The Watch Thread - Part 10

You have a very neat collection there. Almost a watch for every occasion.

I always thought Omega Constellation Men can be considered a dress watch.

My vote goes to JLC MUT Moon ^.^ it's just oozing with class. It's The Dress watch other than the classic Reverso
Thanks for the compliment Henabi, I also agree on the MUT but it's just so damn expensive so I was thinking the zenith would scratch my itch. Haha I don't wear the constellation out as it was a passed down watch.

Ed.YEO

Today only 2nd day. Just now in the afternoon its faster by 2-3mins so went to adjust it. Maybe yesterday the staff never set properly for me. Will be monitoring. Thanks.
Just realized its running faster again. Abt 10s faster after abt 4hrs. Anything wrong?
山尼師兄難道忘了在舊帖的眾人交流中有提過機械錶的其中一個特性不能與電子石英錶相比的就是穩定性與準確性麼?
就算你花上過萬買只機械錶,什麼天文台認證呀,太空署認證呀。。。到頭來還是會有秒差,分差的。唯一要關注的是有多麼嚴重而已。以你的新錶來看目前還沒有那麼嚴重到要回去賣家那做調整。

其實我們周遭每日生活與物品都需要一段“調整日子”。比如:
-當你開始跑步,你必須過了一段日子才會“開筋”,越來越順。
-當你買一台電視機,必須用上一段日子,間中一點一點做調整,才能看到色彩的穩定性。
-當你買了一對高級喇叭,必須用上一段日子,喇叭皮軟了,中音,低音才會聽起來比較順耳,自然。
英語有句話,我如果翻譯沒錯的話叫做“燒入”?還是“打入”(任督二脈)?講開了,也就是調整期。

手錶也是如此。。。就算你買的最後一隻,機芯是完全沒有“運動過”的。那麼在“開筋”期間快慢偏差也就變成預料中的事了。

TeenTitan01

Bro Paiseh please don't take it the wrong way, I didn't mean it in that sense! I just meant It's a relatively small collection compared to what all the dai kors over here have!

large collection got large collection headache: storage, wrist-time, etc.

eventually, you will consolidate = lose money. hardtruth.

gaoxing84

If accuracy is what he wants, should get a GS Quartz, Citizen Chronomaster or even a Casio Oceanus (3 top Japanese watch makers).

or gshock. my gshock running good time.
this one is legit.

large collection got large collection headache: storage, wrist-time, etc.

eventually, you will consolidate = lose money. hardtruth.
Yup I learnt the hard way also. Bought many less expensive Swiss watches like Hamilton (4x), tissot (3x), glycine, steinhart (3x), Mont Blanc etc etc and sold them eventually. Lucky some of them I bought preowned so didn't lose or maybe earned some cash but those new ones I got... Lost quite a fair bit.
That's why now I'm more selective with the watches I purchase, especially new ones.

yattokame

Bro Paiseh please don't take it the wrong way, I didn't mean it in that sense! I just meant It's a relatively small collection compared to what all the dai kors over here have!

there are no dai kors here.
there is only one Dai kor (me)
and many dai gorssssss

:D

TeenTitan01

Thanks for the compliment Henabi, I also agree on the MUT but it's just so damn expensive so I was thinking the zenith would scratch my itch. Haha I don't wear the constellation out as it was a passed down watch.

scratch itch = waste money cos that's not what you REALLY want to begin with.

also young people philosophy is YOLO and hoot first, talk later. daring and strong.

my uncle philosophy is lun (ie. tahan) so i won't regret later. slow, old but gold. ;)

know yourself, cultivate your taste/style, budget your resources wisely so that when you acquire the best, you can really forget the rest. just my small voice of inconsequential experience. :)

Henabi

Ahhhh.... Imo if i have a similar watch passed down to me, I will definitely wear it regularly over any other dress watches, due to its connection with my family and its history.

But still, nothing beats a personal milestone whereby you splurge on your very first luxury watch...

Zenith, JLC and GO are very reputable watch makers in their own ways...

Just go with your heart and pick the watch which speaks with you the most

TeenTitan01

http://postimg.org/image/gsn9latqj/
A pic of my Tudor! Haha finally after 10 posts then I can post a link

help you embed:

image.jpg

nice watch! :D

Very cultured piece of Tudor.
In fact this can also double as a half-dress watch... if you don't mind.

Cuz in fact many watch lovers here wear PAM, SUB, GMT, SMPO with suit and tie

I've been thinking of whether to put this on a strap and try! But the case shape would look a little weird right?

Seannie

or gshock. my gshock running good time.
this one is legit.

I dont wamt Gshock lar i already have. I kinda thinking should i have gotten the GS instead or not... i think GS quartz also around same price range. Aiya sell u $3k now i lose $900 siah..

gaoxing84

He doesn't want G Shock. He wants a 2-3 hand non digital watch.

but he say GS not satki. haha

actually tbh, seannie know his stuff one la.
if not he can talk so much.
i think his knowledge surpassed many in here.
definitely way way way above me of course.

and 2824 is not "top" grade eta.
AFAIK it's the workhorse and most widely use basic movement

slow_mo

How much is the SS MUT Moon?

TeenTitan01

Yup I learnt the hard way also. Bought many less expensive Swiss watches like Hamilton (4x), tissot (3x), glycine, steinhart (3x), Mont Blanc etc etc and sold them eventually. Lucky some of them I bought preowned so didn't lose or maybe earned some cash but those new ones I got... Lost quite a fair bit.
That's why now I'm more selective with the watches I purchase, especially new ones.

glad you learn the hardtruth of watch collecting early.

sometimes it's more prudent to buy from the secondary market so that the depreciation you suffer is not so chor.

once you make the big bucks, you can consider buy brand new from AD or if you absolutely have to be sure that it's the real deal.

but let's face it: once you reach vintage-phase of your collection life cycle, isn't it all pre-owned, molested and raba-raba until all koot-koot liao?

and no matter how new or virgin, once worn, sure kena scratches one lah. if pre-owned, you're spared the heart pain. ;)

gaoxing84

I dont wamt Gshock lar i already have. I kinda thinking should i have gotten the GS instead or not... i think GS quartz also around same price range. Aiya sell u $3k now i lose $900 siah..

any watch you buy already, walk of out store will lose money.
especially you wore it. even worth lesser.

this is not BS, i am sure you know this better than me

:vijayadmin:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.