The Watch Thread - Part 10

TeenTitan01

Lume of a 2254. No professional gear or skills needed.
Charge it with an iphone light for few seconds.
under a dim lit area, snap using the camera of an iphone, done.

C27A544B-B857-4DC6-B946-8D09DF2C92F7_zpsja6y3st1.jpg

yup! the omega 2254.50 lume can go toe to toe with Seiko monsters! one of the best lume among swiss luxury watches! how do I know? I'm also a proud owner of the 2254.50! :D

indigo22

just curious, for someone who is getting his first watch worth more than $2K~

Tudor black bay black (the one with eta movement) or Omega 2254.50?

Tudor BBB is on its way to being a collectors item, with a cheaper to maintain movement and the rose logo dial..the lume i supposed is far from that of the Omega ...

The Omega, well COSC rated, and everything that TeenTitan buttie has ever shared here liao :s13;

reikizi

Tudor BBB is on its way to being a collectors item, with a cheaper to maintain movement and the rose logo dial..the lume i supposed is far from that of the Omega ...

The Omega, well COSC rated, and everything that TeenTitan buttie has ever shared here liao :s13;

I will go with 2254.50 being bracelet (Tudor bracelet even preown should be 3k ++ ??) and 2254.50 have date :D ... ( I need watches with date !!:s13:)

I like bracelet watch better and 2254 look better in bracelet while tudor look better in distress leather.

imho tudor red or black is nice , not blue.. Omega 2254 to me is more a evergreen design. The $1500 gx told about is a damn good deal.

Also due to TT eng eng gu post ... really is 越看越美 :eek:!!

last but not least =:p

AskForBoth_zps0172f8b9.jpg

indigo22

I will go with 2254.50 being bracelet (Tudor bracelet even preown should be 3k ++ ??) and 2254.50 have date ... ( I need watches with date !!

I like bracelet watch better and 2254 look better in bracelet while tudor look better in distress leather.

imho tudor red or black is nice , not blue.. Omega 2254 to me is more a evergreen design. The $1500 gx told about is a damn good deal.

Also due to TT eng eng gu post ... really is 越看越美 :eek:!!

last but not least =:p

AskForBoth_zps0172f8b9.jpg

haha everyone will be talking about THE $1500 deal that went away :s13:

i'm still thinking, i tried the Orient Star again, decided that it isn't my cup of tea although i LOVEEEEEEEE the blue dial...

so i thought, why not wait for bonus, then get either tudor/2254.50

frankly, i've not even seen the 2254.50 in actual, kanna poisoned by gx and t.titan nia -.- dont even noe how it looks like on my wrist :s13:

thanks for inputs, i gather more inputs den decide :D

and..

look-at-my-wallet-its-empty-thumb.jpg

slow_mo

haha everyone will be talking about THE $1500 deal that went away :s13:

i'm still thinking, i tried the Orient Star again, decided that it isn't my cup of tea although i LOVEEEEEEEE the blue dial...

so i thought, why not wait for bonus, then get either tudor/2254.50

frankly, i've not even seen the 2254.50 in actual, kanna poisoned by gx and t.titan nia -.- dont even noe how it looks like on my wrist :s13:

thanks for inputs, i gather more inputs den decide :D

and..

look-at-my-wallet-its-empty-thumb.jpg

Look at my bank, It's FULL!!!

Buy TT01 or GX84 a drink to hold their hands... I mean to try the watch before you think about it again... Nothing beats trying it on for yourself.

Btw... my wallet is empty too and my CC bill is FULL :(

reikizi

I bought it after seeing the photos u posted..haha

Means you have super good taste !! :s13: .. wrist shot ?

Buy TT01 or GX84 a drink to hold their hands... I mean to try the watch before you think about it again... Nothing beats trying it on for yourself.

Btw... my wallet is empty too and my CC bill is FULL :(

Both of you, mai keh keh ... wallet empty but bank acct full sibo !!

I then is wallet empty, pocket empty, bank acct empty, onli red bill a lot :(
mine one is really "lau mak sai" one ......emo...

but buy drink to try out the watch si good idea !! really depend you like being grass or be a dentist

Anyone knows? :D

it really depends how long it move till stop when power reserve is empty. another thing is after you wind or move will the power reserve meter hand move ?

TeenTitan01

both the tudor bb noir & omega 2254.50 feature ETA movements, just that the tudor uses the ETA 2824-2 non-chronometer grade movement which is slightly thicker than the chronometer grade ETA 2892-A2 derived caliber 1120 used in the omega 2254.50. the 2892-A2 is thus considered more "refined" (whatever that means) compared to the 2824-A2, and is a popular "tractor" movement on which luxury watch makers use to build on their other complications on account of its "thinness" and lower profile. in addition the power reserve of the 2892-A2 is 44 hrs vs 38 hrs for the 2824-2.

unless I'm mistaken, there should little difference, if any, in terms of servicing cost.

for a new collector, the tudor bb noir is more accessible as more are available in near mint condition with outstanding warranties. the retro-vintage inspired gilt dial and red-triangle on the bezel hits all the rights spots in terms of design and charisma. it would've been even better if tudor had equipped its ETA black bay with a chronometer grade movement, preferably the 2892-A2.

the omega 2254.50 has a strong cult following among those who appreciate its classic design and elegant dress diver proportions, with a dial that is harkens back to the seamaster 300 UK royal navy issued watches to its combat divers, especially the large triangle at 12 o'clock and recessed, shorter hour markers at 3, 6 and 9 o'clock positions which had 3, 6, 9 in the seamaster 300. the recessed shorter 6 o'clock hour marker actually helps offset the 4 liner of text above the 2254.50 dial, making the dial more balanced. having an embossed wave dial makes it look more interesting at certain lighting angles and bears testament that this IS a SEAmaster for aquatic adventures.

having bold sword hands and hour makers with thick layers of generous lume, with the minute and sporty red-tipped second hands reaching right into the minute chapter ring makes the observation of time easy, comfortable and effortless without any guesswork - top tool watch qualities well appreciated by divers - and those with presbyopia like me. ;)

a discrete date window with a background colour matching the dial goes a long way to maintain dial symmetry.

stylish short lyre lugs, thin thickness of 11.5mm and a lug width of 18mm also allows the watch to sit very comfortably and elegantly on your wrist, unlike bulky, heavy watch heads that slosh around your wrist, which when paired with a tapering bracelet like the rolex sub C, makes it look unbalanced. not so the omega 2254.50. it retains the classic proportions that will remain evergreen, classy, dignified and handsome.

its satin brushed finish all-round, highlighted subtly with bits of polished surfaces, is beautiful to behold, and its speedmaster style bracelet has an even better extended milled 316 grade stainless steel clasp with diver's extension than the speedmaster. the seamaster clasp closes flushed, without the protrusion of the speedmaster bracelet, with the bracelet comfortably nestling the watch on your wrist.

the underside AR coated sapphire crystal is slightly domed and contributes to fluid, sensuous character of the watch where its lines flows curvaceously all around the watch case. no sharp, jarring edges.

its low profile lume pip at 12 o'clock, solid end links, engraved wave pattern with the seamaster monster at the caseback with laser-engraved omega globe marking completes this watch that retains the distinctive design elements of the UK navy-procured seamaster 300 in the 60s and 70s with a stylish, inspired wave dial and perfect quality printing on is embossed dial (no mean feat) which looks black from a far but far more interesting close up.

this watch is a bona fide dive watch with a helium escape valve, toughness and specifications that you can take to saturation diving if you are so inclined.

it does double duty too as you can wear it with a suit and not only will it feel at home, it broadcasts that you're a man of action, adventure and good taste.

it can never be confused with a fake or an homage. those who know watches will tip their hats to you for wearing a beautiful handsome watch with a well-respected movement and strong cult following.

ps. forget about the $1.5k 2254.50. it'll never happen again unless it's one that's pretty beat up, damaged or the seller is ignorant or desperate. the fair market price for one without box and papers with be in the low to mid $2k, with few hundred extra for box and papers.

indigo22

both the tudor bb noir & omega 2254.50 feature ETA movements, just that the tudor uses the ETA 2824-2 non-chronometer grade movement which is slightly thicker than the chronometer grade ETA 2892-A2 derived caliber 1120 used in the omega 2254.50. the 2892-A2 is thus considered more "refined" (whatever that means) compared to the 2824-A2, and is a popular "tractor" movement on which luxury watch makers use to build on their other complications on account of its "thinness" and lower profile. in addition the power reserve of the 2892-A2 is 44 hrs vs 38 hrs for the 2824-2.

unless I'm mistaken, there should little difference, if any, in terms of servicing cost.

for a new collector, the tudor bb noir is more accessible as more are available in near mint condition with outstanding warranties. the retro-vintage inspired gilt dial and red-triangle on the bezel hits all the rights spots in terms of design and charisma. it would've been even better if tudor had equipped its ETA black bay with a chronometer grade movement, preferably the 2892-A2.

the omega 2254.50 has a strong cult following among those who appreciate its classic design and elegant dress diver proportions, with a dial that is harkens back to the seamaster 300 UK royal navy issued watches to its combat divers, especially the large triangle at 12 o'clock and recessed, shorter hour markers at 3, 6 and 9 o'clock positions which had 3, 6, 9 in the seamaster 300. the recessed shorter 6 o'clock hour marker actually helps offset the 4 liner of text above it, making the dial more balanced. having an embossed wave dial makes it look more interesting at certain lighting angles and bears testament that this IS a SEAmaster for aquatic adventures.

having bold sword hands and hour makers with thick layers of generous lume, with the minute and sporty red-tipped second hands reaching right into the minute chapter ring makes the observation of time without any guesswork.

a discrete date window with a background colour matching the dial goes a long way to maintain dial symmetry.

stylish short lyre lugs, thin thickness of 11.5mm and a lug width of 18mm also allows the watch to sit very comfortably and elegantly on your wrist, unlike bulky, heavy watch heads that slosh around it, which when paired with a tapering bracelet like the rolex sub C, makes it look unbalanced. not so the omega 2254.50. it retains the classic proportions that will remains evergreen, classy, dignified and handsome.

it's satin brushed finish is beautiful to behold, and its speedmaster style bracelet has an even better extended milled 316 grade stainless steel clasp with diver's extension than the speedmaster. the seamaster clasp closes flushed, without the protrusion of the speedmaster bracelet.

the underside AR coated sapphire crystal is slightly domed and contributes to fluid, sensuous character of the watch where its lines flows curvaceously all around the watch case. no sharp, jarring edges.

its low profile lume pip at 12 o'clock, solid end links, engraved wave pattern with the seamaster monster at the caseback with laser-engraved omega globe marking completes this watch that retains the distinctive design elements of the UK navy-procured seamaster 300 in the 60s and 70s with stylish with an inspired wave dial and perfect quality printing on is embossed dial (no mean feat) which looks black from a far but far more interesting close up.

this watch is a bona fide dive watch with a helium escape valve, toughness and specifications that you can take to saturation diving if you are so inclined.

it does double duty too as you can wear it with a suit and not only will it feel at home, it broadcasts that you're a man of action, adventure and good taste.

it can never be confused with a fake or an homage. those who know watches will tip their hats to you for wearing a beautiful handsome watch with a well-respected movement and strong cult following.

ps. forget about the $1.5k 2254.50. it'll never happen again unless it's one that's pretty beat up, damaged or the seller is ignorant or desperate. the fair market price for one without box and papers with be in the low to mid $2k, with few hundred extra for box and papers.

yeah man, agree with you the 2254.50's lume and sword dials are sexy...

however, the Tudor has its own appeal..and the added advantage is i was able to try it in person and it fits nicely on my wrist..i think the Tudor can go with bracelet or leather..quite versatile la in a sense :o

maybe shud ask u out for kopi :o :s13: molest and caress the 2254.50.. :o wear le see got the feel or not :o

but ya, agree with u too that the Tudor is available brand new still, unlike the 2254.50.. :o hmm..

RadEoNic

I recieved an email that someone sign up for mass drop using my link
Paiseh ah, I didn't know it's a referral link cos I copy and pasted from my email

I edited it already
To clarify, I didn't gain anything from it

cyrenic

it really depends how long it move till stop when power reserve is empty. another thing is after you wind or move will the power reserve meter hand move ?

Thanks for reply!

Oops, I didn't see if the watch would stop completely, cos I put it on after.. Maybe I should let it run down. Some people online say that Orient Star's real power reserve is more like 48 hours though.. Whereas the indicator is 40 hours. I always thought the indicator was connected to the mainspring though.

Yes, when I wind/move the power reserve meter will charge as well.

guynextdoor80

Bro reading your solid review makes me start looking at the Omega 2254.50 too. Very poisonous you!:D

the omega 2254.50 has a strong cult following among those who appreciate its classic design and elegant dress diver proportions, with a dial that is harkens back to the seamaster 300 UK royal navy issued watches to its combat divers, especially the large triangle at 12 o'clock and recessed, shorter hour markers at 3, 6 and 9 o'clock positions which had 3, 6, 9 in the seamaster 300. the recessed shorter 6 o'clock hour marker actually helps offset the 4 liner of text above the 2254.50 dial, making the dial more balanced. having an embossed wave dial makes it look more interesting at certain lighting angles and bears testament that this IS a SEAmaster for aquatic adventures.

having bold sword hands and hour makers with thick layers of generous lume, with the minute and sporty red-tipped second hands reaching right into the minute chapter ring makes the observation of time easy, comfortable and effortless without any guesswork - top tool watch qualities well appreciated by divers - and those with presbyopia like me. ;)

stylish short lyre lugs, thin thickness of 11.5mm and a lug width of 18mm also allows the watch to sit very comfortably and elegantly on your wrist, unlike bulky, heavy watch heads that slosh around your wrist, which when paired with a tapering bracelet like the rolex sub C, makes it look unbalanced. not so the omega 2254.50. it retains the classic proportions that will remain evergreen, classy, dignified and handsome.

its satin brushed finish all-round, highlighted subtly with bits of polished surfaces, is beautiful to behold, and its speedmaster style bracelet has an even better extended milled 316 grade stainless steel clasp with diver's extension than the speedmaster. the seamaster clasp closes flushed, without the protrusion of the speedmaster bracelet, with the bracelet comfortably nestling the watch on your wrist.

its low profile lume pip at 12 o'clock, solid end links, engraved wave pattern with the seamaster monster at the caseback with laser-engraved omega globe marking completes this watch that retains the distinctive design elements of the UK navy-procured seamaster 300 in the 60s and 70s with a stylish, inspired wave dial and perfect quality printing on is embossed dial (no mean feat) which looks black from a far but far more interesting close up.

TeenTitan01

Bro reading your solid review makes me start looking at the Omega 2254.50 too. Very poisonous you!:D

VXjGthT.gif

:D

affordable, collectible, value-for-money, you can get back what you pay for easily, handsome, sexy, tool watch usefulness + dress watch finesse, etc, etc <add your own superlatives here>...

... is why I love my omega 2254.50 to bits! :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.