The Watch Thread - Part 10

reikizi

DW watch really can compare with Rolex already ! People see Rolex as satki watch DW as a in watch but Seiko as a uncle watch.

Should really get a DW watch and dump my MM300 :(

DW ?? I buy for u ... :D .. your MM300 .. pass to me lah ...I help you dump.

On bo ?! :s13:

Let me know which DW you fancy. Make it two. I'll buy the two in exchange for your MM300. Please PM me for deal! :s13:

Thank you.

Slow mo ah .. for satki watch .. 1 is more than enough .. don't spoil market rate leh.....lolol

reikizi

Monday is lun...
Really must lun :(
NFWER9el.jpg

Sent from Planet Zi using GAGT

bencheongcm

Not trolling DW but once in a while always see people coming in asking about DW.

Honestly whats the hype ?

I know many fashionista likes to wear it other than that ? :(

indigo22

Not trolling DW but once in a while always see people coming in asking about DW.

DW marketing is strong, ask those "influencers" whom has many young followers to wear it and showcase it...

ripple effect lo, buy and wear le and influence their friends...

snowver

snowver

Actually it did say lei

"Although DW bills itself as a Swedish company, the watches are manufactured in China, which is how the company keeps prices so low. The internal quartz movements—a battery and vibrating crystal to keep the time, essentially—come from Miyota, a Japanese supplier popular with lower-price brands, "

Did not mention anything about movement but did say Chinese built :s22:

indigo22

They have very strong social media presence which big watch company has neglected for years. You can read this last year article for more information.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/artic...e-a-200-million-business-out-of-cheap-watches

then again, ever seen a advertisement on your TV about Lambo or Pagani cars?

i guess these established brands (like big watch companies) does not have to waste as much money as DW to generate presence le cause they know those who know about watch will know about their brand liao :D

snowver

True. Those that love watches should know the big brands. However, it never hurts to get exposure especially to young and potential customer who might not be that into watches yet. When I started to be interested in watches I tried to watch YouTube and find photos on Instagram. Turns out the official channels all sucks and not much follower. That really cannot be right.

I am not alone in thinking this. Even the watch industry is trying very hard to change this situation.

For example: http://www2.deloitte.com/content/da...-business-deloitte-swiss-watch-study-2015.pdf

On 3rd page "An increasing number of watch executives will give more emphasis to online sales channels in the next 12 months. Watch companies continue to focus on digital media in their marketing campaigns, and social media are by far the most important marketing channel in 2015"

then again, ever seen a advertisement on your TV about Lambo or Pagani cars?

i guess these established brands (like big watch companies) does not have to waste as much money as DW to generate presence le cause they know those who know about watch will know about their brand liao :D

lewissac

I like it not due to brand. In fact its the minimalism. I dun fancy gadgets watch-type.

TeenTitan01

I wish to buy A Daniel Wellington Watch. So far scan around Qoo10 for reputable store and streamlined into two: WatchSpree and JK Company.

However, two things Im confused:

1) It is one year warranty instead of two year which was listed on the DW webpage?
2) Need to bring back to shop for repair instead of any DW store worldwide (for WatchSpree) compare to JK Company where worldwide DW store for repair?

Any advise?

stay away from DW. overpriced Chinese quartz.

get an orient bambino or Seiko instead.

indigo22

True. Those that love watches should know the big brands. However, it never hurts to get exposure especially to young and potential customer who might not be that into watches yet. When I started to be interested in watches I tried to watch YouTube and find photos on Instagram. Turns out the official channels all sucks and not much follower. That really cannot be right.

I am not alone in thinking this. Even the watch industry is trying very hard to change this situation.

For example: http://www2.deloitte.com/content/da...-business-deloitte-swiss-watch-study-2015.pdf

On 3rd page "An increasing number of watch executives will give more emphasis to online sales channels in the next 12 months. Watch companies continue to focus on digital media in their marketing campaigns, and social media are by far the most important marketing channel in 2015"

agree thats why seiko got me to advertise for them ma :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.