The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

Humm. Well i read that the special is supposed to be one of the last model of KS.

Any straps to recommend?

not a strap guy. better to ask other expert bros here.

but i'd pair it with a black croc leather for that smart dress watch look. the one you have is just too narrow for the watch's lug width.

TeenTitan01

Go for the "everyone's" watch la.. the 116600!

For me, it'll be a nice matte 666 SD with warm patina and faded insert.
It will be "noone's" watch cuz not possible for another that ages exactly.
I can wear it, beat it, scratch it.. but it could still appreciate in value!

money isnt a problem..
But...

Are you prepared for the risks of paying for refurbished/relumed dial?
Worse..
Are you prepared for the risks of getting a franken?
Worse..
Are you prepared for the risks of getting fake parts?

Who can u trust?

Beauty aint for the faint hearted bro.

Offerring 2c while choosing my match for CNY :)

nice.......... :D very, very nice! :s12:

you managed to source your vintage poison locally or have to trawl the internet?

please share your knowledge and experience with us? :) cheers! :D

gaoxing84

money isnt a problem..
But...

Worse..
Worse..

Who can u trust?

Haolian post. Tsk.
Hahahaha

a562140

good advice.
been considering vintage rolex like 5513 and older, but put off by the amount of fake parts out there.

money isnt a problem..
But...

Worse..
Worse..

Who can u trust?

TeenTitan01

Nah Haha cannot afford. Don't have the money.
I am looking at AP this year. Haha

you can one lah! :s12:

but AP resale is ... :s22:. you'll need to factor that in should you want to flip.

the 1665 is a better investment than any AP apart from the series A jumbo ultra thin. but the blue dial jumbo ultra thin re-issue near $30k retail liao. :eek:

gaoxing84

you can one lah! :s12:

but AP resale is ... :s22:. you'll need to factor that in should you want to flip.

the 1665 is a better investment than any AP apart from the series A jumbo ultra thin. but the blue dial jumbo ultra thin re-issue near $30k retail liao. :eek:

If I am gonna get the AP. Probably not flipping.

TeenTitan01

I kind of like this:
http://us.tissotshop.com/men/classic/tissot-chemin-des-tourelles-powermatic-80-7.html

Any brands/types similar to this but cheaper? haha

not bad what. swiss made. 80hrs power reserve some more.

since you seem to like black dial watches, do also consider the orient star classic (with power reserve):
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_Star_EL05002B_Watch_p/el05002b.htm

review of the orient star classic:
http://wornandwound.com/review/orient-star-classic-review/

do also consider the orient bambino (real value for money, no power reserve but just as elegant):
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_ER24004B_Dress_Watch_p/er24004b.htm
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_ER2400LB_Dress_Watch_p/er2400lb.htm
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_AC00004B_Watch_p/ac00004b.htm

orient is made-in-japan that uses their own proven, reliable movement (not sourced from others and merely dropped into a watch case).

citizen is damn value for money too!
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Citizen_NH8350_08E_Watch_p/nh8350-08e.htm

bonus (the blue dials are simply chio ttm):
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Citizen_NH8350_59L_Watch_p/nh8350-59l.htm
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Citizen_NH8350_83L_Watch_p/nh8350-83l.htm

of course can't fight with powermatic 80's 80 hrs power reserve lah.

don't let any prejudice against non-swiss made watches fool you!

orient and citizen feature fully in-house movements (they design and manufacture the watch "engine" themselves).

i am a proud owner of an orient star classic, orient mako and citizen diver.

KqXDzbV.jpg

tbzt5Vz.jpg

orient mako picture credit to wotd.sg @ carousell.sg cos i'm still stuck with my 2G nokia after my way-over-the-hill low-end camphone finally tanked

pepsi_orient_mako_watch_1428807709_a99e0a47.jpg

RadEoNic

not bad what. swiss made. 80hrs power reserve some more.

since you seem to like black dial watches, do also consider the orient star classic (with power reserve):
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_Star_EL05002B_Watch_p/el05002b.htm

review of the orient star classic:
http://wornandwound.com/review/orient-star-classic-review/

do also consider the orient bambino (real value for money, no power reserve but just as elegant):
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_ER24004B_Dress_Watch_p/er24004b.htm
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_ER2400LB_Dress_Watch_p/er2400lb.htm
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Orient_AC00004B_Watch_p/ac00004b.htm

orient is made-in-japan that uses their own proven, reliable movement (not sourced from others and merely dropped into a watch case).

citizen is damn value for money too!
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Citizen_NH8350_08E_Watch_p/nh8350-08e.htm

bonus (the blue dials are simply chio ttm):
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Citizen_NH8350_59L_Watch_p/nh8350-59l.htm
http://www.longislandwatch.com/Citizen_NH8350_83L_Watch_p/nh8350-83l.htm

of course can't fight with powermatic 80's 80 hrs power reserve lah.

don't let any prejudice against non-swiss made watches fool you!

orient and citizen feature fully in-house movements (they design and manufacture the watch "engine" themselves).

i am a proud owner of an orient star classic, orient mako and citizen diver.

KqXDzbV.jpg

tbzt5Vz.jpg

orient mako picture credit to wotd.sg @ carousell.sg cos i'm still stuck with my 2G nokia after my way-over-the-hill low-end camphone finally tanked

pepsi_orient_mako_watch_1428807709_a99e0a47.jpg

whenever i see orient star classic, i get reminded that i need to wind this once in a while

dgN7pio.jpg

jCog5vq.jpg

there's a misty spot near the 12 o'clock position.
looks like condensation

i've not worn the watch since i bought it in 2010
how ah?
i keep it together with silica gel one leh

TeenTitan01

whenever i see orient star classic, i get reminded that i need to wind this once in a while

dgN7pio.jpg

jCog5vq.jpg

there's a misty spot near the 12 o'clock position.
looks like condensation

i've not worn the watch since i bought it in 2010
how ah?
i keep it together with silica gel one leh

wah limited edition hand-winding only orient star classic!

well, diff folks, diff schools of thought.

those who won't sell are:
- sentimental
- don't need the money
- too much of a bother

those who sell:
- not so sentimental
- not wearing so why not sell to another who appreciates it more
- need to free up space & funds for new watches

can consider making a trip to orient's sg authorised agent big time @ commonwealth one for watch spa treatment. of course will have to pay since out of warranty for so long liao. how much? you've to ask them...

DashJX

Bz82VoD.jpg
you mean this?

2015_02_Max_Bill_Chronoscope_027_4501_00_Beauty_02.jpg

or is it this?

Max-Bill-Chronoscope-by-Junghans.png

or perhaps this..?

friendly reminder: GX has some contacts to tap on...rmb share wrist shot after u hoot :D

I bought the white chronoscope with milanese strap at under $2k after a 30% discount on eve of 2017 from WOS Tampines roadshow.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.