The Watch Thread - Part 10

cyrenic

please enlighten me on where my lack of knowledge has been exposed? i spend lots of time on the iwc forum/watchuseek/rolexforums. i don't claim to be a guru but i would say i know enough to be an enthusiast. oh and i also put my money where my mouth is by going out to actually PURCHASE watches. please learn to spell connoisseur if you want to use the word.

Sian, to be watch lover must buy the watch. :(

Can't imagine all those plane lovers who like to hang out at Changi to snipe planes feel... Have to buy Boeing 747, Airbus A320.. :s13:

4TnvHZR.jpg

ZZBGI0l.jpg

I will not try to be anything I am not.

NOT.

So says the student that was said to not amount to much in life.
But loves branded cased generic movements. hmmm..

We all love our own watches I guess.

the watch is more than its movement. iwc has expertly finished bracelets and cases with ETA movements (specially made by ETA to iwc specifications). if i like the watch and i can afford, i would purchase it any day. value is only what we perceive it to be. I wouldnt even pay $500 for a PAM but that's just my preference. However, i would gladly pay $5k for a beautiful iwc mark 18 with a soft iron cage for protection against magnetism and a solid ETA/Sellita movement. oh and taking into account, iwc's history in making pilot watches and also the iwc watchmaker, Richard Habring's, contribution to the ETA 2893-A2 movement. 5k feels like a damn bargain.

gaoxing84

i was also very very surprised at the accuracy. miss that watch alot. my 39mm explorer loses 2s everyday which is super annoying.

Lol. I think quite bull. 1s every 3 days. On a 7750. Hmm.
Rolex accuracy > iwc anytime.e. And 1 day 2s is pretty solid to me.
But I don't care much with accuracy. They are mechanical watch for a reason. Unless it becomes too jialat then will do smt about it

Sian, to be watch lover must buy the watch. :(

Can't imagine all those plane lovers who like to hang out at Changi to snipe planes feel... Have to buy Boeing 747, Airbus A320.. :s13:

you are taking this out of context. I am a plane spotter too and I do speak to some of them when we hang out. we obviously cant buy the plane but we can buy plane tickets to experience being on the plane. we dont just hang out on some watch forum and discuss things we have never experienced. :)

gaoxing84

the watch is more than its movement. iwc has expertly finished bracelets and cases with ETA movements (specially made by ETA to iwc specifications). if i like the watch and i can afford, i would purchase it any day. value is only what we perceive it to be. I wouldnt even pay $500 for a PAM but that's just my preference. However, i would gladly pay $5k for a beautiful iwc mark 18 with a soft iron cage for protection against magnetism and a solid ETA/Sellita movement. oh and taking into account, iwc's history in making pilot watches and also the iwc watchmaker, Richard Habring's, contribution to the ETA 2893-A2 movement. 5k feels like a damn bargain.
You do know that eta don't make to iwc specifications. They buy in bulk and qc them and iwc modify them to their own standard.
That's why it's call ebauches

yashirob

please enlighten me on where my lack of knowledge has been exposed? i spend lots of time on the iwc forum/watchuseek/rolexforums. i don't claim to be a guru but i would say i know enough to be an enthusiast. oh and i also put my money where my mouth is by going out to actually PURCHASE watches. please learn to spell connoisseur if you want to use the word.

You don realize people like to shoot wat u say? Is it really that people are just against u or u have poor eq? Haha pls don come correct my spelling error n act one superior. Ur education quality is definitely of a lower quality than mine. Another typical product of sg education system. Read forums auto become expert. Just like mug textbook can get High scores in exam = v Gd

SpOrTsTeR79

Surprise to see people selling below $500. I Guess they are anticipating the release of the J version.

Nonetheless it is a lot of watch for the price point. Just pair it with the Borealis rubber strap. Epic combi!

Padi flippers panicking? Price drop so much on carousell :D

gaoxing84

You don realize people like to shoot wat u say? Is it really that people are just against u or u have poor eq? Haha pls don come correct my spelling error n act one superior. Ur education quality is definitely of a lower quality than mine. Another typical product of sg education system. Read forums auto become expert. Just like mug textbook can get High scores in exam = v Gd

Rage rage rage!!!! Hahaha.
Booksmart =/= smart haha

cyrenic

Buy watch become expert.

Expert at buying watches. :s13:

Lol. I think quite bull. 1s every 3 days. On a 7750. Hmm.
Rolex accuracy > iwc anytime.e. And 1 day 2s is pretty solid to me.
But I don't care much with accuracy. They are mechanical watch for a reason. Unless it becomes too jialat then will do smt about it

I'm just sharing my experience, no reason to bluff you lol... the 7750 can be regulated to very tight tolerances but maybe i got lucky with that piece.

cyrenic

you are taking this out of context. I am a plane spotter too and I do speak to some of them when we hang out. we obviously cant buy the plane but we can buy plane tickets to experience being on the plane. we dont just hang out on some watch forum and discuss things we have never experienced. :)

I thought your idea is to own it and explore it inside out.. Now sit sit for a while can already, then don't come and kb people don't have the watch so can't comment.

Anybody can walk into IWC AD to look look see see try try. :s13:

indigo22

i 2nd you man..

i always wonder why people bother to spend so much of their efforts looking into the accuracy and i always ask them, are you a bloody astronaut or are you in special forces that the accuracy is a life or death matter to you? so as a student, the inaccuracy of your watch will make you late to class? :s22: in the first place if one's EQ is so low, go class also no use de la~

its a watch just freaking enjoy it...if one gets too bothered with such mechanical watch, just use a Apple Watch lo~

cyrenic

I'm just sharing my experience, no reason to bluff you lol... the 7750 can be regulated to very tight tolerances but maybe i got lucky with that piece.

Yar, I agree, 7750 jin satki, my Steinhart Nav-B Chrono lost 0 seconds for past month already. :s12:

Does it mean Steinhart better than IWC?

You do know that eta don't make to iwc specifications. They buy in bulk and qc them and iwc modify them to their own standard.
That's why it's call ebauches

this is where i have to correct you. since 2011 (iirc), ETA no longer provied ebauches to iwc but manufactured to iwc standards..

cyrenic

i 2nd you man..

i always wonder why people bother to spend so much of their efforts looking into the accuracy and i always ask them, are you a bloody astronaut or are you in special forces that the accuracy is a life or death matter to you? so as a student, the inaccuracy of your watch will make you late to class? :s22: its a watch just freaking enjoy it...if one gets too bothered with such mechanical watch, just use a Apple Watch lo~

All my teachers and bosses wear IWC watch one.

All 7750 movement and jin accurate... Then they see me no up when I tell them my Mako is slow by 2 seconds a day. Spit on me! Pui pui pui, then I very sad. :(

indigo22

you realise you are the only one here being picked on, up down left right centre not?

i also spend a lot of time on EDMW leh, means im now well-versed in drinking, eating, men and women la?

you love a IWC, we get it. some of us here has a strong love for a certain brand or watch too, but they dont get picked on like you do...figure it out why urself

let me give you a headstart -> humble, down to earth, big hearted

indigo22

can i play with your words a bit, if i may?

"jut like get high scores in exam = sure succeed in life"

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.