The Watch Thread - Part 16

cyrenic

https://imgur.com/a/sG3vAhh

Just a PSA for you peeps. Avoid this guy on carousell.

Sorry to hear that you kena and thanks for the alert, have blocked. Encountered such case before, take the loss and sell as faulty watch. Seller also one kind, shan't elaborate.. JJWW when I listed the piece and mention my unhappy experience briefly but also never offer any recourse. Not unexpected, which is why I didn't even bother getting back to him in the first place. How do you put it - these people all play watch also, can dunno the problem? Got flaw but post as mint?

If you ask me, in your case, this guy clearly offering the solution that he took himself. When I sold my faulty piece I thought very long and hard - it is tempting, the flaw maybe won't notice if in a rush (like I was when I bought the piece). But my integrity is worth more than $200-$300. Lol.

sleepwelltonight

https://imgur.com/a/sG3vAhh

Just a PSA for you peeps. Avoid this guy on carousell.
To be fair to seller I don't feel he should bear the repair costs. It's like I buy second hand car from direct seller, drive off the lot, find out there's some problem with the car awhile later then u turn back to seller and say eh the car got problem you better split repair costs with me. Maybe this is a standard practice for reselling watch? Not familiar just boliao and giving my 2 cents

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

gaoxing84

To be fair to seller I don't feel he should bear the repair costs. It's like I buy second hand car from direct seller, drive off the lot, find out there's some problem with the car awhile later then u turn back to seller and say eh the car got problem you better split repair costs with me. Maybe this is a standard practice for reselling watch? Not familiar just boliao and giving my 2 cents

yes, why not? lol
your analogy doesn't make sense.

as a buyer - do you feel cheated?
as a seller - shouldn't you be aware of your goods being sold whether is good or bad? even you have no idea, there's responsibility on your end.
i mean as a seller, you do have a choice not to do anything but there goes your credibility.

jedi_1601

Good morning !
9fOU7ud.jpg

Donten

The timeline for this is less than a week. I am up for other solution if seller could suggest.

hwaa

i sold a GS to a guy in carousell, everything was ok when we deal, he checked and winded and tested and all ok then we parted

after i left, he went home and about 30mins later he tell me the watch stopped, jammed.

:s13: :s13:

iV3RsOn

i sold a GS to a guy in carousell, everything was ok when we deal, he checked and winded and tested and all ok then we parted

after i left, he went home and about 30mins later he tell me the watch stopped, jammed.

so what u did?

hwaa

so what u did?

i drove back lor.
i think i too nice guy already.

i offered to send the watch to thong sia, the watch have to send to japan for repair. Thong sia reverted that only need postage fees as its still covered under warranty.

i kept the service invoice with me until its done then i return everything to the seller.

on my way to thong sia then the seller revealed to me what he did that might have made the watch jammed.

anyway story cut short, the watch returned from japan after couple of mths and i returned it to the seller and everything went well after that. case closed.

cyrenic

It depends - if the problem could not be checked (i.e. in this case, watch was possibly handwound beforehand if seller was aware of problem), and was highly unlikely to be developed overnight, I think it is already very nice to split costs.

If the problem could be checked on the spot (e.g. cosmetic, watch even functioning, watch crystal cracked, date wheel can't advance), then no, I would reject the request to split costs as seller.

cyrenic

A long time ago, I sold a G Shock which I had battery replaced one week ago..

The guy call me back after 15 min and said the battery was dead. Up till today I still dunno what this joker did. Maybe he stole my new battery. I was still in the area and just took it back, refunded him.

Replaced again, sold and earn $5 more in the end, even after battery replacement costs.. :s13:

gaoxing84

i drove back lor.
i think i too nice guy already.

i offered to send the watch to thong sia, the watch have to send to japan for repair. Thong sia reverted that only need postage fees as its still covered under warranty.

i kept the service invoice with me until its done then i return everything to the seller.

on my way to thong sia then the seller revealed to me what he did that might have made the watch jammed.

anyway story cut short, the watch returned from japan after couple of mths and i returned it to the seller and everything went well after that. case closed.

that's good. but you could have told the seller to send it back to TS and split the postage cost.

fair ands square for you and seller. cannot be you run the entire show for him.

but he trust you with the invoice. not bad

hwaa

that's good. but you could have told the seller to send it back to TS and split the postage cost.

fair ands square for you and seller. cannot be you run the entire show for him.

but he trust you with the invoice. not bad

the postage is on him.

i merely did a favour to help him send to thong sia, of cos i send him a picture of the service invoice.

no choice man, got to be fair for me also cos high chance is he jammed the watch himself.

imagine the hassle and stuffs, glad that the episode is over.

now whenever i sell watch, i make sure the buyer check and satisfy and confirm the watch is in working condition before we deal.

no satisfy no obligations to deal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.