The Spectacles Thread.

Seannie

Those who wear specs will understand this problem.

Finding the RIGHT frame that SUITS your face is very hard.

It takes me yearssssss to understand this.

Hard Myopic Truths.

:o :( :o

It took me 20 years & no less than 20k to understand this hard truth. Paid a very heavy price.

Seannie

I was searching for a very long time for nice looking cheap frames with the look and fit of higher end frames. Trust me, i went to a lot of shops and tried a lot of frames, but i couldn't find any. Maybe all the nicer looking cheap stuff was bought already :s13:

You couldnt find any becos there isnt any such cheap & good. U wan good ones u got to pay a price for it. Those that u see looks good & cheap are produced in bulk & likely made in china factories to cut dwn costs. In that case how good can their quality craftsmanship be?

And usually good optical brands have in house designers to mould the fitting of the frames before production. Cheapo brands just anyhow hoot a mould and produce so how good fit u expect? On par with highend frames? In optical line v difficult la.

Seannie

wa 20k, 20 years.

ok la. 1k per year. still ok.....

Bro pls read deeper. Im toking abt those wastages frames that cant be worn hor. Haven include those that i can wear.

1k wastage per year u say ok mah?!?!

Seannie

Seannie: Which is exactly my point - there's no cheap and good.

Yar i have to work extra hard just to be able to pay off good quality frame & lenses, one pair easily over 1k now & prices keep increasing faster than my pay cheque. Die die must make my money work harder. Jin chamz ah!

ahboy82

Bro pls read deeper. Im toking abt those wastages frames that cant be worn hor. Haven include those that i can wear.

1k wastage per year u say ok mah?!?!

wa okok chill chill

money paid already, dun be emo over it.......

Nakedtoes

Nakedtoes

Seannie: Which is exactly my point - there's no cheap and good.

part 2........................

Just made a new pair of Ray ban... My 5th pair of specs...

images

ray-ban-5225-2034-black+fr++productPageXtraLarge.jpg

images

Made a pair for my wife... Armani exchange..

armani-exchange-239-0ans-black-ruthenium+me++productPageXtraLarge.jpg

Both pairs include shipping to singapore not over $200...=:p actual cost can be cheaper by $40++ because my wife one is thin lens..

Nakedtoes

Yar i have to work extra hard just to be able to pay off good quality frame & lenses, one pair easily over 1k now & prices keep increasing faster than my pay cheque. Die die must make my money work harder. Jin chamz ah!

can always boycott them too bad sinkies like to kana chop by them... a pc of plastic frames can sell at $800 really more ex then gold or titanium precious metal LOL

noinimod

This is not about online vs local prices leh. Of course online is gonna be cheaper.

Oakley, Prada, ray ban, Armani is your idea of good eyewear brands? They've got nothing on legit brands.

Nakedtoes

Yeah lar to u high class ppl Oakley, Prada, ray ban, Armani are lousy brands lar. It's not about online or local shop. I know got rent to cover but can see how much they earn.

Seannie

This is not about online vs local prices leh. Of course online is gonna be cheaper.

Oakley, Prada, ray ban, Armani is your idea of good eyewear brands? They've got nothing on legit brands.

noinimod, there's no necessity to tell people who dont know or dont care about optical brands vs designer brands la, as long as its cheap to them its a good hoot. Just dont need bother. If got big heads go online buy sure waste $ end up cant wear also becos we cnat even try out the pysical spec in the first place how to buy online, like guessing game. Sometimes look good online dont mean will look good on actual person. I always take foto with my ifone when i try out frames in the shop then go home review & think thru abt the look & fit too before deciding to hoot or not. Most of the time this way wont make so much errors liao. Ahboy, u also heard me?? Dont luan luan cheong. Not sure abt fit try longer on the spot then go home think whether fit u or not after lens inserted. Yur swissflex so flimsy ofcos no sarpork on yur face la... ages ago told u to throw liao & forget abt it but u still keep bringing it up, as if u lost 10k on swissflex liketat.

Nakedtoes

noinimod, there's no necessity to tell people who dont know or dont care about optical brands vs designer brands la, as long as its cheap to them its a good hoot. Just dont need bother. If got big heads go online buy sure waste $ end up cant wear also becos we cnat even try out the pysical spec in the first place how to buy online, like guessing game. Sometimes look good online dont mean will look good on actual person. I always take foto with my ifone when i try out frames in the shop then go home review & think thru abt the look & fit too before deciding to hoot or not. Most of the time this way wont make so much errors liao. Ahboy, u also heard me?? Dont luan luan cheong. Not sure abt fit try longer on the spot then go home think whether fit u or not after lens inserted. Yur swissflex so flimsy ofcos no sarpork on yur face la... ages ago told u to throw liao & forget abt it but u still keep bringing it up, as if u lost 10k on swissflex liketat.

all the frames i got fit me nicely... maybe i got a common head shape unlike so many unique head shaped ppl.;)

ahboy82

find it heart pain to leave the swissflex at 1 corner mah. might as well sell to someone who likes it, at a cheap price.

but nobody wants.

jin muddy

Seannie

all the frames i got fit me nicely... maybe i got a common head shape unlike so many unique head shaped ppl.;)

u die die want to let all the optical shops close down then who going to check my eyesight for me then? :s11:

Cannot think of yurself oni lei, how abt those with high power astig who needs to have their angle / axis / focla point / optical centre measured correctly? Online how to measure & prescibe ?

Seannie

find it heart pain to leave the swissflex at 1 corner mah. might as well sell to someone who likes it, at a cheap price.

but nobody wants.

jin muddy

Just donate lar. Nobody will look for swissflex liao. Not for $100. Maybe $10 got takers.

Nakedtoes

u die die want to let all the optical shops close down then who going to check my eyesight for me then? :s11:

Cannot think of yurself oni lei, how abt those with high power astig who needs to have their angle / axis / focla point / optical centre measured correctly? Online how to measure & prescibe ?

thats why xxxxxx no med cure;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.