The Spectacles Thread.

_MaOMaO_

Bro $390 is alright price but frankly speaking can get for $350 in singapore. anyway the $40 diff is not much and if you walk ard wasting time n energy to find the cheapest specs also not worth the $40.

Crizal coating is from essilor

ooh from what shop to get that cheaper price? i thought my price was okay cause the salesperson showed me the swissflex catalog and it says.. suggested retail price : $380

ohj81

ooh from what shop to get that cheaper price? i thought my price was okay cause the salesperson showed me the swissflex catalog and it says.. suggested retail price : $380

Only local Oakley sells at SRP...

cowculator

Swiss flex sell for at least 20% below RRP, many shops even more. They can sell you frame for $200 and still make money but most shops not going to do it and spoil the market.

Singapore is a very capitalist market in this regard, because all the dealers and makers know people here are myopic and like brand names. Hokkien say "Beat die cannot run", best kind of market for them. Also, running shoes very expensive, even when compared to Ang moh country. Asics top end model selling more than $300 and most are $200. Given all this free trade thing and proximity to China and Vietnam, things should be cheaper than US/ Australia, even Europe but they are not, because dealers here are f***ing greedy. Everyone here, rush to become exclusive dealer, and then once attained, start to control prices and charge super high. All b******s, margin at least 300%, usually more. You think of any famous overseas brand, when people start to bring it into Singapore, usually irrationally more expensive. Jeans, glasses, shoes, sports apparel, you name it.

But even worse, I know some optical shop buy unknown brand frames straight from manufacturer in China or through Hong Kong for $6 per piece and sell you for $70-80 without lens. People still buy, because price conscious people will look at the branded stuff at $200 above and think at below $100, they got themselves a bargain. I work in this industry and know all their tricks.

peaceheart

I just bought a Swissflex frameless spectacles. one of their new model.

my degree for left and right eye is 175 and 200. Astig about 100.

Lens is polycarbonate from Essilor. Anti-scratch, mutli coat, UV, Hi index

total = $390

was it a good deal?

im not sure whether its a gd deal anot but just to share.

my fren got his at 300(frame+lens). his degree v mild....100-200 those kind.

i got mine in june at 400. my degree is 400-500. asti <100

Lens is unbrand plastic lens. mutli coat, Hi index....

evets

actually for lens. its really hard to know what u r getting as there are no certificate to proof whether u got what u are promise...we can only rely on the credibility and worthiness of the shop..

i recently just got 2 pairs of specs...and i was only given 20%...should have bargain for more...they didnt even talk much about the lenses...just keep bombarding me with frames for me to choose from...

peaceheart

actually for lens. its really hard to know what u r getting as there are no certificate to proof whether u got what u are promise...we can only rely on the credibility and worthiness of the shop..

i recently just got 2 pairs of specs...and i was only given 20%...should have bargain for more...they didnt even talk much about the lenses...just keep bombarding me with frames for me to choose from...

i thot got cert? remember getting 1 last time many years back.

nway yah i feel that getting a gd lens is as impt as getting a gd frame.

craic26

im not sure whether its a gd deal anot but just to share.

my fren got his at 300(frame+lens). his degree v mild....100-200 those kind.

i got mine in june at 400. my degree is 400-500. asti <100

Lens is unbrand plastic lens. mutli coat, Hi index....

Hi there, where did u get your frame from?

PopMusic

Hi guys..

i need some help from ya guys.. i jes get my new contact lens.. Biomedics 38 lens..

I check on the net on this particular lens.. It states it is a bi-weekly disposable lens.. however the optician told me it is are mthly used.. Now i am in doubt which want is more correct..

Hope someone can give me some advice.. :)

Darkangle

Just ordered my Tag Heuer Reflex half frame today :D:D

with red temples :D

Now will be joining the Tag team..hehe..with Pank85,guoyi,evets and evit4erc :D

Darkangle

http://www.herschelle.net/?tag=tag-heuer-reflex

Gosh check this out....tag frameless =O

FTW!

get_image.php

Carnage

Still prefer framless.
What's the price you pay and where did you get it?

Everyone getting the rubber tyre wan, so common nowadays. Maybe i should get their normal spectacles. :D

Darkangle

Still prefer framless.
What's the price you pay and where did you get it?

Everyone getting the rubber tyre wan, so common nowadays. Maybe i should get their normal spectacles. :D

I paid about $600 for it including lenses

I thought so too...until i tried it on...

and after seeing that link lol..not anymore

Isn't normal specs EVEN MORE COMMON? hahaha:s13::s13:

Carnage

I paid about $600 for it including lenses

I thought so too...until i tried it on...

and after seeing that link lol..not anymore

Isn't normal specs EVEN MORE COMMON? hahaha:s13::s13:
Normal specs by Tag Heuer... ahh... different thing. Never seen anyone wore it yet. Their track series, throw 1 stone on orchard road maybe got chance to hit 1 person wearing it. (Especially your model, half frame type) Of course not seeing anyone with it doesn't mean don't have.

And I just realise that although it's marketed as a male range, some women wear it too!

$600 is the standard price, I can guess your degree already. Probably quite high unless your lens are those of good quality.

Darkangle

Normal specs by Tag Heuer... ahh... different thing. Never seen anyone wore it yet. Their track series, throw 1 stone on orchard road maybe got chance to hit 1 person wearing it. (Especially your model, half frame type) Of course not seeing anyone with it doesn't mean don't have.

And I just realise that although it's marketed as a male range, some women wear it too!

$600 is the standard price, I can guess your degree already. Probably quite high unless your lens are those of good quality.

Normal specs by Tag not that nice lehs...

true lah it's common in orchard..but who cares i love the design :D

It's a trend now sia...girls buy guys stuff...by no 1 dares to try the other way around :p

Yeah..hehe...my degree is quite high. My lenses are Carl Zeiss...cos i told them to use the same type of lens as my old 1

Carnage

Normal specs by Tag not that nice lehs...

true lah it's common in orchard..but who cares i love the design :D

It's a trend now sia...girls buy guys stuff...by no 1 dares to try the other way around :p

Yeah..hehe...my degree is quite high. My lenses are Carl Zeiss...cos i told them to use the same type of lens as my old 1

o_O
Then your frame i'm guess it's probably below $450.. Maybe as low as $390. Then that's an awesome price then. I thought ur lens put super hi-index plus UV. I'm not sure abt the pricing for Carl Zeiss but for sure it costs more than $130.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.