The Watch Thread - Part 10

SoggyBear

lZuUHOm.jpg

Student here as well (part time) :D
Extremely proud of this watch as it's the first watch I ever bought with my own money..

I need some photography lessons from cichild..

TeenTitan01

Right now, I'm in love with the iwc pilot watches, any model would make me very happy. I had a steinhart pilot 47mm once but the proportions didn't feel right on my wrist. Anything else you'd reccomend?

give huge watches a miss if your wrist can't take them, else look funny unless you strap it over a leather bomber jacket like how it's actually done in WWII.

oh and go find out about iwc mark series of watches, laco, a lange & sohne, wempe & stowa if you wish to broaden your knowledge about true WWII german pilot watches.

estrangable

Only real men wear rolex and iwc??? Damn I must be so man than man... But how come I don't feel that way.. If u need to a watch to make you feel like a real "MAN"... Then you must be suffering from inferiority complex. It's just a watch, not some shining armour or your security blanket

well said bro gaoxing84. only ignoramus and irritant like popdod who drones on about "real men only wear rolex, ... and iwc" in edmw are insecure status conscious morons who don't appreciate watches in all their breath and depth.

TeenTitan01

Just to make things clear, i wear watches for myself, not for anyone else. If I wanted to show off, I'd buy a TT dj2 or a blnr or a sub. Those watches have recognition. My favourite brand is iwc and trust me, no one my age (who doesn't love watches) even knows about the brand.
My good friends in school wear APs, PPs and Rollies. So there's nothing for me to show off. And how much I like a watch doesn't depend on price. I just don't like homages as l feel they don't give me the authentic feeling there are affordables I love very much and have regretted selling. a few examples are the seiko sumo and Hamilton khaki field. In any case, I don't mean to come across as a senstive arrogant prick. I am just sick and tired of being singled out just because I'm a student. I love watches and so do most of you. Why should I be treated differently?

you must learn to attain watch zen:

- i wear the watch for myself. i don't wear it for others. Least of all to show off, cos that's weak, insecure and shallow.
- i own the watch. i don't let the watch own me.
- scratches means the watch lived a life with me.
- i am confident enough to wear any watch - so long as it's authentic - from a seiko/orient/citizen to a richard mille, without feeling self-conscious and having to explain myself to anyone.

TeenTitan01

The case design of the laco is quite different. I've tried them one and they don't seem to be anywhere as well finished. Stowa watches, I like them but they're a little pricy. For double the price of one, I could get a preowned mark 16 or even a mark 17

skip the mark 16 and above lah. anything below mark XV are the better deal in terms of true heritage. laco has the most authentic b-uhr case there is, bead-blasted, with straight lugs and all.

TeenTitan01

Wow kids these days really do have a good life.. School days only have AP, Rolex, PP already

Won't even dare to think of it during my school days, got seiko and Gshock can tao chio already

#justsaying#

laopeh money, also not their own - nothing to be proud of lah! show real ability then say. ;)

TeenTitan01

You'll be surprised at what the kids at my school have, new BMWs, Mercs and Audis are pretty common

yawn... nothing compare to the 福二代 from prc in Vancouver, BC with their ferraris, lamboghinis, mclarens, etc.

peacocking with parents' money is weak and infantile. show some real ability then we talk, ok?

TeenTitan01

so bros, does the DD crystal for the turtle from K2 have any AR coating? (at $60 I doubt so but doesn't hurt to clarify). thanks!

TeenTitan01

guys, just wondering, i'm working in a local tertiary education institution as well and yes, times have changed since i was a student...

when i was a student, a crumpler bag already puts you up there liao...wear a simple G-shock and you are the better half of the cohort liao...i think if wear rolex, girls queuing up to open legs for u le :s22:

now? i see Pradas, longchamps, MCMs, LVs etc as SCHOOL BAGS!!!! school fugging bags!!!! and worse still, most of the time said bags contain not much stuffs and the students end up having to handcarry some stuffs (example, laptop or bigger sized books)

the income they received cannot be that high, even if they work part time, they highly likely wont be able to afford such products, assuming its originals..
---

without going into the (quite) offensive assumption that they could be caring fake/replicas, can i then safely assume that its just parents giving more allowance to their kids? i see those students who show off parent's wealth as if its their hard-earned ones, i quite see them no up (or i'm envious i'm not born with a silver spoon, there - i said it...)

PS: if you fall into above category and dont have a open mind to participate in a mature discussion, then go back to mummy's arms and complain to her ba...

there's always been an untold proportion of undergrad girls who work as social escorts. ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.