The Watch Thread - Part 10

TeenTitan01

Unfortunately no bro...
This "fuschia" colour is due to the aging of the dye used in the 1960s...

The later dyes (1970s-early 80s) do not usually age to this colour.. but can be also attractive when aged to copper/pink/sky blue/cherry...

That's why i love my LKKs over the bling bling new new standard rolexes you see everywhere..

no love for the super smooth & sexy modern milled 904L s/steel micro-adjustment clasp? :(

TeenTitan01

TGIF

CqZjjli.jpg

another iconic gerald genta design! :s12:

kashix

TeenTitan01

Haha thanks for the info. I thought bleach so power sia :s13:

Your watch got a lot of character definitely a keeper. I don't mind my watch get scratched and worn, but don't want it to change color :( Haiz...

the right patina are worth bucketloads of money for the hardcore vintage collectors ! ;)

TeenTitan01

hmm..

Seiko Introduces Strange, Europe-Only Marinemaster 300m Limited Edition SLA015

Seiko-Marinemaster-300-Europe-Edition-SLA015-2.jpg

sauce: http://watchesbysjx.com/2016/07/sei...e-only-marinemaster-300m-limited-edition.html

ok. this is just plain ugly.

taste is subjective and fickle.

the paul newman Daytona is the proverbial ugly duckling that people shunned when they were in production, leading to its low production run and limited numbers. then herd mentality dictated that it's now a beautiful swan worth 6 digits! :eek: go figure :s22:

gaoxing84

HAHAHA.. that day went with friend go see see.. he bling me to the AP section took out the tourbillion.. $248,000.......................................

I quickly hide my rolex away.

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

today i go try AP for fun. haha i wore slippers and berms. heng the guy ok with me.
btw, go mai maison at knightsbridge, friendly SAs.
not as stuck up as other ADs.

taste is subjective and fickle.

the paul newman Daytona is the proverbial ugly duckling that people shunned when they were in production, leading to its low production run and limited numbers. then herd mentality dictated that it's now a beautiful swan worth 6 digits! :eek: go figure :s22:

ya because that time, funky numbers are frown upon.
now, :s22:

more than 6 figures. in good cond and with proper documentation, 7 figures hor.

TeenTitan01

Yup agree.. preowned exp 2 going at much lower... if u can accept..

bro sleepyman, for hardcore vintage collectors/investors like yourself, preowned is the ONLY way to go!

I'm starting to appreciate the vintage appeal and also their potential to appreciate in value since getting my modern cult classic/collectible omega 2254.50.

really admire your LKK (Luxurious, Klassy & Kollectible) collection! :love: :D :s12:

can pm me your valuable experience, tips, pointers & pitfalls to avoid? sincerely appreciate your advice! :)

colonelsoh

today i go try AP for fun. haha i wore slippers and berms. heng the guy ok with me.
btw, go mai maison at knightsbridge, friendly SAs.
not as stuck up as other ADs.

ya because that time, funky numbers are frown upon.
now, :s22:

more than 6 figures. in good cond and with proper documentation, 7 figures hor.

For me is first time ever went into such sexpensive shop..

we went to the sincere at taka.

I abit suaku.. dunoe sincere got satki watches.

Go in alr.. don't dare walk around cuz the brands sibei scary.

I try ask him join ur fb group.

gaoxing84

For me is first time ever went into such sexpensive shop..

we went to the sincere at taka.

I abit suaku.. dunoe sincere got satki watches.

Go in alr.. don't dare walk around cuz the brands sibei scary.

I try ask him join ur fb group.

sure sure. haha

alot of sexpensive shops around haha just go in. don't feel obligated. they are expected to serve you anyway. its their job.

TeenTitan01

tio poisoned by rboyboy dip dip, looking at turtle, did some research into sumo too, now looking at mm300, anywhere in SG can I find the real unit and try try the watch? :O I see got a lot of diff mm300, which one is the good one? got a lot of diff model like damn blur sia see alr :s22:

I think you kena a serious case of:

VXjGthT.gif

TeenTitan01

1. Patina is part of the watch aging. Let it age and degrade slowly. crazy collectors like these.
spiderweb dial etc

2. don't protect, enjoy them as it is as other modern pieces. somehow vintage already got the beat up look so continue to beat it.

3. to be honest, except for internals like movement can be fixed.
what vintage collectors (afaik) are mostly out to find the unaltered, unreplaced and undone, 100% in its original condition (polishing are frown upon as they screw up the shape of the case.)
if parts like crown chui and all, then you have to source for the correct period crown to replace. hard to find but no choice lor. if wrong crown, the value drops drastically.

part and parcel of vintage hunters. the hunt, the chase and lastly the fun.

making my time worthwhile. haha

Crowded therefore not full attention but very nice. i can try all the watches without feeling obligated.

haha i sold most of my watches there. there will be 1 x good buyer that don't even bother to nego. patience!

thanks for the very detailed reply, bro gaoxing84! learn good stuff!

further to my questions:

- patina develops from entropy of the chemicals within the watch material, be it dial, lume, etc. so what if the lume DISINTEGRATES from the dial and hands? won't it affect the value?

- have you tried jw watch's repair servicing - good quality workmanship, too? which do you recommend and trust with your collection? horolab any good, too?

thanks, bro! :)

TeenTitan01

anyway, kym? looks too big or just nice?
15300 39mm better?
AD offers 15% upfront with me asking casually. maybe can go higher if pushed.

0A73FB56-A29A-4432-9756-67F9B0EF9AA7_zpsxnf5ebx7.jpg

don't compromised.

go hardcore and get the ro jumbo ultra thin.

imho, its long waiting list, super desirability and superior retention value makes it a better proposition and a winner.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.