The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

It's a tool watch, it's not built to be elegant. It's built for reliability and durability. So why judge a monkey for its ability to swim? Doesn't make sense does it?

a true tool watch is a g-shock.

omegas/rolex/etc are LUXURY watches. elegance IS an essential component, in addition to reliability and durability.

and stop being facetious and disingenuous. :s8:

nobody except the daft exposes luxury watches to abuse like true tool watches. :s8:

TeenTitan01

If given the moolah, i will buy moonwatch over 2254. Don't get ur hype over 2254 though. Perhaps it's to self-justify your own purchase bah

good to know. ;)

hope it stays that way so it remains affordable a bit longer for us true believers. :D

binnie

I do lol. Nasa astronauts do.

omegas/rolex/etc are LUXURY watches. elegance IS an essential component, in addition to reliability and durability.

nobody except the daft exposes luxury watches to abuse like true tool watches. :s8:

binnie

It's not spiteful la. Don't misinterpret. Big triangle had its own omega movement, but the 2254 had to use the eta. Purist right?

my respect for you after your level-headed post during the gruppo gamma saga has just been dashed as a result of your nasty, spiteful comment that comes out of the blue without any reason.

at least i supported my pov re: c.321 vs c.861 with valid objective reasons.

continue down this road and i'll put you on ignore. :s8:

TeenTitan01

Not sure about the entire procedure when being issued a MilSub, but I came across an article on MilSub with a history to Singapore back in 1968. It mentions how the watch was returned after he left the Far East Diving Team, presumably located at the Sembawang Naval Base, also known as the HMS Terror.

Very interesting read for those interested: http://www.diving-watch.net/MILSUB-MILITARY-ISSUE-ROLEX-SUBMARINER-

Image taken from http://www.diving-watch.net
memowatch.jpg

EDIT: Don't remember where I read it, but there were stories of how military/naval divers would report their watches as missing so as to be issued multiple watches. Don't think they were thinking of selling them, but perhaps seeing as it's a very durable watch, I suppose they wouldn't mind having a few around for daily beaters?

wah, like that they got sign their version of 1206 or not? or even have to sign extra? :s13:

TeenTitan01

I do lol. Nasa astronauts do.

so you're nasa astronaut, now? glad to know.

nasa astronaut used it before it attain iconic/luxury status.

it's now a luxury watch. only the daft uses and treat a luxury watch like a tool watch.

TeenTitan01

It's not spiteful la. Don't misinterpret. Big triangle had its own omega movement, but the 2254 had to use the eta. Purist right?

hope you're not a lawyer cos your lame serpentine efforts are just pathetic. :s13:

i merely stated that the DIAL of the 2254.50 echos the dna of the mil-spec seamaster 300. it never pretended to be one, unlike the watchco version.

moreover, the mil-spec seamaster 300 is more than just the big triangle version. there's also the 3-6-9-12 version. and also sub-versions with date.

i'm no purist. just a watch noob and a watch knob. and a poor old phuck who types too much at that. and who can't even afford a rolex. in the company of the really loaded in this thread. :s13:

unlike your highness with your atas collection. :s8:

MrSenG

relax my debonair bro!

i did qualify my true* story as a mandela effect version: it might/could have happened in another timeline. =:p

I truly enjoyed the read. I pictured TRT in a God of Gambler-esque scene. Perhaps been watching too many HK movies which are airing all over TV this festive period.

wah, like that they got sign their version of 1206 or not? or even have to sign extra? :s13:

Similar to what you said. Back then, Rolex watches were fundamentally utilitarian tool watches. Their prices were affordable and many fishermen and divers wore them like how I wore my Casio F-91W during National Service.

I definitely don't intend to 'baby' my Submariner, but I've learned to appreciate the scratches.

On a personal note, I have plenty of stretch marks on my body as I used to be obese, and initially when I slimmed down, the stretch marks bothered me a lot. Now, I look upon them as battle scars in my effort to maintain my health and fitness.

TeenTitan01

I truly enjoyed the read. I pictured TRT in a God of Gambler-esque scene. Perhaps been watching too many HK movies which are airing all over TV this festive period.

Similar to what you said. Back then, Rolex watches were fundamentally utilitarian tool watches. Their prices were affordable and many fishermen and divers wore them like how I wore my Casio F-91W during National Service.

I definitely don't intend to 'baby' my Submariner, but I've learned to appreciate the scratches.

On a personal note, I have plenty of stretch marks on my body as I used to be obese, and initially when I slimmed down, the stretch marks bothered me a lot. Now, I look upon them as battle scars in my effort to maintain my health and fitness.

i'm glad you enjoyed my true* story. i may say i wrote in on a lark. but i actually access the tesseract and in the vast multiverse, i witnessed exactly what i wrote. :eek:

that's how i picture our dear debonair and suave bro TRT, killing it in the capital markets and the casino and being a robin hood to the needy! :s12:

but if yours is a valuable vintage sub, it'll be wise not to expose it to unnecessary abuse that may hurt its value.

last but not least, congratulations in being a trimmer and healthier you! good wishes and good health to you in the new year of the rooster! :s12:

*true as in mandela effect true: it could/may have happened in another timeline!

tonyep

Wishing everyone a prosperous New Year! And to keep the PP spirits alive, time to contribute!

32195906720_f383d185f8_z.jpg

gaoxing84

Issnt it ironic that on one hand you diss the 861 as a downgrade when compared to the 321. But the 2254 is so charismatic? What happened to the big triangle? It's a pathetic shadow of what the big triangle was.

that is legit, the big triangle should have been what omega has done down the path but they decided to go the bond way.

gaoxing84

and stop being facetious and disingenuous.

nobody except the daft exposes luxury watches to abuse like true tool watches.

what makes your think people don't thrash their luxury watches?

it's true, a good tool watch is a g-shock, but rolex/omega watches started off as a tool watch and still ended up as a tool watch, just better looking.

not in the least, bro.

just more aware of the omega 2254.50's charm, heritage, charisma and still relatively affordable and value-for-money with healthy upside potential than others. =:p

don't you worry, bro. once funds permitting, i shall be consulting you regarding the rolex 1680 liao. :)

don't know much about the mm300 except its monocoque case construction requires access from the front of the watch just like gen 1 king seikos. that means any servicing has to be done in japan. and its undecorated grand seiko movement. and it's much thicker. sure there're fans of the thick chunky diver. but i prefer mine more svelte, slim, elegant and discreet.

thicker case but it doesn't need the helium valve.
uses 8L35 which is a way more superior movement than ETA.

i own both watches but i don't see the 2254 stands above the mm300.

2254 wasn't value for money when it launched, only till it got discon and preowned pieces come up.

all i can say is your obsession is really amazing.

nothing wrong in consolidation. at all.

we all grow. taste change.

so when a watch spends lesser & lesser wrist time, those less sentimental will let it go for another who will love it more. and that's a good thing too for you, your old love and its new owner.

if old don't go, how can new come in? unless you're sentimental and has cash to spare.

brandwhore? heck, who isn't. vintage rolex can command HUGE premiums despite their crappy folded link bracelets, folded end links and crappy stamped metal clasps - well just because.

erase that logo and it's a just another lkk watch with aging parts, disintegrating lume and the sh1tty crappy bracelet and clasp.

there's no lume, only tritium. it's decaying which makes it beautiful
all watches that uses tritium and has a nice patina + still working deserved to be call vintage.

not just because of the logo, because it withstands the test of time and it's still working today. which we all love because its mechanical.

it's also a testament that is what makes rolex a rolex today, a omega a omega today.....

anyway, i doubt you will buy a vintage because that's too much that you will complain about it, unless you're looking to invest, then maybe it's time to do your research. whatever i know about vintage is just the very tip of the iceberg.

so you're nasa astronaut, now? glad to know.

nasa astronaut used it before it attain iconic/luxury status.

it's now a luxury watch. only the daft uses and treat a luxury watch like a tool watch.

so is it a tool watch or a luxury watch or is it a luxury tool watch?

he don't meant that he's a nasa astronaut la, he meant he do treat his watch like a tool watch like the nasa astronaut does.

i'm glad you enjoyed my true* story. i may say i wrote in on a lark. but i actually access the tesseract and in the vast multiverse, i witnessed exactly what i wrote. :eek:

that's how i picture our dear debonair and suave bro TRT, killing it in the capital markets and the casino and being a robin hood to the needy! :s12:

but if yours is a valuable vintage sub, it'll be wise not to expose it to unnecessary abuse that may hurt its value.

last but not least, congratulations in being a trimmer and healthier you! good wishes and good health to you in the new year of the rooster! :s12:

*true as in mandela effect true: it could/may have happened in another timeline!

please wear your vintages, it has gone thru more crazier times than you.
pls don't baby it.

hope you're not a lawyer cos your lame serpentine efforts are just pathetic. :s13:

i merely stated that the DIAL of the 2254.50 echos the dna of the mil-spec seamaster 300. it never pretended to be one, unlike the watchco version.

moreover, the mil-spec seamaster 300 is more than just the big triangle version. there's also the 3-6-9-12 version. and also sub-versions with date.

i'm no purist. just a watch noob and a watch knob. and a poor old phuck who types too much at that. and who can't even afford a rolex. in the company of the really loaded in this thread. :s13:

unlike your highness with your atas collection. :s8:

sm300 got wave on the dial meh? got picture?
i never see before.

tt01, don't kan people la, he quite chill already, just talking to you nicely.
at least he's not proud.

plus you need to stop telling everyone you're old poor uncle that is not loaded like everyone else in this thread. it's getting abit stale.
Rolex is pretty attainable if you're working full time. just look at the people wearing rolexes.

i am also pretty sure you can buy whatever you want, it's only IF you're willing to spend that kind of money.

AyuReady

I think back when all these watches are built first, there wasn't g shock so among the mechanical watches they are the tougher lot already.

So tool watches origin starts there bah. Now I think iwatch is best hahah but I dun own one

arc13

I have Apple Watch but it is getting less & less wrist time

I think back when all these watches are built first, there wasn't g shock so among the mechanical watches they are the tougher lot already.

So tool watches origin starts there bah. Now I think iwatch is best hahah but I dun own one

AyuReady

Haha for us watch lover I think it is hard to concede to wearing a smart watch which can practically out perform our watches

One of the main reason I had not buy any smart watch yet

I have Apple Watch but it is getting less & less wrist time

arc13

For me, it is more to do with having more & more watches to rotate haha

Haha for us watch lover I think it is hard to concede to wearing a smart watch which can practically out perform our watches

One of the main reason I had not buy any smart watch yet

AyuReady

Haha true, esp need to charge?

Hahah first world problem. I may be a smart watch guy the day I decide to stop this as a hobby

For me, it is more to do with having more & more watches to rotate haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.