thks Darkangle for the pic!!!
ya lor, normal is very general so we must b more specific!
U really got urself a good deal there! $600 for tag frame + zeiss lens..!
think i'm gonna spend a bomb soon on my porshe frame + transition zeiss lens....![]()
Heheh thanks
It's every penny worth spent lah....![]()
think i'm gonna spend a bomb soon on my porshe frame + transition zeiss lens....![]()

thks Darkangle for the pic!!!
ya lor, normal is very general so we must b more specific!
U really got urself a good deal there! $600 for tag frame + zeiss lens..!
oic... but how much is ur frame retailing? $700+? and ur lens is normal de? where u made them? mayb i can go there ask for a quote
evets, it looks similar but e grip is different. e one i getting e grip can twist here n there, better grip n feel, it actually curls ard side of my head. here's a photo of it...
http
://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s11/kerts2/Porsche_Design_P8147_C.jpg
(sorry can't post images or links yet... so pls add the http to the link above. how many posts required to post images?)
the most cheapest i ask so far for a index 1.6 transition is by spectacle hut, at $280, but i ask them wat's the lens they using, they kept saying normal de... n nvr give me the name...hmm.. but they can provide the transition cert.
anyone used b4 aspheric lenses? issit good? Transition better or Aspheric?![]()
Wait till you got long sight then progressive + transition + good frame = > 1k![]()
Wow you guys are really spending alot on spectacles man ...
Most of my spects cost on avg 80-120 dollars.

haha thanks! i did not get it jus becoz it's porsche... nor becos it's exclusivity.i think its gonna be worth it. .. . this porsche frame is not bad! probably less common than tag...so the exclusivity is there...lol
If u have the budget, get the Essilor Transitions Aspherical Crizal 1.67AS lens. Otherwise normal Aspherical lenses, index will be usually 1.67. I may be wrong.
Those normal lens they are taking about is Transitions 1.6 which is spherical lens and coating u must ask them specifically because for my experience with Essilor Transitions 1.5 Hard Multi-Coat(HMC) scratches very easily (it is my 2nd pair). So i was like giving up on it. The reason I got Transitions lens is just I want to get it. Regret or not I have no opinion on this. Now my stand is, for the same amount of money, i rather get better grade lenses without Transitions. Just that I have to get used to the normal lenses after 2 years of wearing Transitions. Which eventually will get used to.
And wearing Transitions doesn't mean that it will replace sunglasses. It will never be as dark as sunglasses on our climate.
I think Transition lens are just another way of technology being hyped up.
Our forefathers went under the sun for longer periods than most of us ever do and they never had transition lenses did they? Heck, some of them have even better eye sight than us.
So, at the end of the day do we really need Transition lenses? I personally don't see the need. If i want to shield my eyes, I'll use sunglasses with lenses made by Oakley. Guaranteed protection.

Zeiss do have aspherical lens but not sure about the pricing. My previous Essilor Transition lens was normal CR39 material, not the polycarbonate ones. I also have Sola Transition lens before also scratches very easily, it is more scratch prone than polycarbonate, maybe the material is soft? I don't know.hahaha... *Touch wood man!!! I wouldn't want to ever go to that stage!!
xbox.. actually hor.. i'm same as u le.. all my specs also ard same price region as urs.
My current one bought ard 8 yrs ago @ $116 lens + frame, n i nvr really choose, jus take cheap one.
Mayb now old le, so tot of getting something good for my eyes + looks good! since i'll b wearing them everyday mah, if u divide it by the number of years wearing, it mayb worth e cost...
haha thanks! i did not get it jus becoz it's porsche... nor becos it's exclusivity.
Cos i went to many many optical shops tried e frames, but did not like them either becos it's hard on me, does not fit well n does not look good..
This porsche seems to score well in all these 3 factors..
how much does the Essilor Transitions Aspherical Crizal 1.67AS lens costs?
Does Carl Zeiss has Aspherical lens?
I'm more inclined towards Zeiss cos jus have a feeling they mayb better den Essilor... n since u mentioned ur Essilor Transitions HMC scratches easily.. saw in a brochure all nikon single vision lens comes with aspheric design... wonder if nikon comes w Transition..hmmm...
Was ur Essilor Transitions lens of polycarbonate material? This material is less breakable compared with all other lens, but scratches easily...
Well ok, since I'm more favoring 1.67 index den i probably go for aspheric lens.. hope it's not too expensive though....
Reason why i need Transition is only becos i live in e west, every morning go office, e sun light is glaring straight into my eyes, making it difficult n dangerous to travel on road.. same goes for after work. If not becos of this, i would not have gotten Transition cos it's soo ex...(jus not worth e $$$)
Anyway, I will take note of ur advice n seriously consider again if i can do without Transition, let me check out e Essilor Transitions Aspherical Crizal 1.67AS lens u recommend!
yes, totally agree with u! Transition is jus for convenient's sake, it's not a neccessity![]()
hahaha... *Touch wood man!!! I wouldn't want to ever go to that stage!!![]()
Zeiss do have aspherical lens but not sure about the pricing. My previous Essilor Transition lens was normal CR39 material, not the polycarbonate ones. I also have Sola Transition lens before also scratches very easily, it is more scratch prone than polycarbonate, maybe the material is soft? I don't know.
I not sure about the cost about the Essilor Transition Aspherical Crizal 1.67.
I got the Essilor Crizal 1.67AS aspherical for $246
Left eye -250, Astig -200
Right eye -250, Astig -175
If u are driving, forget about Transitions Lens. It probably will not work while u are driving because ur windshield have blocked UV lights.
No fear, it is the coming of age. You have 75% chance of getting it (basing on observation from my group of friends). Most of my friends got it around 38 years old. Mine started around 37.
is it good to have the lens with uv protector or smth like the lens will turn dark when exposed to sunglight?
Got such thing as lenses that don't scratch easily?
Can really salute some bros here, use spectacles for 8yrs. I've never use 1 pair for more than 5. That's why my current pair breaking records already.![]()
hmmm... jus check out the prices at optical 88 vivo,
Nikon 1.6 Aspherical (HMC) = $216
Nikon 1.67 Transition ( Crizal A2 ) = $738
Essilor 1.67 Transition (Crizal A2) = $720
so ex for Aspherical + Transition???
Polycarbonate material does not break easily, but more prone to scratches compared with CR39. Tat's why CR39 is the better choice compared with Polycarbonate.
i'm actually using it when riding, not driving. Helmet does not hv sunscreen so bobian
Guess I have to make a choice between Aspheric or Transition.... tat's tough!!!!
wahh... u say like tat hor.... hmm,,, mayb it's contagious lor..
I understand it comes with age, but oso only if you strain ur eyes alot? like watch alot of computers etc?
Basically all lenses you buy now should come with multi-coating, if i'm not wrong. The multi coating should contain UV protection, smudge resistance, eliminate reflections etc. You can check with your optician if they provide those.
Lenses that turn dark when exposed to sunlight is Transition lens. They are quite expensive n works basically the same way as a sunglass, to shield your eyes from sunlight.
hi bro, there's no such thing as lenses tat don't scratch easily. It depends on how ppl take care of their specs. My friend bought a pair n in jus one year, it was badly scratched cos she basically dumped it with her keys.
Yup my specs is ard 8 yrs alre, lenses alre turn yellowish... so bobian time to change!
but actually i only use the specs like once or twice a week, tat's y i can use so long![]()
Our forefathers went under the sun for longer periods than most of us ever do and they never had transition lenses did they? Heck, some of them have even better eye sight than us.
So, at the end of the day do we really need Transition lenses? I personally don't see the need. If i want to shield my eyes, I'll use sunglasses with lenses made by Oakley. Guaranteed protection.