The Spectacles Thread.

dirtyjack

i was quoted $350 + $120 for frame + 1.67 lens

Are there any ways to get the frames through any authorised dealers at a better price?

If you are a little more adventurous you can try out Berlian Optic at KSL in JB. Saved $120 for my nikon see coat blue .. Their service is really good too.

Daniel.Y

If you are a little more adventurous you can try out Berlian Optic at KSL in JB. Saved $120 for my nikon see coat blue .. Their service is really good too.

I would want/dare to try out opticians in jb, as I don't frequent there, as I find it not really comfortable. It's more of the after sales service I seeking for an assurance.

I read somewhere in this thread only real men wear Oliver peoples and Masunda. Able to advise where could I view both at?

Seannie

Handle with care. My rimless silhouette frame broke at the nose bridge area when cleaning. Even if the temples are memory titanium and flexible, it is only as strong as its weakest link. Abit of a yesteryear brand now and if without lens $350 is totally not worth it.

Sorry guys, cannot SIC cos my "regular price" not applicable to others. But market rate for fixing the nosepad definitely not $70-100. Find another shop.

urband can or not? my urband anyhow throw & whack still in place becos of the spring screwless hinge.

Nakedtoes

Actually, adjusting the temples is only a small part of the solution. It would be better if you could have nose pads installed. This will cost around $25-40. See pics below. That would hold the specs better than getting the shop to bend the temples which can put pressure on the sides and back of your head. Almost any large spectacle shops have the heat blower and some can offer to install adjustable nose pads on acetate frames.

images

Also, next time, if you are buying blind i.e. online, and choosing a European/ western brand, try to avoid acetate or any material where the nose pads cannot be adjusted or simply do not exist. This is especially important if you / are Asian because we have a flatter nose bridge and also our cheekbones protrude abit more. This will cause problems with specs going down and/ or the bottom of the lens touching your cheeks or the area below your eyes.
Which shop 25 dollar? Yr shop is it?

Lurker_13

have the same problem with one of specs. Too loose and keeps slipping. if you can Sic where's the shop you mention that'll be great.

But a "haha......" from you means..? :s8:

same here, I would love to know too... wanna fix my spectacles! :(

ahboy82

I would want/dare to try out opticians in jb, as I don't frequent there, as I find it not really comfortable. It's more of the after sales service I seeking for an assurance.

I read somewhere in this thread only real men wear Oliver peoples and Masunda. Able to advise where could I view both at?

lolololol

paging for uncle popdod...

All in a Day

have the same problem with one of specs. Too loose and keeps slipping. if you can Sic where's the shop you mention that'll be great.

But a "haha......" from you means..? :s8:

Got pic of how the front of specs will look? If its too prominent then spoil the overall look

XTRNTR

Hi, sorry to ask such basic questions but the first post didn't contain any beginner information.

I am a student looking for a metallic/half-rimmed type of glasses in a conservative style as an alternative to the durable black plastic glasses that i use for everyday wear. I see a lot of people touting the brand IC Berlin here for that "executive" look, but it seems out of my price range 600-800 SGD (although there was a recent post on an online website selling this brand at around 500 SGD). Are there any other affordable alternatives?

Could anybody give me some recommendation, if my budget was around 600 SGD, what an affordable frame+lens combination would look like? I am also not knowledgeable about the type of lens, although i'm more concerned with the aesthetics of the glasses. It seems that i have to fork out around 200 SGD for a quality pair of lenses(Hoya/zeiss etc.)? What are my options and budgets here? I am willing to skimp on the lenses because i wish to use this frame for a long time, so i can swap out the lenses if i choose to in the future.

As for the shops, i live in Clementi and most of the shops listed here with a good reputation seem to be quite far. Although the most recent posts listed the basement shop at Westgate Mall and several at Queensway? So these two locations are my best bets?

Thanks all :)

jonleelk

Hi, sorry to ask such basic questions but the first post didn't contain any beginner information.

I am a student looking for a metallic/half-rimmed type of glasses in a conservative style as an alternative to the durable black plastic glasses that i use for everyday wear. I see a lot of people touting the brand IC Berlin here for that "executive" look, but it seems out of my price range 600-800 SGD (although there was a recent post on an online website selling this brand at around 500 SGD). Are there any other affordable alternatives?

Could anybody give me some recommendation, if my budget was around 600 SGD, what an affordable frame+lens combination would look like? I am also not knowledgeable about the type of lens, although i'm more concerned with the aesthetics of the glasses. It seems that i have to fork out around 200 SGD for a quality pair of lenses(Hoya/zeiss etc.)? What are my options and budgets here? I am willing to skimp on the lenses because i wish to use this frame for a long time, so i can swap out the lenses if i choose to in the future.

As for the shops, i live in Clementi and most of the shops listed here with a good reputation seem to be quite far. Although the most recent posts listed the basement shop at Westgate Mall and several at Queensway? So these two locations are my best bets?

Thanks all :)

U can try ByWP ($400+) with Hoya 1.6 HVP lens (About $150). Queensway #1 Seng Li.

XTRNTR

Is Hoya the only option, or are there cheaper alternatives? I will check out Seng Li next Monday. Thanks for the recommendation :)

popdod

lolololol

paging for uncle popdod...

finally someone appreciate Oliver Peoples spec
see past few pages Hab shop name.

just make George Oliver peoples wif Zeiss lens. at
queensway Optics @work.

look for Fion.
she has goot memory. I drop by once and after many weeks
still can remember me.
very patient and service very good.

\o/ \o/ \o/

ahboy82

finally someone appreciate Oliver Peoples spec
see past few pages Hab shop name.

just make George Oliver peoples wif Zeiss lens. at
queensway Optics @work.

look for Fion.
she has goot memory. I drop by once and after many weeks
still can remember me.
very patient and service very good.

\o/ \o/ \o/

chio or not?

:s13::s13::s13:

Guinea Pig

i've been looking around for optical shops in singapore that carry Masunaga frames!!! Saw a shop in HK and the frames were so tempting but I didn't end up buying, still regretting it. Bought a similar looking frame from Topshop, but it's sunglasses, can put in prescription lenses for it?

Anyone here bought Masunaga frames can sic the shop location and roughly how much you paid? tia!

tecnica

wah kao, checked out the ic berlin frames, 600+ siol.

add zeiss transition, about 1k liao.. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.