The Spectacles Thread.

for-kel

Anyone own a pair special eye glasses?
Quoted 1.67 Crizal lens and frame $750 worth it?

Seannie

Put your money where your mouth is and not your foot. Reject your optician next time they offer you a discount. Tell them you value their service and advice. :s13: don't forget to give him/ her a tip too.
Don't be a hypocrite, go ask for a lower pay as well. Tell your boss you want to work for satisfaction :s13:.

Seanie... please go ask all the 8 year olds what brands sell well and tell me if it's rayban, or would they prefer Spiderman

And sales quota? :s13:
I mentioned it before, dun isn't on consignment. You buy / order and sell it.
Not selling? Best hope it tastes good with pepper. Large chain rejected? :s13: you don't reject a brand. You simply stop ordering if it doesn't sell. Capitol services the general public. Items sold are mass market consumer products. Dun is not that.
There are stores under the same management, selling dun or related products to a niche market. But Capitol as a chain isn't going to push dun.

despite you actually calling me names first.
But you're really really sore that I don't agree with you :s22:

Just to clarify. I am not a hyprocrite. I put my $ where my mouth is. I rarely ask for discounts and If i like my optician service products i return to patronise buy more even if i dont have the need to. I condone good products, not just sellable products. Opticians with your kind of know-all attitude i avoid shun and count myself suay if i meet such.

And y shouldnt i call your name as it is? Your name is oldbreadstinks. So isnt it stinking old bread? Just a reversal. Did i call u f$$$ or wadeva rat names? I didnt. Pls see carefully before u accuse me. If u cant see clearly pls get yurself a laohua specs or let other optician check for u first before rambling away here. Call u names? I cant be bothered to. If u hadnt put Dun down in previous posts, i wouldnt even bother to say anyting associated with u.

And when i mention sales quota im not even referring to dun. Im saying japonism 999.9 which capitol used to carry. Pls rewind and see my post again carefully. Dont post just for the sake of posting or trying to act smart. Disappeared for a year and then come back here after a year to reply people questions vigorously here, for obvious reasons. Trying to solicit potential customers thats why. If really so sincere why gone for a long time and only back at this time? Becos u noe that year end is near alot people will be hunting for new specs.

My job is well underpaid. Y shd i ask for a lower pay? U had nothing better to say than this?

And don belittle 8 yr olds nowadays. They are way much smarter than you are.

for-kel

They said 580$ for frame leh... Got discount.

How the frame har. I find it vy light like not bad leh.

Seannie

They said 580$ for frame leh... Got discount.

How the frame har. I find it vy light like not bad leh.

Hmmm where did u see it? $580 should be marked up already. After discount should not be more than $450 else tio carrot liao. Yes, in terms of weight i tried before very very light. And the material is special kind of plastic supposedly strong & durable, even under high temperature. Normal plastic frame under extreme heat may deform but this brand looks stronger. Can bend alot oso. Optician claim that you throw or whack also wont spoil. I dunno nv tried before.

Myself i didnt buy becos i sit diwn there tried a few mins realise that though light, the grip not strong enough so u may feel a bit funny frame may slide a bit but good thing is thrir nosepad is silicone better grip and the nosepad distance designed quite clise together. So depends on u. Maybe becos its v flexible so the grip is lesser at the back.

naziree

Hi, anyone can comment about hoya remark lens with blue control? I am thinking of buying it but dont know whether effective or not in reducing eye fatigue when reading and working with laptop. As remark lens are kinda progressive, would it be difficult to get use to?

ralliart12

Hi, anyone can comment about hoya remark lens with blue control? I am thinking of buying it but dont know whether effective or not in reducing eye fatigue when reading and working with laptop. As remark lens are kinda progressive, would it be difficult to get use to?

I dunno about any "remark" series but I'm having Hoya lens with Blue Control & it does seem to lessen the fatigue I've from staring at monitors for extended period of time. Note though: they will give your lenses a blue tint when light hits them at certain angles (for me, it's most apparent when I'm bending down to wash my hands in the wash room & I see the "blue" in my reflection in the mirror); but no tint when viewed straight on. & not for use cases when you need absolute accurate white balance because the blue control will affect the color balance slightly, but for general purpose use I'll say it is fine (the blue control thingy).

ralliart12

Saw a new spectacle shop called "Owndays" at Somerset 313 (lvl B2) 2 days ago. Coincidentally found a frame that suits my face, i.e. the nosepad are extended very much which prevents the frame from sliding down overall. Too bad I'm not in the market for a new pair at the moment. The shop seems to sell cheap bi-aspheric lenses, some titanium frames & some plastic frames that are supposed to be unbreakable. 1 thing I'd like is that their frames are in shelves where the customers can anyhow try on; but the angle of their mirrors a bit queer, i.e. low & pointing downwards...

ralliart12

Btw, how do I tell, if my frequent (once a week) washing with hand soap, is damaging my lens' coating? In fact, may I know how to discern if lens' coating is worn off/damaged?

Lexyyy

Anyone can recommend what lenses and frame to go for with a budget of <=$350 and where to get them from? Power is -4.00 last checked, uninformed of the presence of astigmatism. Read through the past 50 pages seems like most of the popular lenses go for >$200. Any frame of decent quality at affordable pricing? Ideal style would be something like this
djual2-680x469.jpg

Upzz for help! Does anyone know how much Hoya 1.6 transition lens will cost? Also, will 1.6 lens fit this kind of plastic frame?

Imperado

It's actually ultra violet rays that causes it to change color. So if you're in a car with uv screen your lenses won't change colour no matter how much light there is.

On the other hand, if your monitor is making your transitions lenses change colour, I suggest you change your monitor.

Yes they're naturally grey, retails generally +/- $250 comes with different index some mirror tinted, and with back surface multicoat
Myopia and astigmatism prescription.

Ahh.. i was actually wanting to use it for car.. since you said so I believe transitions is more or less useless for me..

For polarized sunglass do i get it from optical shop or ?

Solidus_GZ

Bros how you identify hoya lens? I just ordered a pair of ray ban from holiday plaza focus point with hoya 1.6 transition lens for 850 rm, hope that this will be a good deal.

android

Anybody heard of this brand mono design eyewear from Korea? The frame is supposedly made of a material known as beta plastic which is very light and flexible?

steffleupagus

yellows plus?

anyone know where i can find Yellows Plus frames in singapore? and anyone know roughly the price range? thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.