The Watch Thread - Part 10

paul02

well... that's one of the flaws for Steinhart GMT. its the same for my Steinhart Ocean One Date. The 12 o'clock bezel is not really aligned with the 12oclock marker.

same for my Orient Mako XL...

iirc, Steinhart corrected all these with OT500

maybe I should ask Gnome whether they accept trade in or not :D

Wah. Lucky I'm not nitpicking on this issues that much or alone rather. I enjoy my watch still.

yeowenzheng

Hi guys, need your advise

i have a budget of around 5.2k and am looking at this Omega Speedmaster Pro 311.30.42.30.01.005 which some shops in bencoolen is selling at $5.1k brand new

understand they are not local AD, any issue purchasing from them?

any feedback on this Omega Speedmaster pro or are there other recommendation within that budget? looking for something between dress and casual..not daily beater as i have several Seikos for that.

All in a Day

i have a budget of around 5.2k and am looking at this Omega Speedmaster Pro 311.30.42.30.01.005 which some shops in bencoolen is selling at $5.1k brand new

also any other recommendation for that budget? looking for something between dress and casual..not daily beater as i have several Seikos for that.

quite a precise budget you have there!

"something between dress and casual" can mean very differently to different folks. Speedmaster on leather strap meets your definition?

The shop you mention should be a grey dealer. Read up on grey dealers and make an informed decision if you are comfortable to buy from them.. translated from a Chinese saying (modified to the context) "scared don't buy, buy don't scared".

On a related note, if you are comfortable to go grey, I think GX got good lobang for speedmaster.

gaoxing84

^ before anyone pm me. 10% deposit is needed and 2-3 weeks wait. Not comfortable pls don't pm me for details. Lol
Approx 4.8-4.9
Overseas AD. International warranty

yeowenzheng

"something between dress and casual" can mean very differently to different folks. Speedmaster on leather strap meets your definition?

The shop you mention should be a grey dealer. Read up on grey dealers and make an informed decision if you are comfortable to buy from them.. translated from a Chinese saying (modified to the context) "scared don't buy, buy don't scared".

On a related note, if you are comfortable to go grey, I think GX got good lobang for speedmaster.

wah sound like not really that legitimate leh grey dealer but cheaper by almost 25% comparing with retail price should be worth to get?

many bros here go for local ad huh?

btw what the full shop name of GX?

thanks for the advice bro

All in a Day

wah sound like not really that legitimate leh grey dealer but cheaper by almost 25% comparing with retail price should be worth to get?

Don't think u've read up yet based on your response. Do read up 1st on grey dealer before making a decision! Good luck!

cyrenic

Yes, some people I know will not accept black face for for dress watch, will not accept anything more than a simple dial and at most date on the dial. Size must be at most 40mm diameter, thickness at most 10mm (even then will frown) etc. :s13:

If you like it, just wear it la.

Nakedtoes

I would go grey anytime if the saving is significant.. Of cos must go for verification too.

Lezzare

WOTD, don't see any FM in here.
mSQitq4l.jpg

Sent from OPPO X9009 using GAGT

Henabi

any feedback on this Omega Speedmaster pro or are there other recommendation within that budget? looking for something between dress and casual..not daily beater as i have several Seikos for that.

same as Parallel importers of other products. Grey watch dealers offer consumers an alternative to Authorized Dealers as they are able to bring in the same models at a fairly lower or more competitive price-point, via their own nework of suppliers. And even models which are only exclusive in certain regions, whereby local ADs don't have access to due to restrictions.

There are Legitimate and well-reputable grey dealers, and then there are those not-so-reputable ones... For starters, go with the well reputable ones, such as Chuan, HJ watches, JW watch, Brighttime by ChampionTime, Monster Time. As they need to uphold their reputation in the market, therefore they won't try anything funny...

Here are two sites for your reading: Buying at Gray vs Buying at ADs
http://timetapestry.blogspot.sg/2014/10/what-to-look-out-for-when-buying-online.html
http://www.ablogtowatch.com/unexpected-benefits-buying-watches-authorized-dealers-brand-boutiques/

gaoxing84

lol wish i had a shop.

go read up what is grey dealer and what is AD and what is boutique.

yattokame

ADs tend to give you peace of mind. also asks for a piece of the premium pie. Will cost a bit more.

Grey dealers give you better price. But some feel no peace of mind. This one is up to your own interpretation. Can ask the seller whether he is willing to go through authentication process with you.

Boutiques gives little to no discounts.best for unique limited "boutique only" pieces. most expensive.

Flying to europe to buy is probably the best. but does it justify the airfare?

yeowenzheng

ADs tend to give you peace of mind. also asks for a piece of the premium pie. Will cost a bit more.

Grey dealers give you better price. But some feel no peace of mind. This one is up to your own interpretation. Can ask the seller whether he is willing to go through authentication process with you.

Boutiques gives little to no discounts.best for unique limited "boutique only" pieces. most expensive.

Flying to europe to buy is probably the best. but does it justify the airfare?

arr ok thanks read about these 3 liao

but for AD, i wont expect much discount unless i am a regular right? max 10% for new customer?

lol wish i had a shop.

go read up what is grey dealer and what is AD and what is boutique.

lol jus realised GX is referring to you :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.