible will cut down alot of weight & thickness (if die die must use glass). Good luck to that bloke who ask the glass question. If im the optician i will tell him forget abt glass liao. Clarity with plastic niw dont lose glass tat much. And coating wise improved alot. Price wise v competitive too. 1.8/1.9 glass getting ecoensive becos of lower demand.

Nakedtoes

I still likes glass lenses.. mine last pair frameless frame with glass lenses last me 10 years. Where can make good glass lenses?

ahboy82

Finally the oldbread posted smeting specific that makes sense. "Elastic strength of the temples must counter the weight of the glasses" else frame slips off. And tempke tip should not touch the delicate ear bone called the mastoid area else your ears pain and uncomfy. Correct way of adjustment is that the temple tip should bend in at the correct angle to just gently touch caress your skin only. Should not create any pressure. Pressure point shd only be felt at the part directly above your ear. NOT behind it. And remember the temples should never touch the sides of your head before reaching your ear. Nosepads must 100% lay flat against sides of yur nosebridge so that pressure is distributed evenly. Ahboy, just remember this 3point fit in yur future spec hunt snd u wont go wrong liao.

Ahboy, just one sentence sums it all up la no need to be so longwinded as oldbread. Swissflex is just not the right fit for you. In fact i doubt its really good for most asians. Dont forget the brand is swissflex. Meaning its designed by swiss people, they don take into consideration asians. So my advice is to just donate yur pair to charity. And look for a better pair la. Dont brood over swissflex liao.

u guys really expert in specs. ya i rmb before putting on the lens the swissflex frame when i tried it did not slide down, and it was really comfy and i could not feel it at all (seem almost zero weight!) but after fitting the lens it's totally different story le.

then u guys recommend what frame to go for that seemingly weightless feel on my head? really like the feeling of swissflex without lens on me leh. almost feather light. still looking for that kind of feeling....dun noe what frame to go for.

oldbreadstinks

Not really, that's a pretty general view. When you add people in, things change. Have you ever encountered a wearer who's tip of the temple tips must rest on the top of the ears?
Looks ridiculous? But personal habit, can't be changed.
Swissflex is another one when I used to sell them, have to keep reminding the wearer, it's supposed to be semi straight and wraps around your head, not your ears. Mine barely goes beyond my ears and they don't slip.

I usually just point out their habits, tell them what the "norm" should be and if they're happy in their old ways , go ahead.
Whatever makes you comfortable. I'm not there to teach grandmothers how to suck eggs anyway.

For the kind of price u need to pay for zeiss lens, forget it la. Hoya still the best. Value for dollar. Clarity not tat far off la. But price is. Sum it all up in terms of all factors, value clarity coating, hoya the best choice. For the moment。enjoy hoya while you all still can.

For top tier lenses Zeiss individual 2 is $1210 for 1.6 index not to mention they have 1.5 index @$990

Hoya's top tier lenses (trinity ) retails @ $1488 and starts at 1.6 onwards

I thought we've been through this. Hoya covers all tiers, Zeiss only sells premium stuff.

I believe other than average coating strength for lower tier stock and semi finished lenses And trivex lenses which Zeiss do not carry here.
You can't really say Hoya is better than Zeiss when you get to the upper tier products.

Why else do you think labs more often than not use equipment with Zeiss lenses
My average customer don't know Zeiss at all. Either I have to talk about it or they happened to be teachers or lab workers. Even among my friends, only the ones doing ph d's know Zeiss. Or those into cameras.
US when flying first man to the moon, did not use American lenses but German lenses from Zeiss.

Oldbread, you can be a bery good lecturer presenting all facts but i find it too lengthy & confusing, not concise. Just tell the bloke that glass going to phase out liao and pls forget glass mineral watever u call tat. Comparing 1.74 dbl adpheric still very much lighter than glass. AND, you forget one v impt point to nail it. That is, in order to cut dwn both weight & thickness, the main factor is the size / shape of the frame u choose. Smallest & roundest as possible will cut down alot of weight & thickness (if die die must use glass). Good luck to that bloke who ask the glass question. If im the optician i will tell him forget abt glass liao. Clarity with plastic niw dont lose glass tat much. And coating wise improved alot. Price wise v competitive too. 1.8/1.9 glass getting ecoensive becos of lower demand.
Again I can't :s13:
I'm not in a position to say what's good or bad without a precise situation. Like I said, I'm not like you where you can say you hate a product or brand. I'll say it's not as good in certain way and let you decide on your own unless it's a bad decision. :s13:
Like high astigmatism with a base 8 progressive lenses. I'll sound out first it might not be wearable.
Glass isn't going to be phrase out. Glass Lovers still go for them.
I do not feel that they work well in current context where most frames would break the lens simply by opening the temples.
Retro frames maybe if you can deal with the weight

oldbreadstinks

Your ears shouldn't feel anything.
But Swissflex is either rimlon or rimless. I do not think they are suitable for prescriptions that are too high
Or certain types of lenses

It's like tag Heuer carbon fibre frames. The initial demo lens is curve and the buyer feels they're light, very light. Don't rust either.
Sleek looking. Minimalist sort of feel.

Then the fitter recommends the best lens he can think of. High index, aspherical lenses. And the frame instead of a horse shoe shape becomes a "v"
And to make things worse, tag Heuer carbon fiber frames can't be adjusted that much.

Short Liao, I'm vague, long Liao I'm long winded :s13:
Your wife / girlfriend not making you happy And you're taking it out on moi?

It's can actually be a pretty good fit but you'll need to change the parts.
The thing about Asian fit is we have bigger heads. The frame needs to be bigger than the front of our faces.
And the nose as well. Our nose bridges ain't that high.
There isn't a need to brood. Just bring it back to the retailer, pick a pair off the shelfs and request they adjust it that way according to your heads shape and change the Nosepads.

ahboy82

Your ears shouldn't feel anything.
But Swissflex is either rimlon or rimless. I do not think they are suitable for prescriptions that are too high
Or certain types of lenses

It's like tag Heuer carbon fibre frames. The initial demo lens is curve and the buyer feels they're light, very light. Don't rust either.
Sleek looking. Minimalist sort of feel.

Then the fitter recommends the best lens he can think of. High index, aspherical lenses. And the frame instead of a horse shoe shape becomes a "v"
And to make things worse, tag Heuer carbon fiber frames can't be adjusted that much.

yes i like the minimalist feel. but after put the lens in no longer as light as before............zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz plus my degree not high also. 100 on each side.

wa liew. sibei disappointed with swissflex. still looking for a frame that is as light as swissflex and dun give me all the problems swissflex give me after putting on lens

Seannie

Short Liao, I'm vague, long Liao I'm long winded :s13:
Your wife / girlfriend not making you happy And you're taking it out on moi?

It's can actually be a pretty good fit but you'll need to change the parts.
The thing about Asian fit is we have bigger heads. The frame needs to be bigger than the front of our faces.
And the nose as well. Our nose bridges ain't that high.
There isn't a need to brood. Just bring it back to the retailer, pick a pair off the shelfs and request they adjust it that way according to your heads shape and change the Nosepads.

Why should I take it out on you? Whether long or short is not the problem. The thing is u are not concise. U still don't realize it. Sme points u said it okay. Sme are just generalized, if not vague. If smeting is not just not good just say it's not good. No in between ones. If those blokes insist on a certain fit it doesn't mean they shd be left at that. Just mean that they are too stubborn to accept others advices and not willing to try out changes which could be for the better. I used to be one of them, insisting that the temples must squeeze my head as tight as can be adjusted, so opticians LAN LAN got to do for me. End up after so many years I realized that if there is any one optician who can be so confident enough to show me the way I wouldn't have so many problems over the years and spent half of my fortune to find out the answers the hard way. So u say I don't know what I'm toking?

If you want to be that exceptional optician with morale ethnics u will need to do wat is right even though sme stubborn customers will have to be put off by what u suggest as the right way. Someday they might be grateful to you, even if there is no guarantee of that happening.

Seannie

For top tier lenses Zeiss individual 2 is $1210 for 1.6 index not to mention they have 1.5 index @$990

Hoya's top tier lenses (trinity ) retails @ $1488 and starts at 1.6 onwards

I thought we've been through this. Hoya covers all tiers, Zeiss only sells premium stuff.

I believe other than average coating strength for lower tier stock and semi finished lenses And trivex lenses which Zeiss do not carry here.
You can't really say Hoya is better than Zeiss when you get to the upper tier products.

Why else do you think labs more often than not use equipment with Zeiss lenses

Why would you want to buy top tier zeiss or hoya lenses? Even if you intend to use for half a lifetime to go with a top tier frame, still there is no gaurantee tat yur frame or lens wont break halfway thru, not forgetting that your power will change over time, unless ofcos you have too much $ to spare. Else its not the wisest choice. Tats y i endorse hoya lens as the best when u consider ALL factors in. Cheap. Good. Swee. Yea never deny tat german products are good. But frankly its just not practical. Hoya clarity is good enough with its not-so-top tier lens pricing. And dont forget tat plastic lens tend to age and grow yellowish. I believe top tier lens will also age? Would u still want to wear a pair of yellowish lens for people to see? I rather change a new pair of white lens. Like i said u know the facts but dont apply them to practical use. Lucky we have japanese hoya lens to choose from so that the masses can enjoy good lenses at practical prices. Like u said, zeiss focus on premier lenses that do not cater to all. A product that cant cater to everybody cannot be recognised as a great product as its benefits could not be enjoyed by all.

Seannie

yes i like the minimalist feel. but after put the lens in no longer as light as before............zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz plus my degree not high also. 100 on each side.

wa liew. sibei disappointed with swissflex. still looking for a frame that is as light as swissflex and dun give me all the problems swissflex give me after putting on lens

Ahboy, try silhuoette frames. Their legs are bent down should be able to hook yur eyes without feeling too pain and its the lightest frame in the world? But yur lens cannot be thick else defeats its purpose.

oldbreadstinks

Why would you want to buy top tier zeiss or hoya lenses? Even if you intend to use for half a lifetime to go with a top tier frame, still there is no gaurantee tat yur frame or lens wont break halfway thru, not forgetting that your power will change over time, unless ofcos you have too much $ to spare. Else its not the wisest choice. Tats y i endorse hoya lens as the best when u consider ALL factors in. Cheap. Good. Swee. Yea never deny tat german products are good. But frankly its just not practical. Hoya clarity is good enough with its not-so-top tier lens pricing. And dont forget tat plastic lens tend to age and grow yellowish. I believe top tier lens will also age? Would u still want to wear a pair of yellowish lens for people to see? I rather change a new pair of white lens. Like i said u know the facts but dont apply them to practical use. Lucky we have japanese hoya lens to choose from so that the masses can enjoy good lenses at practical prices. Like u said, zeiss focus on premier lenses that do not cater to all. A product that cant cater to everybody cannot be recognised as a great product as its benefits could not be enjoyed by all.

That's the thing you see, I'm only answering you regarding Zeiss because you specifically wanted to compare them. Lol
Under the same lab they're distributing Teflon as well, and quality is pretty good. Definitely a match for Hoya.
Price wise for the average user is around the same too.

And you pick one point and start blowing hoya's trumpet again.

The quality of the coating determines how fast the lens turns yellow.
Despite my discomfort with crizal, even their lenses don't turn yellow that quickly . Same goes for Hoya.
It's a basic thing. You have to expect your lenses to last a min of 1-2 years. And people can bitch about crizal, I rail against them every now and then but they have to be credited with current customers turning up maybe to tighten a screw , wash the glasses, without yellow lenses.

You need to get this inside your head. Hoya dominated the local market 20 years back. But may not even have a quarter of it now for good reasons.

So in your opinion, what do you think caused such a drastic change? :s22::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.