The Watch Thread - Part 12

indigo22

I think what he meant was for you guys to go upwards. Buy the real thing if you like patina

Lol chill leh I also like patina.
I got both faux and real one.

dont worry, we are all adults, we'll chill out after clearing the misunderstanding :D

thats what happens when we aren't well travelled enough to be petty over small things :D

slow_mo

Funny thing is that when I bought my first "faux vintage" watch - Steinhart OVM Maxi, I didn't even know wtf is patina and the concept of it.

I just saw quite chio, buay pai, buy and try. :s13: Although I went in knowing I was getting a homage to a vintage Milsub, nothing more.

And of course, I also bo lui to buy true vintage for now..maybe when I reach a more vintage version of myself first bah. :o

Didn't know now wear faux vintage also will kena despise. :(

Never did really appreciate patina. If I like the vintage look, I would still prefer it new. Well, that's me.

Btw what's your idea age of "a more vintage version of yourself".

AyuReady

Nice open heart? Mind sharing the damage?

cueumVb.jpg

Finally after a few years of drooling at pic, I found a reason to get it. Got my first promotion and told myself, why not! Gf loves it cos of the stars :s13:
TGIF everyone!

AyuReady

I also like modern pieces and will like to hand over my own aged vintage to my kids next time.

Even if lume won't have patina but I never know how to appreciate them haha

Lucky ah vintage is expensive game

Never did really appreciate patina. If I like the vintage look, I would still prefer it new. Well, that's me.

DXMachina

I also like modern pieces and will like to hand over my own aged vintage to my kids next time.

Even if lume won't have patina but I never know how to appreciate them haha

Lucky ah vintage is expensive game

I always admire the vintage game, which not only requires hefty funds, but also the keen eye to curate pieces with original parts intact. I'm sure the satisfaction derived from the hunt is immense. Maybe in future I'll get into it myself who knows?

I'd think somewhere along the lines of 40-50+yrs old. However, age is just a number. I think "a vintage version of myself" will be when I have enough good memories and life experiences to look back and be content (with the help of more watches! :D)

I think what he meant was for you guys to go upwards. Buy the real thing if you like patina

Lol chill leh I also like patina.
I got both faux and real one.

dont worry, we are all adults, we'll chill out after clearing the misunderstanding :D

thats what happens when we aren't well travelled enough to be petty over small things :D

It's all good, I wasn't offended at all by sleepyman's post in the first place. In any hobby there are bound to be sub-groups who lean towards different "disciplines", and it makes for healthy, albeit sometimes heated discussions. I greatly appreciate bro sleepyman's wristshots of his beautiful vintage pieces. :)

But I could also see where bro cyrenic was coming from. IMHO, bro sleepyman's original post was quite a bit bordering on a jab. Written text is not the best form of communication, and subtle nuances with friendly intentions can get lost in the cold throngs of keyboard letters. But like bro indigo said, it's a small matter, nothing to get feathers riled up any further.

Wah jialat WOT liao, less talk, more watches! :D

Pagani_Z0nda

Always meet at Starbucks near my place, that way they can scrutinize all they like, and if they lowball I just ignore and continue with my coffee lor...
There are even those that wants installment for my iPhone and willing to let me keep their IC (wtf) until fully paid.

U sell ur watches ? :D

ducklegsux

Hello guys, just bought a second hand Mont Blanc watch off eBay with papers. Anyone knows how much does it cost to get the watch polished at the shop? Or are there better places to perform such services?

Thanks in advance

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.