The Spectacles Thread.

fion123

Boughts specs in JB (not sure if it is cheaper, any feedbacks)

Dear All,

Me and my hubby bought specs from this jb shop (level 1 near the JCO doughnuts) yesterday. The service is good, they provide cleaning service of our current specs the two times we went in. (different days)..customer service is good..we spend around 2 hours choosing our specs..

Yesterday, i was charmed by an agnes b plastic frame..it was RM800 plus for frame only b4 discount..they ask me what kind of lenses i want, i said i want one with all the normal benefits and also add one benefit that will not strain the eyes, something called "anti-fatigue"..(8 hours also wont tired). We ask for discount and finally with frame + lenses, mine was RM810 = SGD320 after discount..is it considered cheap? i have not compared the price in SG before for agnes b plastic frames.my degree is 300~ and 400~

My hubby bought an esprit frame..cost around RM240 = SGD93 frame only..the lenses because his astigmatism is very high (more than 150 for both eyes), have to custom made and have to pay slightly higher..after discount it is RM840 = SGD326..is this considered cheap?

Hope to hear some of your advice..Thanks!! :)..

oldbreadstinks

Dear All,

Me and my hubby bought specs from this jb shop (level 1 near the JCO doughnuts) yesterday. The service is good, they provide cleaning service of our current specs the two times we went in. (different days)..customer service is good..we spend around 2 hours choosing our specs..

Yesterday, i was charmed by an agnes b plastic frame..it was RM800 plus for frame only b4 discount..they ask me what kind of lenses i want, i said i want one with all the normal benefits and also add one benefit that will not strain the eyes, something called "anti-fatigue"..(8 hours also wont tired). We ask for discount and finally with frame + lenses, mine was RM810 = SGD320 after discount..is it considered cheap? i have not compared the price in SG before for agnes b plastic frames.my degree is 300~ and 400~

My hubby bought an esprit frame..cost around RM240 = SGD93 frame only..the lenses because his astigmatism is very high (more than 150 for both eyes), have to custom made and have to pay slightly higher..after discount it is RM840 = SGD326..is this considered cheap?

Hope to hear some of your advice..Thanks!! :)..

you're not being carrot headed if that's your question

assuming your hubby doesn't care for the seasonal thingy, espirit usually retails $100 +/- here, frames alone
some do throw lenses in but that's at their own discretion
astig doesn't cost you extra unless you go over -2.00
even then, some not so well known labs stock extended cyl lenses which allows mama papa shops you've visited since young to still allow their traditional prices

i can't recall but a neighbour as in same trade but different company carried agnes b, as a distributor or something
they were selling at $100+ to $200+ for retail

oldbreadstinks

Such expensive frame need to pair with expensive lens le....zeiss sv individual!

that isn't expensive if you know what it is

for up market lenses , people often pay that price and not get a sv individual

just nw went and tried this, wears not bad.. but wow the price tag... lol. they told me got 20%.

thats frame only still havent source the lens. :o
anyone got experience with lindberg?
why not just source the lenses from them as well as ask for 20% too?

it's light, no screws so no iron based metals which would rust
mainly titanium, handcrafted so if you were to buy a piece they can claim their frames are made of titanium instead of a traditional design where the legs are screwed in (screws rust)

bill gates worn one at one point lol:s22:

Anybody can tell me which range is this Carl Zeiss lens: 1.67 AS Lotutec?

roughly $320rrp? for stock range

oldbreadstinks

Penisula Plaza #B1-12
friendly n experienced staff,
their frames also quite alot!

wat the cheapest brand at owndays anyone noes?

i've heard $98 don't know if there's anything lower

as for their experienced staff, they offered quite good compensation, and great hours
normally it drags to 11-12 hours but their work day is only 8hrs or so I heard
coupled with great pay, a lot of disgruntled staff hop over

they don't seem to do branded or much branded stuff, more interested in keeping prices low. they either manufacture their own frames or outsource it to be manufactured
should have a global lens deal as well with a former lens giant
at least that's what i heard so far:s22:

samloi

Guys can recommend me some nice frames and lens for 800bucks or so?

Dont want fashion frames, prefer those that are "true" frame makers who know wat they are doing. Lens preferbly CZ, any recommendations?

Seannie

Guys can recommend me some nice frames and lens for 800bucks or so?

Dont want fashion frames, prefer those that are "true" frame makers who know wat they are doing. Lens preferbly CZ, any recommendations?

Japanese frame & lens makers lor. Asian fit too. They are serious in what they do. Never play play.

samloi

Japanese frame & lens makers lor. Asian fit too. They are serious in what they do. Never play play.

Ohh. Any brands and shop to recommend? Jap lens I know got nikon, hoya and seiko. Frame wise i no eyedeer....usually go for those no brand ones. Lolx Any particular series to look into?

Thanks for the tips!

oldbreadstinks

:s13: shouldn't you at least go through the pretense of asking him his facial shape first?:s8:

Ohh. Any brands and shop to recommend? Jap lens I know got nikon, hoya and seiko. Frame wise i no eyedeer....usually go for those no brand ones. Lolx Any particular series to look into?

Thanks for the tips!

if your skin is thick enough, try out a few shops

most eye wear makers who sell designer frames have shops which carry their stuff along orchard's shopping belt
ngee ann city
wisma and other surrounding malls

there's another shop at the basemen
t of millennium walk that carry different stuff. quite a bit of designer stuff

samloi

:s13: shouldn't you at least go through the pretense of asking him his facial shape first?:s8:

if your skin is thick enough, try out a few shops

most eye wear makers who sell designer frames have shops which carry their stuff along orchard's shopping belt
ngee ann city
wisma and other surrounding malls

there's another shop at the basemen
t of millennium walk that carry different stuff. quite a bit of designer stuff

hmm. moi is bui bui and no need designer frames---adchili trying to avoid them cause. Always felt that those designer frames are chop carrot stuffs. Trying to look for a ergonomic based frame that is truely comfortable but if they happen to be a designer one, i dun mind.:)

Khloey13

Hi all!!

I have tried to google and search through this forum but none provided me with an answer. I just made a pair of spectacles at queensway, the shop name is: optics @ work,if im not wrong. My spectacles is a pair of japanese tortoise shell frame + carl zeiss 1.56 lens + transition and my degree is 250. No astigmatism or any addons.

And the price of my spectacles in total is $350.

May I ask is this price reasonable? I know it's too late asking but I need an answer so I can be more careful next time! Thanks in advanced for any help!! ^^:s13:

oldbreadstinks

Hi all!!

I have tried to google and search through this forum but none provided me with an answer. I just made a pair of spectacles at queensway, the shop name is: optics @ work,if im not wrong. My spectacles is a pair of japanese tortoise shell frame + carl zeiss 1.56 lens + transition and my degree is 250. No astigmatism or any addons.

May I ask is this price reasonable? I know it's too late asking but I need an answer so I can be more careful next time! Thanks in advanced for any help!! ^^:s13:
I'm assuming it's really Zeiss, you have the card and all. Logo is usually on the lens but they often leave it out these days(for specialorders )unless you
Request for it.

You may need to double check your lens as Zeiss does not carry 1.56 transitions
Both photo fusion and transition jump from 1.5 to 1.6 , rrp is $280 and $330 respectively
If it's Zeiss it should come with a card with your name on it and the lens ordered.
They can't "special order" the card so just refer to it
Zeiss does have 1.56 rrp $160

I've double checked my list
Not even ao / sola (Zeiss subsidaries ) come with 1.56 for transitions.

Seannie

Hi all!!

Hi bro, you dont need to bother oldbreadstinks just ignore his post. He only knows how to present facts which is rather obscure replies cant really answer your queries. No real experience as a consumer. Listen to me. I have patronise from optics@work before & i liked their service. Their cost v reasonable no worries abt it. And they are pretty honest.
Cheers!

oldbreadstinks

hmm. moi is bui bui and no need designer frames---adchili trying to avoid them cause. Always felt that those designer frames are chop carrot stuffs. Trying to look for a ergonomic based frame that is truely comfortable but if they happen to be a designer one, i dun mind.:)

Which is why I recommended a place with a lot of shops and not brands if you're looking for designer eyewear :s13:

ahboy82

JUST go queensway la. lots of optic shops there. most are fine.....

oldbreadstinks

Hi bro, you dont need to bother oldbreadstinks just ignore his post. He only knows how to present facts which is rather obscure replies cant really answer your queries. No real experience as a consumer. Listen to me. I have patronise from optics@work before & i liked their service. Their cost v reasonable no worries abt it. And they are pretty honest.
Cheers!

Maybe you should consider my position and how unlike you I can't bad mouth or praise people and products as and when I like?

His info provided is already showing confusion. Anything else I can provide is personal opinion.

Unless he made a mistake in the information provided
You might want to explain to him how he managed to purchase a pair of 1.56 transitions from Zeiss.
And hopefully he meant two separate pairs

You're playing nice today, no obvious insults :):s13:

oldbreadstinks

JUST go queensway la. lots of optic shops there. most are fine.....

Make sure you know what you're buying if you go beyond the first floor.
But when you're visiting just ask around. They'll usually have similar stories about the few shops there

Seannie

Thanks for the tips!

Hi bro, dont try seiko. Yes, their watches damn good but not optical lens la. My last order from seiko ends up unsatisfied as there is problem with the multicoat. So far, hoya has minimal problems. If u really like nikon u can give it a try, sme of the forummers here say not bad, but i personally dont agree. If u want best bang for your buck then the clear choice is hoya. Tokai oso jap brand but rather exp.

Seannie

Maybe you should consider my position and how unlike you I can't bad mouth or praise people and products as and when I like?

His info provided is already showing confusion. Anything else I can provide is personal opinion.

Unless he made a mistake in the information provided
You might want to explain to him how he managed to purchase a pair of 1.56 transitions from Zeiss.
And hopefully he meant two separate pairs

You're playing nice today, no obvious insults :):s13:

I seriusly wanted to give u a piece of mind, but decided not to becos it will only reflect badly on myself to degrade to yur standard. If people are free to go read yur posts on other threads they may have lesser opinion on your character.

Optics@work is on first level so no prob on that. I dont give vague textbook style facts. I provide real facts from true experiences so that others can benefit.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.