The Watch Thread - Part 12

AyuReady

Power this is like
Buying the sega cartridge before buying the console. No choice got to follow thru liao

Will wait to see your ahguanot or naughtylust

You gotta wait till Christmas lor hahahah. My watch-winder case is coming soon though so I'll GPGT it when I collect it :D

Panerai88

Wear and collect watches, or doing anything for that matter, should be 80% for own satisfaction and 20% to impress others. If really wear watch only to impress, one can whack a warehouse full of replica rollies cos from afar, it's hard to tell a real from a replica nowadays.

Especially in this thread, most of us do appreciate or are interested to appreciate horology. We are happy and feel happy for everyone who shares their collection here. It doesn't matter if it's 1 Orient/Steinhardt or 100 PPs/ALSs; we still enjoy the timepieces :)
Yes, so why post wrist shots? I could upload my boat load of watches too but I don't, because I am true collector.

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

Strangemushroom

Nothing to envy, 99.9% of Singaporeans would not recognize this POS, so no point wearing it to brag.

Even when I wear my loud two tone gold GMTC, Submariner and Deepsea Dweller Deep Blue James Cameron Rolex, I only get compliments or questions from guys, girls usually don't bother at all.

I only had a remark "What watch is that? Very nice ah" while wearing my black themes AP Roo. And the person himself was actually wearing a Panerai, yet he doesn't even know what APs are.

Anything not a Rolex, most Singaporeans are not familiar with and would not be able to appreciate or recognize it on the streets.

Gotta agree on this 1000%. Nowadays everyone in public is staring at their phones playing games/facebook/wadsapping, no one even bothers about the strangers walking near them nor what they wear. This is the problem with over population I guess....unless one is extremely outstanding in looks/height/behavior, one is just another human being in someone's eye.:slant:

Sensible_

Yes, so why post wrist shots? I could upload my boat load of watches too but I don't, because I am true collector.

There's a difference between sharing the joy and pure haolianing mah.

This is a watch thread, not EDMW. I like to post my watch pics in edmw you can say I haolian, no problem at all. But most, if not all, folks here do appreciate horology so why not share with those who can appreciate it?

Panerai88

This is a watch thread, not EDMW. I like to post my watch pics in edmw you can say I haolian, no problem at all. But most, if not all, folks here do appreciate horology so why not share with those who can appreciate it?
Just saying that no one gives a sh*t in the real world.

indigo22

because this is a hobby thread ma, like-minded people all come in and show pics for everyone to appreciate...thats how i saw pwillie's JLC which I've marked to be my grail watch...thats how i know of brands like Deepblue, Ventus and Zelos mah~ :s22:

just like a Tamiya thread, everyone posts their cars in a Tamiya thread, but you dont see them hanging it on their neck as necklace and walking down orchard road ma =:p=:p

no one says true collector is one who doesn't upload their pics ma..so share your joy and pride (your watches) with us lo :o at least we know the difference between a Nomos and Daniel Wellington :o

Sensible_

because this is a hobby thread ma, like-minded people all come in and show pics for everyone to appreciate...thats how i saw pwillie's JLC which I've marked to be my grail watch...thats how i know of brands like Deepblue, Ventus and Zelos mah~ :s22:

just like a Tamiya thread, everyone posts their cars in a Tamiya thread, but you dont see them hanging it on their neck as necklace and walking down orchard road ma =:p=:p

no one says true collector is one who doesn't upload their pics ma..so share your joy and pride (your watches) with us lo :o at least we know the difference between a Nomos and Daniel Wellington :o

I was like...wait a minute...watch thread got people ask why post wrist shot?

Got me a confused for a while and I nearly started posting photos of my food, cars, houses......

Pagani_Z0nda

Just saying that no one gives a sh*t in the real world.

Alot of ppl don't give a sh*t on many other things in the world la... mai gong what u wear on ur wrist. :s8:

Watch is for self enjoyment and not to please others. Sometimes u get compliment, most of the time you dont.

Most impt is u enjoy what u wear cos u buy with hard earn money. Living in a world where u care what others think will only tire urself.

This is a geniune horology thread, alot of bros shared not bcos of haolian but to share their love/knowledge on the piece of time they have, whether its from a casio/seiko to a PP/RM/ALS. The passion is there , hence this thread move so fast.

Ok enough of debating/ lo so-ing.... day 3, keep the wristshots flowing :s12:

Pagani_Z0nda

I'd compare a DW with a seiko jiu hao liao :s13:

pwillie

You could have just say you don't have a camera phone la...
In edmw so long still dunno the #1 rule
Untitled-1.gif

DXMachina

QFT.

If the objective was to brag here, the bros here would be posting shots with their faces and names together with their nice watches. The fact that most of us are anonymous to one another shows the intrinsic love for our own watches, and to share the stories behind them to the community here (what I see as the key difference between pure haolianing and sharing the joy like what Sensible said).

What I see here is perpetual healthy and fun discussion (barring a few trolls) about horology, and for the more experienced gurus to dish out advice to those just starting out on their budding watch hobby/horological journey.

Changed the strap on my Sea Urchin yesterday, noticed that it looks a tad like mud lol

ky3MHOg.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.