The Spectacles Thread.

popdod

if that is the case,

hoot it. u did yr research very thoroughly and still cant find a better price. so hoot the pair at mandarin gallery with no regrets.

celebrate CNY in style.

\o/\o/\o/

Unlike chiu leh...ur warchest got 120k...
anytime, anywhere can hoot 10,20 Oliver Peoples oso no problem.

me scrimp and save....took me yearsssssss to buy my fav. specs.

Jin moody, Jin heartbreaking.

:o :( :o

popdod

Yea. Maybe have to compromise and get another frame? I had to do that also. In the end, the frame i liked the most wasn't worth the money, settled for something else

if really cannot hoot...then try others liao..

machiam the girl u like...but she dun like u..
have to settle for buibui liao. :eek:
no fish, gotch prawns oso goot lah.

Jin moddy, Jin heartbreaking.

:sad: :( :sad:

cybercom8

anyone knows where to buy genuine tag heuer frames at good price?

last time got offer on groupon at <$200 did anyone here buy? kind of suspect sometimes, these online deals sell imitation stuff, like those S$10+ burberry umbrellas when the SRP is like $179.

ahboy82

if really cannot hoot...then try others liao..

machiam the girl u like...but she dun like u..
have to settle for buibui liao. :eek:
no fish, gotch prawns oso goot lah.

Jin moddy, Jin heartbreaking.

:sad: :( :sad:

Unlike chiu leh...ur warchest got 120k...
anytime, anywhere can hoot 10,20 Oliver Peoples oso no problem.

me scrimp and save....took me yearsssssss to buy my fav. specs.

Jin moody, Jin heartbreaking.

wa lao me dun have that much money la u think too highly of me.

anyways, the oliver people specs u posted other brands got similar design, just that the fitting or what may differ.

uncle popdod nvr consider flying over to japan and look for it? tia gong there got all models woh, and is definitely cheaper than SG. of cos if u going there for holidays then soon bian look for it. otherwise not worth it to go over there just to look for the spec.

another option : try owndays la.....i very tempted to try a pair. cheap, and very light.....

noinimod

owndays might be cheap but it's not in the same league as oliver peoples, how to compare :o

popdod: Ya try others luh. Actually, since you have small face, it should be easier to find frames in that style especially if you getting an ang moh optical brand

ahboy82

owndays might be cheap but it's not in the same league as oliver peoples, how to compare :o

popdod: Ya try others luh. Actually, since you have small face, it should be easier to find frames in that style especially if you getting an ang moh optical brand

nt too sure what u mean by same league? if u toking abt brand recognition i dun think majority of ppl noe how to spot a oliver peoples' spec frame, is there any logo or words at the side? me not sure either.

as for quality wise, well it depends isnt it? i am sure other spec frames has got similar quality at a cheaper range....

noinimod

Nope, not talking about brand recognition. Actually, all the legit optical brands don't have any visible/obvious branding to show any logo. They are a terrible choice if you want people to know what brand you're wearing.

Same league in terms of styling, materials, fit and finishing. The last point, probably the most obvious, when it comes to acetate frames. Cheap acetate frames look.. cheapo. The good acetate frames have much better finishing. Quality of materials can be felt in the hands easily. The hinge durability is also a big one.

I was searching for a very long time for nice looking cheap frames with the look and fit of higher end frames. Trust me, i went to a lot of shops and tried a lot of frames, but i couldn't find any. Maybe all the nicer looking cheap stuff was bought already :s13:

popdod

nt too sure what u mean by same league? if u toking abt brand recognition i dun think majority of ppl noe how to spot a oliver peoples' spec frame, is there any logo or words at the side? me not sure either.

as for quality wise, well it depends isnt it? i am sure other spec frames has got similar quality at a cheaper range....

Nope, not talking about brand recognition. Actually, all the legit optical brands don't have any visible/obvious branding to show any logo. They are a terrible choice if you want people to know what brand you're wearing.

Same league in terms of styling, materials, fit and finishing. The last point, probably the most obvious, when it comes to acetate frames. Cheap acetate frames look.. cheapo. The good acetate frames have much better finishing. Quality of materials can be felt in the hands easily. The hinge durability is also a big one.

Hannor hannor.
when i was younger....maybe i will wear those specs wif brands at the side....last time very popular Giorgio Armani...
go school.....haolian to classmates....

eh.....i wearing ARMANI specs....can see boh ..can see boh?

Classmates see liao....jin envy.....i feel jin satki...
but
as u grow older & wiser :D
Having a brand name at the sides is damn o-biang lah....
Simi Armani, Versace, Chanel logo....wau piang oei....

Louis-Vuitton-Neverfull-GM.jpg

It is like those kuku women carrying those monogram LV bag.
Scare ppl dunnose ish LV bag...
Alot Ah Tiong bu like to carry this kind of monogram bag.
So ppl will know ish branded...:s22:

Buy fashion wif styles & comfort....
dunch hoot for the sake of logo.

Hard Hypebeast Truths.

:eek: :o :eek:

popdod

I was searching for a very long time for nice looking cheap frames with the look and fit of higher end frames.

Trust me, i went to a lot of shops and tried a lot of frames, but i couldn't find any. Maybe all the nicer looking cheap stuff was bought already :s13:

Those who wear specs will understand this problem.

Finding the RIGHT frame that SUITS your face is very hard.

Some frames r elongated, some r bolder, some r nerdy...some r too futuristic...

Whatever kind of frame reflects your personality and your profession.

I went hunting spec for almost 3 mths liao...itz hard to find the RIGHT one.

So those looking for frames...take your time...
Finding the right frame for the right face is time consuming.
If you looking at price factor...even it doesnt suits ur face oso pointless.

It takes me yearssssss to understand this.

Hard Myopic Truths.

Joelleyuan

its not easy to find CHEAP yet nice looking frame cos the material itself will look cheap le, n the workmanship also wont be great,
BUT got quite alot of Expensive frames w not so great finishing/workmanship n feel, just the brand nia. those are so not worth it.

popdod

another option : try owndays la.....i very tempted to try a pair. cheap, and very light.....

owndays might be cheap but it's not in the same league as oliver peoples, how to compare

Went down to Somerset to take a look at Owndays...
Nice staff, good pricing, but frames design & construction...i think ok niah.

But will consider to make a spare one for emergency use...

:( =:p :(

ahboy82

I was searching for a very long time for nice looking cheap frames with the look and fit of higher end frames. Trust me, i went to a lot of shops and tried a lot of frames, but i couldn't find any. Maybe all the nicer looking cheap stuff was bought already :s13:

okok. i get what u mean.

so oliver peoples dun look cheap? oh wait. it's not even cheap to begin with. :s13::s13::s13:

ahboy82

Hannor hannor.
when i was younger....maybe i will wear those specs wif brands at the side....last time very popular Giorgio Armani...
go school.....haolian to classmates....

eh.....i wearing ARMANI specs....can see boh ..can see boh?

Classmates see liao....jin envy.....i feel jin satki...
but
as u grow older & wiser :D
Having a brand name at the sides is damn o-biang lah....
Simi Armani, Versace, Chanel logo....wau piang oei....

Louis-Vuitton-Neverfull-GM.jpg

It is like those kuku women carrying those monogram LV bag.
Scare ppl dunnose ish LV bag...
Alot Ah Tiong bu like to carry this kind of monogram bag.
So ppl will know ish branded...:s22:

Buy fashion wif styles & comfort....
dunch hoot for the sake of logo.

Hard Hypebeast Truths.

:eek: :o :eek:

hahaha uncle popdod is really damn funny. bth yr postings everytime

Nakedtoes

Hwz has the most spectacles experts n Fashions designers n sour grapes in stinkapore lol

ahboy82

Hard Myopic Truths.

this was what happen to me for my swissflex. want to sell the frame nobody want.

jin emo. jin sad

hard swissflex truths

:s13::(:s13:

ahboy82

Hard Myopic Truths.

but not easy to get it right leh.....

my swissflex the same also. maybe is i stupid or what la. at first try is damn light. love it. like nth on my head like that/ after put the lens is totally different liao.

waste my money. knn

:vijayadmin::vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

popdod

its not easy to find CHEAP yet nice looking frame cos the material itself will look cheap le, n the workmanship also wont be great,
BUT got quite alot of Expensive frames w not so great finishing/workmanship n feel, just the brand nia. those are so not worth it.

i always feel ...buy things...always buy those heritage companies...damn good in 1 area.

For example..if u wanna hoot camera,
Go for Nikon, Canon, Olympus....you wont go wrong with them.
Coz they invested so much in their own technology..

imagine u buy samsung camera......wau piang oei....how to fight?

Likewise for buying watches....u buy watches wif rich history in watch making...like seiko.....u dun buy dress watches...simi CK watch.

of coz.....this ish my extreme view when cums to hooting things.

:o :) :o

popdod

but not easy to get it right leh.....

my swissflex the same also. maybe is i stupid or what la. at first try is damn light. love it. like nth on my head like that/ after put the lens is totally different liao.

waste my money. knn

:vijayadmin::vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

Last time i oso have this problem....keep buying different pair
until realise it doesnt looks goot...or maybe just impulse buying.

i think i wasted alot $$$ on those seldom wear glasses.
ended up i donated those glasses...or sell in hwz...
Lugi alot siah...

:( :vijayadmin: :(

ahboy82

Last time i oso have this problem....keep buying different pair
until realise it doesnt looks goot...or maybe just impulse buying.

i think i wasted alot $$$ on those seldom wear glasses.
ended up i donated those glasses...or sell in hwz...
Lugi alot siah...

:( :vijayadmin: :(

how to sell in hwz? i selling my swissflex frame at 100buck like nobody want leh

wa liew eh

ahboy82

i always feel ...buy things...always buy those heritage companies...damn good in 1 area.

For example..if u wanna hoot camera,
Go for Nikon, Canon, Olympus....you wont go wrong with them.
Coz they invested so much in their own technology..

imagine u buy samsung camera......wau piang oei....how to fight?

Likewise for buying watches....u buy watches wif rich history in watch making...like seiko.....u dun buy dress watches...simi CK watch.

of coz.....this ish my extreme view when cums to hooting things.

:o :) :o

but the ck watch jin swee leh some models.......

:s22::s22::s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.