The Watch Thread - Part 10

Henabi

Don't worry seannie... you're not alone.

Even genuine rolex watch owners here sometimes find it difficult to spot fake ones

That's why I say: "My poor eyes....."

But with so many top grade fake watches floating around, and there will be much more "from where it comes from...", so it's essential to arm ourselves with some technical "know-how-spot-fake-rolexes" and share them openly here

Plus there is another reason why we always say: "if you wanna be safe, buy the watch from ADs."

Henabi

hat tip to you guys...for being able to tell base on a pic

but isn't the most obvious telltale is how dull the dial looks under sunlight?

Not really... nowadays replica technology is very advanced. Top grade expensive replicas are able and capable to mimic almost 100% close to the Real thing.

Therefore, it's really paying extreme attention to the fine details to spot a fake.

There's a particlar reason why watch manufacture spend millions of Dollars every year to develop new security features for their watched and do sofisticated designs on their watches

Henabi

So..... back to Coerns CSI

which of these rolexes are fake?!?!?!

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm........

Crexzz

Not really... nowadays replica technology is very advanced. Top grade expensive replicas are able and capable to mimic almost 100% close to the Real thing.

Therefore, it's really paying extreme attention to the fine details to spot a fake.

There's a particlar reason why watch manufacture spend millions of Dollars every year to develop new security features for their watched and do sofisticated designs on their watches

are these replicas replicating the movements as well? if not, opening up the case back or having a display caseback should be able to tell by one look

for that picture in question, i think it's how dull the dial looks under sunlight, that made people look closer

Strangemushroom

An average Joe who knows a little bit on gen & fakes will not use a magnifying glass on a stranger's Rolex watch.Real and fakes looked too similar at 1m distance these days ..To me the best way to tell is still to open up and see the movement :s13:

I have heard of 'experts' claiming they knew the difference between 316L and 904L steel color/polish and can tell a gen/fake upon touching and seeing it...not sure these are BS or what but that's an amazing ability if its true.

Fonts may be the same, but 904L steel & gen Rolex movement is the key to telling apart real & fakes IMO...

Happy flaming and trolling each other. Back to lurking mode:)

cichlid

Just a suggestion.

We find a day, and Cichlid helps us take nice photos of our watches. We pay a sum and this goes to charity. Of course it may be inconvenient to Cichlid so I think it's also fair for him to charge a fee to cover his transport or whatever.
I'd love for him to take pics of my watches.

any takers?

Wah bro yattokame, you really flatter me.

It's not that I don't want to go gathering, it's just that I can't. If not I would love to join all like-minded bros for gathering, especially those u organized previously to deliver lunch to needy people. See I remember.

Ed.YEO

...but isn't the most obvious telltale is how dull the dial looks under sunlight?
are these replicas replicating the movements as well? if not, opening up the case back or having a display caseback should be able to tell by one look
UdkxDjP.jpg

for that picture in question, i think it's how dull the dial looks under sunlight, that made people look closer
对于师兄您点出錶盘呈现阴暗色调,我不敢苟同。那也许是拍摄的角度问题,也许是手机摄像头问题,还是手机软件问题。。。

打听打听吧~~~本地有个博客专在本地卖“高级”假錶,看看他的相簿,你就可以看见他那假錶的机芯仿的有多像。

所以就将研究与发展经费加价在消费者身上?不太公平吧?
:s8:到头来还不是给“有心人”破解。。。?:s11:
So..... back to Coerns CSI

which of these rolexes are fake?!?!?!

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm........
我一直都在强调,我只是在做对比时,发觉三个部分有明显的偏差。。。是不是一批一批,还是区域性采用的防伪标记,我实在不知道。但是从起初我提到的三只錶,我们可以明显看见每只都有序号。当然序号可以假。。。

今早另一香港錶友放上另一“十仔”照。。。
20160622_4674b052c68ab30b44b1Y4Lbab7hOkZ4.jpg

。。。这次黑面十仔。
在与山尼兄和kkjj87兄的对比一下。。。相似之处?
hcxETCL.jpg

F0EJcMu.jpg

留意到三只錶内圈的ROLEX字体吗?每个字体都准准被錶盘上的秒标“插到爽”~~~ 唯有序号有些被插,有些则被“夹”!:s22:

All in a Day

Just a suggestion.

We find a day, and Cichlid helps us take nice photos of our watches. We pay a sum and this goes to charity. Of course it may be inconvenient to Cichlid so I think it's also fair for him to charge a fee to cover his transport or whatever.
I'd love for him to take pics of my watches.

any takers?

Got bonus hot dog pics bo?

coern

对于师兄您点出錶盘呈现阴暗色调,我不敢苟同。那也许是拍摄的角度问题,也许是手机摄像头问题,还是手机软件问题。。。

打听打听吧~~~本地有个博客专在本地卖“高级”假錶,看看他的相簿,你就可以看见他那假錶的机芯仿的有多像。

I agree... i think dial colour can be affected by too many variables like lighting and shadow.

Watch 1:

Hz4bKrb.jpg

Watch 2:

Z15ZiEB.jpg

Rolex Brochure (gold standard?):

GisRksJ.jpg

is it clearer, or is it more confusing??? :s13::s13::s13:

Ed.YEO

I agree... i think dial colour can be affected by too many variables like lighting and shadow.

Watch 1:

Hz4bKrb.jpg

Watch 2:

Z15ZiEB.jpg

Rolex Brochure (gold standard?):

GisRksJ.jpg

is it clearer, or is it more confusing??? :s13::s13::s13:
Aiyo~~~~ Abang...
Gambar Satu muka hitam ley...
Gambar Dua muka hijau...
Tak sama lah...

Ed.YEO

but font should be the same? :D
machiam tak sama ley...
希望我不是眼花得太厉害。。。
港版的字体 与 坡版的字体看来不一样。所以我一直在想,是不是一代一代不同的防伪记号,还是区域的分别记号。
如我之前提到,那“=”的位置,SWISS的S的不同,现在我又看见300那零字体的不同。

港版
Hz4bKrb.jpg
I0RhK7l.jpg

英语字体犹如我们打字常用的Book Anqua字体,有勾来勾去的。
“=”没飘,位置正在C上。
SWISS的S类似7,80年代的“加宽”字体。

坡版
Z15ZiEB.jpg

NtGxpr9.jpg

英语字体就比较ARIA,没有“经典”的勾来勾去。
“=”飘得厉害,又短(有点似乎“看短”新加坡錶迷的感觉。。。),位置正在C上。
SWISS的S类似近代的“圆滑,流线”字体。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.