The Watch Thread - Part 10

trashley

Depends on the timing ba, and your luck.

My experience is that Uber/Grabcar is cheaper when there is peak hour surcharge, but you must factor in booking fee. Uber is cheaper than Grabcar. Grabcar is usually more expensive than Uber, but sometimes no choice have to use it if there's Surge pricing on Uber. :s13:

agreed!

even with surge, uber is cheaper than grabcar 90% of the time. grabcar increases the price when the demand is high.

i'll take uber/grab during peak and taxi during off-peak.

gaoxing84

i using grab cab leh... still haven venture into uber and grab car... so far i compares the charges grab cab still cheaper

grab car maybe cheaper for single trip.
if i pick up people, each is $5.
i prefer uber cause we always share

gaoxing84

http://i.imgur.com/EU0PgCGh.jpg[/IG]

Me too! Thinking of going back this year [SIZE="1"](with a bottle of Chilli)[/SIZE].[/QUOTE]

thought you went?
haha been there twice, still in awe.
the life, the people (fair number of a$$hole), the trains (24/7), the weather, shake shack, unami burgers, broadway, apple store, food carts, coffee and bagels!

Nakedtoes

Depends on the timing ba, and your luck.

My experience is that Uber/Grabcar is cheaper when there is peak hour surcharge, but you must factor in booking fee. Uber is cheaper than Grabcar. Grabcar is usually more expensive than Uber, but sometimes no choice have to use it if there's Surge pricing on Uber. :s13:

i seldom takes during peak... :D

gaoxing84

Lord i think you also hit the point. If a car becomes a hobby then its a different story hahaha

Sent from LGE LG-H961N using GAGT

mai anyhow call me leh. hahaha this nickname anyhow give sia. LOL

ya lo. i enjoy driving ever since i come back from west coast road trip.
sg city is pretty a$$ when comes to driving but i like it.

can play own music loud loud, then sing along and drive. i like to drive in the night, no cars. sibei song.

cannot forget i drove 6 hours straight, from grand canyon to vegas or something. haha going at 140-160km on the freeway at night, gazing the stars from my windscreen while concentrating on the lightless roads, all you have is your headlights and coffee as your go to drink.

paul02

thought you went?
haha been there twice, still in awe.
the life, the people (fair number of a$$hole), the trains (24/7), the weather, shake shack, unami burgers, broadway, apple store, food carts, coffee and bagels!

I did go in 2014! Thinking of making a second trip there again. Whatever you said is so relevant to my experience there.

West Coast Trip first for me next I think.

pwillie

Monday in black

JWj5u7H.jpg

Nakedtoes

I agree with this.

You don't buy expensive things to become their slave..

I've seen friends who buy expensive bag and then wail father wail mother when things get spilled, bag is dirty, etc. Like that might as well don't buy, if you can't use it happily. :s13:

quite true lar.. but we must have good habit of taking care of our belongings. young time parents bought for us using their hard earn $$$.. now older can earn own $$$ doesnt mean anyhow also.. $1 mil is money $10 cent is money also.. there are many ppl richer then u, there are many more ppl poorer then u and struggle every day too..;)

Nakedtoes

mai anyhow call me leh. hahaha this nickname anyhow give sia. LOL

ya lo. i enjoy driving ever since i come back from west coast road trip.
sg city is pretty a$$ when comes to driving but i like it.

can play own music loud loud, then sing along and drive. i like to drive in the night, no cars. sibei song.

cannot forget i drove 6 hours straight, from grand canyon to vegas or something. haha going at 140-160km on the freeway at night, gazing the stars from my windscreen while concentrating on the lightless roads, all you have is your headlights and coffee as your go to drink.

the best place to drive is New Zealand... very very beautiful place to drive... every scenery is like lord of the ring..:D

cyrenic

I can't drive on those dark freeways.. Very tiring for me to stay awake. :s13:

cyrenic

quite true lar.. but we must have good habit of taking care of our belongings. young time parents bought for us using their hard earn $$$.. now older can earn own $$$ doesnt mean anyhow also.. $1 mil is money $10 cent is money also.. there are many ppl richer then u, there are many more ppl poorer then u and struggle every day too..;)

Yes, I agree, not saying that you must purposely tekan your expensive hoots.

But don't need to feel sad if say your watch kena one scratch... Or take too much pains to ensure that it will stay pristine. The only way to guarantee that a watch stay pristine is to cling wrap it all the time. Or don't wear.

Plus, I guess, worse come to worse, can polish?

RadEoNic

if u see a late 30 short short bui bui uncle wearing patek 5167 alight boon lay it very likely is me.. How i wish i am into RM during my early 30... most RM price shoot over the roof this few years.

Short is relative
Maybe I 1.5m only leh :s13:

I'm not saying that guy is definitely wearing a fake, cos I can't tell also
If he's wearing a real one, then I think he's max satki lah

if it's fake one and get recognized then ok lor, but why play so big?
Buy rep of a 10k IWC can liao ma

RadEoNic

But don't need to feel sad if say your watch kena one scratch... Or take too much pains to ensure that it will stay pristine. The only way to guarantee that a watch stay pristine is to cling wrap it all the time. Or don't wear.

Watches are meant to be worn
Why buy if u not going to wear?
If wear liao still must baby it like siao then I will rather not buy
My sanity more precious

gaoxing84

I did go in 2014! Thinking of making a second trip there again. Whatever you said is so relevant to my experience there.

West Coast Trip first for me next I think.

i went in 2011 (after ORD) and 2014 year end (for a month, NYE Ball Drop, but really ball drop cause it's -2 to -4 degrees and i did not dress correctly, standing in the cold from 7pm to 12am)

West Coast different feel.
Alot of national parks to visit, you can drive inside for hours, one park already can cover a few singapore liao.

My 2nd trip was
Orlando, Florida > Manhattan, NYC > Chicago > SF > Vegas > LA > Santa Monica > Back at SF

gaoxing84

I can't drive on those dark freeways.. Very tiring for me to stay awake. :s13:

driven on a part where the fog becomes so bad, i can't see 1 metre ahead.
its like driving on to silent hill.
i wish i had my go pro on during that part, it was scary balls.
have to on fog lights but bo use.

a good 30mins before i am out of the fog.

when you drive on dark freeways, alot of optimus prime driving beside you. hahaha
cross state delivery.

Nakedtoes

agreed... got scratches on my Patek already... but no feeling... i do "protect" my watches in crowded place by covering it etc.. i would try to avoid polish... You are removing the case material... how many times can u polish?

Nakedtoes

Watches are meant to be worn
Why buy if u not going to wear?
If wear liao still must baby it like siao then I will rather not buy
My sanity more precious

agreed too... almost 90% of my colleagues whom into watches i seldom see they wear to work.. all wear seiko or cheap cheap watch.. they only wear their LOLEX during wedding dinners.:s22:

reikizi

if u see a late 30 short short bui bui uncle wearing patek 5167 alight boon lay it very likely is me.. How i wish i am into RM during my early 30... most RM price shoot over the roof this few years.

30s not uncle lah .. if you uncle .. I 40s is ah pek liao :(

:s13::s13::s13:

Donten

agreed too... almost 90% of my colleagues whom into watches i seldom see they wear to work.. all wear seiko or cheap cheap watch.. they only wear their LOLEX during wedding dinners.:s22:

and rolex is one of the most beatable watch.

paul02

i went in 2011 (after ORD) and 2014 year end (for a month, NYE Ball Drop, but really ball drop cause it's -2 to -4 degrees and i did not dress correctly, standing in the cold from 7pm to 12am)

West Coast different feel.
Alot of national parks to visit, you can drive inside for hours, one park already can cover a few singapore liao.

My 2nd trip was
Orlando, Florida > Manhattan, NYC > Chicago > SF > Vegas > LA > Santa Monica > Back at SF

I was there in September 2014 using my ORD leave!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.