The Spectacles Thread.

noobzpro

hmmmm where have wide variety of rayban and good price? so far blue eye usa giving quite good discount 10+20%...

sexposed

hi can someone tell me if polarized lens are made of plastic or glass? Do they shatter like glass if you drop it? Thanks..

foreveru13

am a noob at spectacles, wanna ask, is Puma Titanium frame @180+ cheap or not? the lens would cost around 70++ total would costs me around 250+++
its very light, very nice to wear. but those normal frame, no special design.
i wanted to replace my 80dollar plus frames which i am too embarassed to wear cos the sides are huge and bended so backward.
is this a go or a no go?

foreveru13

250uqv9.jpg

looks something like this..with thinner sides, like semi transparent gello sides, says its titanium, so fitting and light on my face..my nose is flat so its surprising it fit. its a gogo for me but its a no go on my wallet! tat why wondering if this is a good price..

atypical

250uqv9.jpg

looks something like this..with thinner sides, like semi transparent gello sides, says its titanium, so fitting and light on my face..my nose is flat so its surprising it fit. its a gogo for me but its a no go on my wallet! tat why wondering if this is a good price..

No BUTS. Since you still have doubts, then I'd say No Go.

foreveru13

hmm. seems like i have to keep my eyes out for more eyewear shops.
thanks everyone for advice. :) gonna keep reading the pages..at page 256 now.

My friend just bought a pair from EyeChamp @Nex.

$130 for 1.56 CRIZAL advanced
Puma specs frame cost 140 after 50% disc

Maybe the lens are a little bit more expensive. I'm going to do one later, maybe I can try to bargain. Am I right to say that the only difference between 1.56 and 1.6 is that 1.6 lenses are thinner?

Crizal lenses have a few range. The sales lady says that the lens are the premium range (I believe is Forte). Anyway to confirm?

seems like the price i got is similar. need to shop around liao. kwong shin @ bras basah, Jurong Point & Queensway.

HKS_Hippo

i just got a pair of half rim glasses. is it okay for me to take out and put them on with one hand?

itsmee

how to see wats the index for the lens? cause wen i bought i didnt take note of the index.
my astig ard 200. degree ard 500 crizal lens lai de

foreveru13

$130 for 1.56 index is exp man if u buy recently....

OK me went for the kill. really over budget for this Puma titanium frame & crizal lens.
was intending to take my current lens and place into a small frame cheap one but end up hook on puma. its so comfortable and light and never had a frame fit my flat nose lor.

went to marsiling - the specs shop at the other side, blk 166 #01-533 Morrison Optical, many range. big shop, many brands, if u like a particular model you saw elsewhere, just let them know they get other branches to get it in...which was what i did................:D

crizal advance 1.56 - $130
crizal easy - 1.56 - $90
crizal standard - 1.56 - $60
crizal advance with transition - 1.56 - $promo price 180. original i saw on the card is 225? (cannot rem) he say now got promotion so maybe other outlets also having?

my cost was 280.
crizal advance 1.56 - $130
puma frames - 180 (After disc) the one at causeway point quote me 230 for same model after 10% disc. ****.
total: 310
he gimme discount until sian face.
moi tell him, 'cannot...over budget.. -_-" and dun wan transistion cos moi dun wan look like blind lady under sun or humsup ger'

BTW, you guys were saying all crizal lens have the marking 'crizal' but he told me only Progressive lens have the marking. is it true?

would it be funny if i bring water, some cotton to test the water and the dust function of the specs when i collect it?

atypical

i just got a pair of half rim glasses. is it okay for me to take out and put them on with one hand?

Regardless full-frame / half-frame / no-frame, N E V E R put on / remove your specs with 1 hand.

1). You are not 独臂刀 !
2). You are going to damage your frame, and whatever adjustments your optician had done on the frame to fit you

Cultivate a good spec handling and cleaning habit, and you will appreciate good frames more. These in turn save you more money.

Your eye-sight deteriorates due to natural aging no count! :D

HKS_Hippo

Regardless full-frame / half-frame / no-frame, N E V E R put on / remove your specs with 1 hand.

1). You are not 独臂刀 !
2). You are going to damage your frame, and whatever adjustments your optician had done on the frame to fit you

Cultivate a good spec handling and cleaning habit, and you will appreciate good frames more. These in turn save you more money.

Your eye-sight deteriorates due to natural aging no count! :D

Will spoil after some time

-----
This message is sent from HWZ forums iPhone app

Thanks for the advice!:s12:

MBoI1986

Any recommendation on good specs frame, decent price with good lens coating, but without ear hook

Outsider_27

I do research on lens prices/performance from internet. thereafter, will use personal preferences and raves on net as rough guide.

Personally, I have used ''generic mass public type'' of lens. Encounter this particular lens i wore that gave ''artificial'' clearity caused by lens magnified effect. (That's how i feel in my personal describtion)

Regarding the lens, for the whole of one month. I felt giddy to the max, everthing looks too clear and slightly magnified. TORTURE MAN!

soon after, went to more recognised optical shop i deemed, got sekio 1.67, price not bad, clarity is there, yet comfortable. BUT after 3 years, the right lens with astigmatism prescribtion coating got peeled off.

my rule of thumb, spend wat u can afford...Tell optician ur budget, see if he/she can get u a premium lens within the price range.Ask for certification if getting premium lens, if not equivilant to useless also:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.