The Watch Thread - Part 10

Henabi

Haha same here bro, definitely the ALS.

The Lange 1 is gorgeous, but the 1815 speaks to me more. This one is my current grail.

38656.jpg

I gian this watch so much, I was and now still contemplating whether to sell both my Sub and Cartier then top up for it.

Definitely worth considering! Its worth every single penny.
especially if you wanna consolidate your collections...

snowver

Haha I will pick an A. Lange in this case but not that Saxonia 37mm, my dream watch is the 1815 Up/Down.

If u like 35mm, can consider the Sony RX1 Mark II?

Which watch you saving for bro?

Tried it, but don't like it. I am keeping an eye on the A7 series. Hoping they can make smaller lens like leica, but I don't think it will happen. Especially after Hasselblad released X1D. DSLR getting smaller, mirrorless getting bigger :s22::s22::s22:

I am saving for my first rolex. A Sub date for my birthday next year:)

user14

Just curious, how much is the fee to verify an Omega watch and where can I get it done? Thanks.

guynextdoor80

Till now still not sure if giving up my SubC is a good idea because it is so versatile and literally bullet proof. But I definitely feel that the 1815 is much more chio than both my watches.

Definitely worth considering!
especially if you wanna consolidate your collections...

reikizi

Just curious, how much is the fee to verify an Omega watch and where can I get it done? Thanks.

at habourfront. Free for exterior (verbal). about $15 - $20 for movement

they will tell you verbally whether it is genuine, no verification papers be given. If checking movement, they will give you an invoice

Emospence

Till now still not sure if giving up my SubC is a good idea because it is so versatile and literally bullet proof. But I definitely feel that the 1815 is much more chio than both my watches.

Sub + 1815 up/down would be an awesome dynamic duo, nicely consolidated but still 2 very different watches to choose from depending on your mood.

But that's just me, depends on how much you love your Cartier (I'm not a fan)

guynextdoor80

I was thinking of getting into the A7 system too but then the lenses always turn me off. No use if the bodies are small but the lenses still so big. Dun need Leica small, if the A7 has lenses the size of those of M4/3, I will plunge right in and never look back.

Anyway the Sub will be a good birthday present for yourself. Can ask if it is a significant age birthday? E.g. 21 or 30?

Tried it, but don't like it. I am keeping an eye on the A7 series. Hoping they can make smaller lens like leica, but I don't think it will happen. Especially after Hasselblad released X1D. DSLR getting smaller, mirrorless getting bigger :s22::s22::s22:

guynextdoor80

As much as I would love to do that, selling just the Cartier alone wouldn't bring me any closer to the 1815 Up/Down. The amount I need to top up would be quite astronomical for me.

But if I can have this combo, likely its the end game for me liao. No need to look at any other watches for a very long time.

Sub + 1815 up/down would be an awesome dynamic duo, nicely consolidated but still 2 very different watches to choose from depending on your mood.

But that's just me, depends on how much you love your Cartier (I'm not a fan)

snowver

I was thinking of getting into the A7 system too but then the lenses always turn me off. No use if the bodies are small but the lenses still so big. Dun need Leica small, if the A7 has lenses the size of those of M4/3, I will plunge right in and never look back.

Anyway the Sub will be a good birthday present for yourself. Can ask if it is a significant age birthday? E.g. 21 or 30?

You view is spot on. Coming from DSLR background, I still rent some times if I have events to shoot, really don't want to carry all that weight around anymore.

I will be 30 next year. The Sub will mark the start of a new phase in my life. :s8:

kiosai

very clean dial design and a good choice on the blue tone, which makes the hands outstanding against the white dial

the movt seagull st17, do you experience big time differences? especially since its hand winding

The hands r dark blue when viewed indoors, which is where I am most of the time.. haha..

As for inaccuracy, if any, is not really discernible across the day I am wearing it. It would be rotated off my wrist tomorrow and stopped running by Friday for me to be overly concerned with it.

Definitely value for money..

babychimz

went recently. their verbal verification is essentially looking up the serial no. of your omega in their system. this is free and done relatively quick.

if your watch is quite old, it might not be in their system. in that case, they can open the watch to check the movement for $15. it will take awhile depending on the crowd. they will tell you verbally that the movement is verified as authentic, give you a receipt for the $15 (which does not state that it authentic or not).

hope this gives you more info!

Henabi

You view is spot on. Coming from DSLR background, I still rent some times if I have events to shoot, really don't want to carry all that weight around anymore.

I will be 30 next year. The Sub will mark the start of a new phase in my life. :s8:

If budget allows... try to get a Birthyear Submariner. should be easy to get a 168000 which was manufactured in 1987.

otherwise get a subc ;)

As much as I would love to do that, selling just the Cartier alone wouldn't bring me any closer to the 1815 Up/Down. The amount I need to top up would be quite astronomical for me.

But if I can have this combo, likely its the end game for me liao. No need to look at any other watches for a very long time.

same for me... once I hoot the Lange 1... it's GG and close shop for me liao. I don't intend to consolidate my watch collection as each watch represents a different stage of me.

I will take my time to save... anyway, the Lange 1 i intend to get it on my 40th Birthday, so I still have a god 9-10 yrs to save

guynextdoor80

Haha yes bro, once u hit 30, everything changes liao.

I gifted myself the SubC as an encouragement for becoming a father and tong-ing all the night feeds, diapers change, rushing to KK hospital etc.

Henabi

The hands r dark blue when viewed indoors, which is where I am most of the time.. haha..

As for inaccuracy, if any, is not really discernible across the day I am wearing it. It would be rotated off my wrist tomorrow and stopped running by Friday for me to be overly concerned with it.

Definitely value for money..

:s13: interesting... kind to share more about Rodina watches? especially if yours has a clear caseback :D

only hear say hear say a bit abt this brand but rarely come across anyone owning their watches.

I gifted myself the SubC as an encouragement for becoming a father and tong-ing all the night feeds, diapers change, rushing to KK hospital etc.

In that case, keep your subc. especially when there is a significance behind it.... in another 20-25 yrs, when your kid is grown-up, this subc can be passed down to your child to signify them entering adulthood.

by then, it gives you a very good and valid reason (excuse) to hoot that ALS lolx

snowver

If budget allows... try to get a Birthyear Submariner. should be easy to get a 168000 which was manufactured in 1987.

otherwise get a subc ;)

same for me... once I hoot the Lange 1... it's GG and close shop for me liao. I don't intend to consolidate my watch collection as each watch represents a different stage of me.

I will take my time to save... anyway, the Lange 1 i intend to get it on my 40th Birthday, so I still have a god 9-10 yrs to save

Not really into birthday year watches yet haha. Budgeted for the SubC after I tried it many many times in the shop :s13:

Lange 1 is really a special watch. Almost want to replace my end game watch PP Annual Calendar with Breguet Numerals with it. Great choice for your ultimate aim. :D

snowver

Yes, everything moving very fast in the last few years. Getting married, buying house, renovation and now planning to have a kid. I think it is the perfect time to get my first Rolex. It is a great mile stone watch. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.