The Spectacles Thread.

Oohladonutz

Problem with online purchase is that you do not know the fit of the frames. Some frames look nice but the fitting is not right.

the online sites that I shop will indicate the dimensions, tha's why I got a nice fit. Fret not, my sister bought a Marc by Marc Jacob frame online recently but It was a bit tight. The optician juz bend it a bit and it fits perfectly well now.

Oohladonutz

Problem with online purchase is that you do not know the fit of the frames. Some frames look nice but the fitting is not right.

This is when you need professional help from optician. As our eyesight may deteriorate over time, we need to always check our eyesight so that we can wear the accurate lenses to correct our short sightedness.

noinimod

Well.. knowing the dimensions doesn't always automatically translate to getting a good fit. You don't know how something fits unless you wear it. Just like food, how to know what it tastes like without tasting it?!

I'm all for buying online if you have tried the frame in person and if the local shops are charging a kidney for it, but before that, everyone deserve to know what that particular frame feels like on your face before splashing out good money for it. Unless it's dirt cheap :D

papaya00

So in conclusion buying online is much cheaper but measurement wise depends on luck and skill of buyer?

Pardon me I am newbie in this glasses. Big chain store like e.g capital optical, nayang optical vs neighbourhood store will the price have big difference?

Seannie

I love my dun frame. After some adjustment, it fits well and light. Great Jap product.

does your frame get scratches boh? especially on the plastic temple portion.. metal still not get scratched so easily.. plastic hor all over the place. :(

Seannie

i already bought close to 5 pairs of frame with lenses online and 1 more on the way... no problem with fitting....;).. first of all they will state all the length of all the parts of the frame.. 2nd u can upload yr face pics and roughly see the frame suit yr face or not... 3rd... u can actually adjust the frame yrself when it reach u to contour yr head... After learning few tricks i no more visiting local optical shops... local shop optician most dun know how to adjust the frame to make it comfortable... i can myself do it much better... I also done for my loves one... they no more specs sliding down issue. no more pain here or there behind ear

wah elite spotted! CAn help us adjust our specs? What tools do you use at home? You have plier?

Boltstorm

the online sites that I shop will indicate the dimensions, tha's why I got a nice fit. Fret not, my sister bought a Marc by Marc Jacob frame online recently but It was a bit tight. The optician juz bend it a bit and it fits perfectly well now.

hi can recommend some online store?

Nakedtoes

So in conclusion buying online is much cheaper but measurement wise depends on luck and skill of buyer?

Pardon me I am newbie in this glasses. Big chain store like e.g capital optical, nayang optical vs neighbourhood store will the price have big difference?

why need luck.. u got yr old pair of specs measure the dimensions and get something close lor..

Lens Width:
Lens Height:
Bridge Width:
Arm Length:

Boltstorm

if i go to local optician to get prescription only, how much should i expect to pay? any recommended optician? have not checked my eyes in a long time

papaya00

Bought b buffel frame with tokai high index lenses ( clear lenses) from better vision @ 393. Decent?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.