The Watch Thread - Part 13

gaoxing84

Noticed increased number of posts asking whether such and such offer is worth it. This can be sign of 2 things :

1)GX reputation, for which he can charge $5 for every consultation

2)Times looking up and people are spending on luxury.

actually number 2. my watches now move at a slower rate if i wanna flip.

number 1 - mai anyhow, everyone share their views. i share mine but sometimes kena kan. jin sad lol

gaoxing84

I'm fine with it but I would like to look for more options. Mainly looking at leather straps. Cost probably about $10-$20 per strap.

$10-$20 u cannot expect alot la.
just buy from cheapestnatostraps lol
if not taobao any how search also have

i personally buy from taobao for some pam strap, just, chui alr, sell.
dont like, sell on carousell.

custom make one sure keep.

cyrenic

I'm fine with it but I would like to look for more options. Mainly looking at leather straps. Cost probably about $10-$20 per strap.
Look for Paros. But at low prices you really get what you pay for. For straps less than $40-$50 I'm more willing to spend cos your buck goes a long way there.

cyrenic

Noticed increased number of posts asking whether such and such offer is worth it. This can be sign of 2 things :

1)GX reputation, for which he can charge $5 for every consultation

2)Times looking up and people are spending on luxury.
Not necessarily. Last time never ask just hoot. Now gotta think twice.

cyrenic

$10-$20 u cannot expect alot la.
just buy from cheapestnatostraps lol
if not taobao any how search also have

i personally buy from taobao for some pam strap, just, chui alr, sell.
dont like, sell on carousell.

custom make one sure keep.
There's also Aliexpress. :)

theblueark

Lucky plaza watch shops got a lot, I think is the cheapo leather ones in your range. Mr Minit also got cheap leather watch straps.

In HK those uncles open one small stand by the side of the road to change watch batteries got a lot of cheap leather straps, not sure if SG have similar stands. Maybe can check out chinatown.

slow_mo

Bulang & sons or my gmt iic bracelet for my pepsi?
IMG_3072.jpg

Strap looks good better but I prefer to wear bracelet in hot and wet SG.

slow_mo

Some cheap leather straps are actually plastic. Buy those < $50 ones still ok.

razoreigns

Movement is the least concern.
Dial, insert, case, crystal, hands are crucial.
Ppl are paying top dollar for these asthetics

I see... really much to learn. Even those old Rolex plastic crystal, how to tell if its period correct? Called Rolex up and they told me that they will just replace to a the 'current' crystal for the model. Rather not take the risk.:o

TeenTitan01

Look which brand is beside AP PP and VC.

Vdo8aUB.jpg

titoni, while swiss made, was more successfully marketed in the far east.

its emblem and chinese name appealed to the the chinese because 梅花 has deep & significant cultural meaning to the literati chinese, being one of 3 plants that thrives in winter: plum blossom, pine and bamboo. 梅花 represents perseverance & resilience in the face of adversity (winter), the harbinger of spring, beauty & purity. :)

unfortunately, much culture & literacy was destroyed in mainland china during the cultural revolution all because one evil man wanted divert attention on his epic failures from the great leap forward that resulted in mass famine & starvation - just to hang on to power. off topic on watches, but very educational and enlightening, nevertheless, which explains the behavior of many prc chinese ;):

razoreigns

Look for Paros. But at low prices you really get what you pay for. For straps less than $40-$50 I'm more willing to spend cos your buck goes a long way there.

Do you know which shop sells Paros cheap? I use to buy them from k2 but prices have been increasing steady from $12 (1-2 years ago) to now ~$20.
Going to try cheapestnato soon. Let's see if it's better than Paros.

cyrenic

Do you know which shop sells Paros cheap? I use to buy them from k2 but prices have been increasing steady from $12 (1-2 years ago) to now ~$20.
Going to try cheapestnato soon. Let's see if it's better than Paros.

Around there, Qoo10 got a lot put no brand actually is Paros. The Kevlar style from this shop, I got it before, is Paros.

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/SINGAPORE...Y-BLACK-KEVLAR-STRAP-W-BLACK-STITCH/412288104

Some other shops also, but I forgot which ones.

Can always PM them first to ask about the brand. :)

gaoxing84

pwillie

Paros>cheapnatostraps

CNS leather straps has got their keepers done very loose, and the strap drops out all the time.

pwillie

I see... really much to learn. Even those old Rolex plastic crystal, how to tell if its period correct? Called Rolex up and they told me that they will just replace to a the 'current' crystal for the model. Rather not take the risk.:o

A lot of vintages is really buy the seller.
Good sellers tell you upfront what are the issues

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.