The Spectacles Thread.

chee Chris

Bet you don't know there are fakes in Queensway too. Lol. A huge number of them actually are fakes.

Thank you all for the reply.

Card is different. Confirmed kanna cheated liao.

I will go back to the shop and see if they willingly to do anything about this.

Let you guys know the results.

Sound very familiar like SLS shops with bad reputation. The blacklisted shops are listed on the poster on SLS walls beside the lifts. Then why not in Queensway SC? Dare to sell fakes mentioned in "The Spectacles Thread"; is "worse beasts" than SLS shops if it is true????

Joelleyuan

went down to a more reputable optician, was advised that it was due to the angle of which the lens is facing you

you can try it yourself by tilting your glasses away from your ears, from resting on your ears to higher until you find that vision is normal.

hence the problem isn't with the lens but with the frame. some frame may allow for adjusting, some doesn't. sadly mine doesn't

so i was told that the optician should ensure that the angle of the lens is just right for you
so you mean we got ourselves unsuitable frames and there's nothing much about changing the lens could do, right?
haizzz....

noinimod

There's a shop in toa payoh, service is bad and owner is stuck up. He actually walked away to do his own thing while i was still trying stuff, and i wasn't even there for long (<20 mins). Maybe that's why they need to advertise here lol.

Settled on a gotti frame after a long search. Very nice build quality with clean aesthetics. Highly recommended. Look around for better prices though. Mee mee optics at 313 carries a nice range but their prices are off-the-charts.

Kusanagi

so you mean we got ourselves unsuitable frames and there's nothing much about changing the lens could do, right?
haizzz....

ya lor, tio self own

but i intend to go down and ask about the free form lens aka HD lens someone mentioned in this thread earlier. it might be able to remedy our problem

if you are adventurous, can request them to cut the lens such that it is off center from the frame but perpendicular to your eyes. not sure if it is possible though

therat

There's a shop in toa payoh, service is bad and owner is stuck up. He actually walked away to do his own thing while i was still trying stuff, and i wasn't even there for long (<20 mins). Maybe that's why they need to advertise here lol.

Settled on a gotti frame after a long search. Very nice build quality with clean aesthetics. Highly recommended. Look around for better prices though. Mee mee optics at 313 carries a nice range but their prices are off-the-charts.

what is the shop name.
This thread has so many pages and some spec shop in Toa Payoh has been mention.
Unless you provide a name or else, it does not help to other ppl

popdod

finally found an optical shop selling wide and latest range
of Oliver Peoples specs.

Located at mandarin gallery , same level as Denmin store.
near toilet.

the prices kinda ex. the one I aiming for is $998.
but they have 20% discount. so around $800 for frame only.

those hunting for Oliver People can go mandarin gallery and check out.

\o/ \o/ \o/

Joelleyuan

of Oliver Peoples specs.

near toilet.

\o/ \o/ \o/
wah lau eh wu siao boh? mark up so much, 20% discount liao also crazy leh.
think Oliver Peoples generally priced ard $550-650....

ahboy82

of Oliver Peoples specs.

near toilet.

\o/ \o/ \o/

Too exp. my spec budget at most 400-500 with lens

noinimod

That mandarin gallery shop carries a lot of nice stuff. Prices are crazy, though. What you can do is, note down the model you want, then go to another cheaper shop that sells oliver peoples and ask them how much it is to bring in for you. Price can be a lot better.

Just wondering, what is the appeal of the brand for you?

Joelleyuan

mandarin gallery mah.
1cup of kopi or tea oledi cost $15-$20.

atas place. :(
popdod why dont you ask that shop in Queensway to bring in that model for you since they are selling Oliver Peoples frame as well?
i did ask them about a certain Giorgio Armani frame, left my number with them, and shortly after they got back to me and quote me a price which is the same as other shops in Queensway, but definitely cheaper than shops in other shopping malls. :)

popdod

That mandarin gallery shop carries a lot of nice stuff. Prices are crazy, though. What you can do is, note down the model you want, then go to another cheaper shop that sells oliver peoples and ask them how much it is to bring in for you. Price can be a lot better.

Just wondering, what is the appeal of the brand for you?

I did tat in Dec...and went around island to hunt.
apparently the one i wanted is so called "limited edition"
and most optical shops doesn't bring in or SOLD out.

Went to Taipei recently and hunt for it...even the Oliver People authorised dealer optical shop told me no moar carry liao.
Sad siah. :(

Actually it the frame that suits my face..
and sizing is just nice for my tiny winy face.

Wear liao jin comfortable..though i try other brands that is similar to the design...but just dunch have the "FEEL".
No fweelings. :o

Timeless design.

:love: :s12: :love:

d3n

Try AMK Central... one of the shop infront of POST OFFICE. Can remember the name, beside Hawker Center...

price range for the hoya lens?

i just got a tom ford specs from groupon deal hehe

popdod

popdod why dont you ask that shop in Queensway to bring in that model for you since they are selling Oliver Peoples frame as well?

i tried liao...queensway and bras basah.
both said the dealer no more stocks..and cant bring in any.
Whatever left is the remaining stocks in other optical shops.

And it is last year designs....haiz...

:( :o :(

Joelleyuan

:( :o :(
oh....
how about online?

popdod

oh....
how about online?

the last option will be eBay.

Actually i dun like buying stuff from eBay.
last time have some issues with seller..even though power ratings.
and have to file for money back. Kinda tedious process...

online shops...different color and sizing.
buy specs buy until sho ma huan.... :s13:
Really ultimate!

:crazy: :s13: :crazy:

ahboy82

Really ultimate!

I did tat in Dec...and went around island to hunt.
apparently the one i wanted is so called "limited edition"
and most optical shops doesn't bring in or SOLD out.

Went to Taipei recently and hunt for it...even the Oliver People authorised dealer optical shop told me no moar carry liao.
Sad siah.

Actually it the frame that suits my face..
and sizing is just nice for my tiny winy face.

Wear liao jin comfortable..though i try other brands that is similar to the design...but just dunch have the "FEEL".
No fweelings. :o

Timeless design.

:love: :s12: :love:

if that is the case,

hoot it. u did yr research very thoroughly and still cant find a better price. so hoot the pair at mandarin gallery with no regrets.

celebrate CNY in style.

\o/\o/\o/

noinimod

Really ultimate!

Yea. Maybe have to compromise and get another frame? I had to do that also. In the end, the frame i liked the most wasn't worth the money, settled for something else

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.