indigo22

KBLmiiA.jpg

cyrenic

I doubt so bro.. I know Choy Hing @ Bras basah doesn't. Because a dude came with his broken 1963 lol. Ended up giving him a HK/China contact see whether he's willing to ship it back.

Sent from Huawei Nexus 6P using GAGT

I see, you got yours from there? The version you posted looks like the Hked version, I guess they got it from them. :) Thinking of buying direct from HK.

I know Thomas and Ed will repair when out of warranty, just ley chey to send. I think the main issue is parts, I guess. Seagull movement not too common or popular enough in Singapore to stock, unless there are overlaps/similarities with more common movements like Seiko, etc.

Verve888

I doubt so bro.. I know Choy Hing @ Bras basah doesn't. Because a dude came with his broken 1963 lol. Ended up giving him a HK/China contact see whether he's willing to ship it back.

Sent from Huawei Nexus 6P using GAGT

I dropped my seagull from a height of 1m and it stopped working. Sent to a watch repair shop at Novena Square 2 who probably outsourced it to someone else, cause the guy spoke to me in Mandarin when he called me.
Cost $180 bucks to fix but now it's working perfectly again

cyrenic

I dropped my seagull from a height of 1m and it stopped working. Sent to a watch repair shop at Novena Square 2 who probably outsourced it to someone else, cause the guy spoke to me in Mandarin when he called me.
Cost $180 bucks to fix but now it's working perfectly again

Ouch, that's pricey considering the price of watches holding the movement.

TeenTitan01

eh... why their super early bird $370 > early bird $259? :s11:

kickstarter projects tend to be long drawn, tedious affairs that the impatient has little stomach for. yeah, i should know. spread out few posts of watch unboxing to tease nia, some of you already kpkb. how to tahan kickstarter with elastic timelines after committing your cold hard cash online? roflmao. :s13:

kickstarter projects also tend to be here today, gone tomorrow. to use a very harsh term, some are even fly-by-night. deliver liao, close shop. very few stick around or remain viable after product delivery. so how can they even assure warranty & service down the road? :eek:

maybe i'm a noob, but as a value-for-money, value-retention watch owner, what will most kickstarter watches be even worth in the future? :(

i'll stick to established brands with proven service support. anyone seduced by cheap & affordable @ kickstarter? seikos/citizen/orients are aplenty. why pay extra for "unique" design & unproven QC? :s22:

gaoxing84

strap very shiny.

imho, a thick, distressed leather strap would look perfect on a vintage-inspired watch like the bb.

Ya. But don't like leather on my bb. Don't know why. Either bracelet or nato. Was looking at the matte nato strap from blushark. Lol
This shiny strap reflects well on the polished side of the watch.

cyrenic

eh... why their super early bird $370 > early bird $259? :s11:

kickstarter projects tend longdrawn, tedious affair that the impatient has little stomach for. yeah, i should know. spread out few posts of watch unboxing to tease nia, some of you already kpkb. how to tahan kickstarter with elastic timelines after committing your cold hard cash online? roflmao. :s13:

kickstarter projects tend to be here today, gone tomorrow. to use a very harsh term, some are even fly-by-night. deliver liao, close shop. very few stick around or remain viable after product delivery. so how can they even assure warranty & service down the road? :eek:

maybe i'm a noob, but as a value-for-money, value-retention watch owner, what will most kickstarter watches be even worth in the future? :(

i'll stick to established brands with proven service support. anyone seduced by cheap & affordable @ kickstarter? seikos/citizen/orients are aplenty. why pay extra for "unique" design & unproven QC? :s22:

Why not?

There are kickstarter brands that have grown to be very successful. Elshan's Zelos and Ventus are an example. Pebble used to be very successful at one point.

You could also say the same for any company. These days, companies can disappear overnight. Who's to say that Seiko, Citizen, Orient, or even Rolex will be here in 20 years' time?

cyrenic

I am considering buying from here http://www.watchunique.com/seagull-1963-original/seagull-1963.html 1 of the better price and closest look to the original as there are many variants on the market

Still thinking whether to even buy.

Hked's version is reputed to be much better in terms of finishing, but like you said, it's a lot pricier - 265 USD with shipping for the acrylic version.

But if hold and keep, also quite sian to repair for $180, lol. Trying to find out from Ed what the costs are like if need to service sometime down the road and send back to him.

arc13

Do u have the link to Hked version?

Did u check with David from Adelphi on servicing cost?

Still thinking whether to even buy.

Hked's version is reputed to be much better in terms of finishing, but like you said, it's a lot pricier - 265 USD with shipping for the acrylic version.

But if hold and keep, also quite sian to repair for $180, lol. Trying to find out from Ed what the costs are like if need to service sometime down the road and send back to him.

TeenTitan01

Ya. But don't like leather on my bb. Don't know why. Either bracelet or nato. Was looking at the matte nato strap from blushark. Lol
This shiny strap reflects well on the polished side of the watch.

haha... can see you like shiny shiny, bling bling.

that's it liao. really is time to buy your 15400 AP RO liao lor! :D

liat towers... lai, lai, lai!

cyrenic

Do u have the link to Hked version?

Did u check with David from Adelphi on servicing cost?

You need to email Ed here: etse249@gmail.com

I will try to post up the pictures he sent me if my app link to Imgur works... It hasn't been working since this morning.

No re David, his version damn expensive, and he wasn't very receptive to discussions on having a more reasonable price, so I thought I might as well pay that price for better finishing and service, even if it's from Hong Kong.

TeenTitan01

I am considering buying from here http://www.watchunique.com/seagull-1963-original/seagull-1963.html 1 of the better price and closest look to the original as there are many variants on the market

what's the final checkout price including delivery to sg? the checkout page don't seem to indicate. plus they charge tax when VAT should be exempt from non-local purchases, right?

anyway, bro arc13, everytime i see delivery via FedEx, i not just sian 1/2, i FedUP!!! :mad:

cos not are they expensive (guess who pays - you, the buyer!), these arseholes will tack on the 7% gst tax to sour & rob your enjoyment of a good bargain. boycott online deliveries that uses FedUP/DHL/UPS!!! :s7:

EMS/international priority shipping all the way! :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.