The Spectacles Thread.

atypical

i think its a matter of time before paint drops off.

Need to check with you something. U know the plastic earsocks that they use to cover the temple tip? DO they get scratched easily? My Dun plastic temple tip is alreay scratched but the rest of the metal part still remains unscathed & shining .:s11: And do water seep inside those plastic covers?

Plastics do get scratches easily, but that's also their character, don't worry about it. My specs' temple ends don't get scratched much, but tiny lines more or less have. They age like I do! hahahahaa .... :D

Now that you mentioned, I realised I only have 1 pair of specs with metal temples with plastic/rubber earsocks! But no, I don't think water will seep in, considering DUN a respectable maker.

atypical

recnamor

i oso tot of that before and if for lao hua then good leh... futureproof. lol
But l dun think as quite stupid to make spec like this for lao hua...

llvisionll

For those who knows, please read those Japanese wordings... it seems like...

The flip-up lens are meant for easier lens & frame maintenance for optical shop as well as providing better accessibility for cleaning the spec in general especially those nose pad area.

Seannie

For those who knows, please read those Japanese wordings... it seems like...

The flip-up lens are meant for easier lens & frame maintenance for optical shop as well as providing better accessibility for cleaning the spec in general especially those nose pad area.

im confused. So what is the original intended purpose for the flip-up? Targeted at Laohua (presbyopia) or ease of cleaning? I do not understand what the japanese words meant & their website are all in jap no english translation :( i think they ought to think abt this aspect for overseas consumers especially if they intend to expand their market. If it is meant for easier maintenance, i wonder why onlyone model has it & not the rest of the even newer models. For information, the DUN 2055 is rolled out in July 2012 & those rolled out later in Dec 2012 all are the normal ones. :s11: What are the japanese thinking?

Seannie

Just got DUN-2055. Its build is solid n good in my opinion.

hmmm, wonders how long Dun specs can last under normal usage & circumstances. Lifetime? 15 years? My optician says that due to wear & tear, specs wont last a lifetime. So, if you like DUN-2055 or any specific model better buy & keep first cos they may not repeat stocks after its sold out. Just like award winning model DUN-LC10 which rolled out in 2010 has already been sold out & they terminated new orders.

Seannie

anybardy hav any idea where hav the widest range of ic berlin frames? tia! =)

One optical shop at chinatown told me he has the widest range in singapore. Not sure if true or not. He has a whole wall panel of icberlin. maybe abt 100 odd pairs. Name of the shop : VG Optical

Seannie

Seannie: Have you gotten your LC already? ^^

Haven made it yet. Still having a bit of reservations on DUN. Though they look good & solid enough, im not so sure abt the fitting after wearing for a few months. The grip is not as good. I think its the nature of plastic, tends to slide on oily skin. Both the nosepads & temple tips are made of plastic. Not sure why most specs like to use plastic material on nosepads & ear tips. More durable?

But i may go down to my optician soon again. Now is just past the cny period not that ideal to make specs. Alot shops rushing orders for customers pre & post cny period so i will avoid. Im concerned abt quality & craftsmanship etc. The less busier lens lab are the better so that higher chance of producing better quality and lesser errors.

Raptor1

Sound advice, i am intending to go down today to take a look at their available collections. Was planning to make a pair today, but after reading your post, i am having some reservations. Might just test the models and KIV instead :D

Raptor1

Haven made it yet. Still having a bit of reservations on DUN. Though they look good & solid enough, im not so sure abt the fitting after wearing for a few months. The grip is not as good. I think its the nature of plastic, tends to slide on oily skin. Both the nosepads & temple tips are made of plastic. Not sure why most specs like to use plastic material on nosepads & ear tips. More durable?

But i may go down to my optician soon again. Now is just past the cny period not that ideal to make specs. Alot shops rushing orders for customers pre & post cny period so i will avoid. Im concerned abt quality & craftsmanship etc. The less busier lens lab are the better so that higher chance of producing better quality and lesser errors.
I just went down today, had a chat with the "couple" in the shop. Haha.. When I asked about the LC-02, they mentioned you. :p

Tried the DUN-2050 Grey. Seems nice. Contemplating between a Hoya SFT 1.67 Clear or Transitions.

Assuming I am getting Transitions, would Grey or Brown be better?

Seannie

I just went down today, had a chat with the "couple" in the shop. Haha.. When I asked about the LC-02, they mentioned you. :p

Tried the DUN-2050 Grey. Seems nice. Contemplating between a Hoya SFT 1.67 Clear or Transitions.

what did they say abt LC002? did you get to try it on?

why dont you ask them for advice on the lenses? I think they can provide better and more reliable advice.

llvisionll

Depend on ur lifestyle. Ur work is indoor or outdoor type (or always on the go e.g.driving)? Mine always stay inside office... so 80 percent of my time wont be able to make use of transition lens.
And hw much they for ur hoya stf 1.67 clear and how much more u need to pay for transition? U need to know as well

ohj81

Can consider CZ photofusion as well.

Raptor1

what did they say abt LC002? did you get to try it on?

why dont you ask them for advice on the lenses? I think they can provide better and more reliable advice.
I did not get to try on the LC002 as they do not have stocks for it. :(
Shall check with them on which tint to get if i intending to get transitions.

llvisionll : Price wise, it is about $200 difference between clear and transitions.
I do not need the transitions as i am a office worker too, but then again this is more like a want, instead of a need.

I did not get a breakdown of the price as they quoted me together with a frame which cost 400++, so total is 900++ vs 1100++

Seannie

yar, personally i prefer Dun's gray / blue colour. hoya sft is good. and if you order from that shop, i dont think you will get any problems. My lens ordered from them are comfortable & sharp vision & craftsmanship quite ok. Vision is clearer than the same lens ordered from Nanyang optical. After wearing the current pair, i cant get used to switching back to my older pair made at nanyang coz i found that it become blurred, meaning that the current pair most likely has a better focus.

Raptor1

yar, personally i prefer Dun's gray / blue colour. hoya sft is good. and if you order from that shop, i dont think you will get any problems. My lens ordered from them are comfortable & sharp vision & craftsmanship quite ok. Vision is clearer than the same lens ordered from Nanyang optical. After wearing the current pair, i cant get used to switching back to my older pair made at nanyang coz i found that it become blurred, meaning that the current pair most likely has a better focus.
Just made a pair with them :D

Crayons&Qoo

Does anyone have any recommendations for plain spectacles in a price range of <$250 for a full set, or know of a specific shop where the frames would be considerably less expensive than mall retailers?

Something that looks like this: (Can't post links, so sorry for the inconvenience)

coolframes.com/get_image.php?fid=36151&color=O002&alt=
smartbuyglasses.co.uk/public/images/designer_eyeglasses/Mont%20Blanc/Mont%20Blanc%20MB0156%200B5.jpg

Looking for a more subtle and timeless looking frame; strangely attracted to mostly the top designer stuff like CK, Hugo Boss, Porsche Design, Montblanc, Ray Bans etc. :(

Also maybe considering ordering online from Zenni Optical instead, and saving tons of cash in the process. Does anyone have past experience dealing with them?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.